We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional, great value older-style hotel with lovely service”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Traditional, great value older-style hotel with lovely service”
Reviewed 9 July 2010

The hotel was offering a great deal - 4 nights B&B for £380. Nice location in Sliema within walking distance of the sea. If you are looking for modern trendy rooms, you wont want to stay here, but if you are looking for more traditional rooms without fuss, you will be happy. They do a great deal for buffet dinner at around £15 a head, and a special deal for eating here x3. We were given an upgrade on arrival, but it is worth bearing in mind the following from our experiences. Positives - lovely reception, amazingly helpful staff who bent over backwards to be of service. Clean hotel linked to the more modern 5* Palace hotel next door. Rooftop swimming pools and gym. Nice bar and restaurant areas on ground floor. Negatives - rooms are dated, but well and recently decorated. Big problem re aircon - hotel advertises this as standard but the aircon is linked to movement detectors in room so 10 mins after sitting down or sleeping, it turns itself off defeating its existence. As the weather was so hot, this made the room unbearable, so a fan was supplied too. The Buffet Dinner was good, with plenty of choice, and your minibar is left empty so you can stock it from the local supermarket. Hairdryer, kettle provided in room but (bizarrely) no toiletries except soap. Don't let the negatives put you off - if you are looking for great value with old-fashioned traditional service, this hotel will do you proud. We used the link to Malta Transfers which was also cheaper than the taxis which charge 19 euros from the airport one way. The Malta Transfer was 28 euros return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchbrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    699
    203
    72
    16
See reviews for
233
1,102
126
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Wefound the lowest price for this hotel on Octopus.com.
The Victoria is nly a short taxi journey from the airport, and first impressions were good. We had to wait a little to get to our room as it was still being cleaned but got free drinks in the mean time.
The Victoria is a sister hotel to The Palace and connected, we had full access to The Palace leisure facilities and the roof top pool is stunning.
Breakfast each day had a wide selection to catered to all needs. The room was cleaned and was spotless each day and the staff are incredible friendly and helpful.
The hotel guests were mostly couples and we were by far the youngest, but if you're looking for a peaceful, relaxing holiday and want easy access to the rest of the Island it is perfect.
Good resturants a short walk away (Recommended - Baracuda, St Julians and Cara's which does beautiful cakes).
Overall, we were view impressed.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jem2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

The hotel is well located for access to Sliema and the ferry service or buses to Valletta. The waterfront at Sliema has a lovely promenade with a good selection of bars, cafes and restaurants. We ate out every evening and particularly liked Giorgio's (frequented by the locals) and Ta-Kolina (serving Maltese food).

The rooftop pool and gym were very nice and these are shared with the five-star Palace Hotel which makes the Victoria even better value for money. The staff were very helpful and friendly and gave us any advice we needed. Breakfast consisted of a good buffet with a wide selection of hot and cold food.

The rooms were spacious and comfortable. Our only complaint was that the hot water temperature for the shower was inconsistent.

Parking was free in a private car park – this was located under the hotel which meant the car stayed lovely and cool. Wi-fi is available in the rooms for an extra charge.

Overall, an excellent hotel with good facilities and service.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianneLGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
159 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We stayed here for one week in June, and all-in-all it was a good experience. We had booked a junior-suite supposedly with two balconies. We were a bit disappointed when the balconies were French balconies with very limited space. It was technically possible to sit in a chair on one of the balconies, but not the other. We were on the 5th floor, and had a nice view towards the ocean. The location is OK, only a few hundred meters to the sea. But, the whole city is rather "hilly", so if you're disabled in any way, it could be a challenge climbing all the hills. The bar next to the reception has a great staff, and the service is splendid. They have a small menu, so you can grab a light meal if you like. The rooftop-restaurant Temptation is an experience worth trying - great service , fabulous view and wonderful food. The rooftop pools are great - especially the largest one. The hotel has a nice spa - good value for money. The variety of TV-channels was rather poor, and the amount they charge you for internet-access is a rip-off. Breakfast ok if you're into full English breakfast, but otherwise not too impressive. The reception-staff was very serviceminded. Conclusion: We got a good deal on the internet when booking the hotel, which made our stay good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ragnhild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast. Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

When you enter the Victoria Hotel you enter a different world of peace charm and tranquility and a staff, under the guidence of Mr Chales Portelli, who are charming, courteous, helpful and efficient.
The bedrooms are well appointed, large, bright and kept spotlessly clean by very efficient chambermaids.
The dining room is very pleasant with a friendly and helpful staff. The food is plentiful and varied and caters for all tastes.
The pool is quite large with ample sunbeds and towels. For those who wish to keep fit, the fitness room is well equiped.
This was our ninth visit to the Victoria Hotel, in our opinion the best hotel in Malta for personal attention, comfort and well being. It is our hope to return D V in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JADLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridgeshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Stayed here June, first visit to Malta, excellent hotel, lovely staff always ver helpful and polite.
Great location for visiting the island.
Lovely new promenade, can walk for miles.
Would strongly reccomend this hotel and resort

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank middleaged52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2010

we choose this hotel because of the good feedback from other guests. We were not disappointed. Here our topic's:
- 5 minutes from the promenade of Sliema away
- 15 minutes to Valetta with public bus
- very nice reception manager Charles Portelli
- nice indoor swimming pool
- good fitness area
- luxury swimming pool on the top of the roof (see picture)
- super market 4 minutes away by walk
- nice italian restaurand at the promenade "La Cuccagna" in der Amery Street 47/ Sliema.
- room service was good
- breakfeast shows a big range for selctions
- from our room we have had a nice view to the sea (see picture)

We love our days at The Victoria and would choose this hotel again next time visiting Malta.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripprofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#8 of 28 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,999 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1807, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#2 Family Hotel in Sliema
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sliema
Victoria Hotel Malta
The Victoria Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing