We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful to be back”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful to be back”
Reviewed 16 September 2010

As always we were made to feel like long lost old friends when we returned to the Victoria. We now had friends travelling with us and they, too, felt welcome and special by the reception we got from the hotel staff. In this respect we would like to emphasize that all staff have at all times been kind, helpful and welcoming, but for us two people stood out: Mr. Charles Portelli, the assistant Front Office Manager, and Mr. Martin Cassar who generally mans the poolside bar and restaurant during the day. Both have gone out of their way to meet our every need. Any small thin we might want or need was arranged immediately.
During our earlier stays the elevators were often a problem, but that seems to have been fixed. Also, we found the quality of the dinner buffet to have improved enormously. We went for the triple treat package, giving us 3 dinners in 3 different restaurants (the TemtAsian and The Tabloid at 5 star sister hotel The Palace and one at the Copperfield at the Victoria). The Tabloid was slightly disappointing, but the Copperfield was way better than we remembered and the TemptAsian was nothing short of phenomenal, so we thought this package offered excellent value for money.
Hotel is very centrally located, you can walk to St. Julians if you fancy a night of clubbing, but Sliema itself offers plenty in hte way of restaurants and shopping. The Vicatoria will get you to the Sliema nightlife in under 5 minutes on foot but is itself located in al lovely and quiet street. We cannot wait to get back!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTM1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    927
    735
    210
    74
    16
See reviews for
256
1,166
128
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

The Vic hotel is everything it claims to be and is a beautiful hotel made even better with the opening of the roof top infinite pool and leisure area. The hotel backs onto the Palace hotel and is any area close to supermarket, pharmacy and the boardwalk along the malta shoreline. The rooms are spacious compared to some we stayed at in Italy, the beds comfortable, breakfast ample in both variety and volume. The bar and snack area well served by a cheeky and efficient barman. Free wireless wifi in the air conditioned lobby capped off a very pleasant stay and ideal last stop for my European holiday

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussieinmalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2010

The victoria hotel is welcoming and the staff can't do enough for you. I have never had a problem there and have stayed four times, the facilites are good in the hotel and it is in a lovely location with only a short walk to the beach. Overall The Victoria Hotel is a lovely warm and welcoming hotel which i recommend highly to anyone if you're going to malta.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel_clark1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Myself and my boyfriend stayed for 6 nights in august. Overall we liked the hotel. The staff were friendly and courteous and the reception area was lovely. Our superior room had a lovely balcony in the shade which we loved. The pools are lovely especially the infinity pool. They did close a little early however (7pm)
I found, like other reviews, the air conditioning system a bit bizarre to say the least. I have never known a place to have sensors on the air-con. It made the room so so hot at night time that i kept having to wave it to trigger it to come on.
The bar was lovely and staff were also nice. We ate out all the time so cant comment on the food! :)

Overall i would prob go back....maybe not in July of August though as it was too hot in the room at night.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annieholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Stayed for 3 nights in July. The location is convenient to the waterfront, but away from the bustle of the tourists. A short stroll has you back where the action and the food is. The staff are exceptional. Warm, welcoming and professional, and you are greeted by name. Any minor issues we had were dealt with immediately. The room was comfortable and we had a lovely view. Yes, the lifts are small and slow, but you get there. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would happily return to Charles at the Victoria.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Victoria Hotel is a very nice hotel with really friendly and polite staff. The hotel has a classic decoration, which can look "heavy" compared to modern boutique hotels. It's in a quiet area, near the seafront of Sliema. We stayed in a standard double room, that was big and clean. The beds were comfortable and there was tv with international stations. The problem is that the bathroom had no ventilation or window, so it was getting "smelly" if we didn't keep the door open. The facilities of the hotel were really good: breakfast was nice, the pools had very nice view (although they are small and shallow) and there is access to a really good gym, spa, and to a very nice asian restaurant at the roof.
One of the disadvantages was the internet access: there is only one laptop at ground floor, which is accessible after 16:00 and there is a small fee for the use of it. I think it wouldn't be much of expense for the hotel to create an internet corner of 3-4 computers at the lobby, even with a fee. There was also a charge for the use of the room's safe which was small (1,60 euro/day) but it's not good for the hotel's reputation.
Also a renovation of the elevators is needed. They are quite slow and also warm and smelly... Finally, the hotel parking is not enough for all the residents, so many nights we had to park outside.
Generally we were satisfied by the hotel, but I'm sure it can be better, without many changes.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manosandr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyldesley MANCHESTER
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Recently returned from 2 weeks in Malta at The Victoria Hotel. Second visit this year third already booked for November. Weather gorgeous hotel as good as ever. The food at the hotel is very good. Good choices at both and breakfast and dinner. The staff are superb from management to front desk, waiters/waitresses, chefs and maids. If you are looking for a holiday or even just a short break stay at The Victoria Hotel a very good 4 star hotel you will not be disappointed. Excellent value for money and you are treated as a valued guest and not just an anonymous person never to be seen again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaltaFanatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.2 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,904 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 28 in Sliema
1,223 reviews
1.0 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1807, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#2 Family Hotel in Sliema
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Jet2Holidays , Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sliema
Victoria Hotel Malta
The Victoria Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing