We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice, Clean and Friendly Hotel”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Booked into the hotel with my son and found the reception great. The room was ready and clean on arrival. The food was good and to a high standard together with the swimming pool and other functions we had a great stay. Clean towels at the pool and no noise at night from other guests. Access to the hotel next door over a walkway and the use of their pool as well. Thanks very much to the staff at the Victoria. Oh and the sights in the town were great as well.
Len Ferguson and Robert Ferguson

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maltaholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,342 - 1,348 of 2,056 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2010

The Victoria hotel staff were extremely curteous towards all guests and very helpful if anything was required. the food super and only the coffee machine was a letdown [not up to my standards, it tasted sweet and as a diabetic well?...]. The hotel facilities were good except the small sauna & steam rooms. We enjoyed every minute and will be back, especially to the Man Utd bar around the corner by the palace. The Sliema seafront was delightful and if you get the weather nowhere better. A BIG THANKS to all for making our stay so enjoyable. Sharon & Steve

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveManUtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

My wife and I had a very pleasant week's stay at this hotel. The room and bathroon were were comfortable and functional and staff were pleasent and helpful. A safe is provide without charge. Breakfast had a good buffet choice, a minor criticism is that tea and coffee are from a machine but the food if variied and well presented and the service was good. In October there was plenty of room and no queuing. We had the buffet dinner once and it was good. The indoor and outdoor pools are well kept, there were sufficient loungers and pool tools are provided subject to a deposit.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank PhilipE_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

room service,and all hotel staff were excellant.prices were realistic.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arrowebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We arrived in Malta on a very wet early October morning and was met by the taxi arranged for pick up by the Hotel. First impressions were good, the outside of the Victoria is very nice. Entering the foyer, I remember commenting to my wife that it resembled 'Gods waiting room', full of old people sitting around with nothing to do but wait for the rain to pass. which it didn't for a very long time. Don't get me wrong, we are the wrong side of our mid 50's but still feel young at heart. This 'nothing to do scenerio' was to be seen often over the next two weeks as a number of days turned similarly wet. Ok the hotel isn't responsible for the weather and it didn't affect our holiday too much, but I did feel they could have done more, like open the bar area which had a TV and serve coffee etc. The bar didn't seem to open until the evening and even then few people seemed to frequent it.
We read a lot of reviews on 'TripAdvisor' before booking this hotel, which we did directly with them to take advantage of their half board offer, (see their website). I noticed some reviews criticised the food, well all I can say is that those people must be very picky. Breakfast and Dinner are served in a buffet manner as are most hotels these days. Their was always a roast meat, sometimes two, fish, pasta and salads were in abundance and the breads offered were great. Sometimes I wondered how they managed cuch variety as I can't remember the exact same meals coming round even after two weeks, although of course many types of food were duplicated, there was always something differant. Some of the combinations were strange and the veg could be undercooked sometimes, but as I said before you could always find something you liked. Particularly if you like your desserts, you should be in 7th heaven. Please also remember that this hotel is very multi cultural and has to provide for many differant tastes.
I believe the hotel has been open since 1997 according to a plaque on the wall and I think it is well due a refurbishment, carpets and fittings are looking a little tired now.
The lifts are tiny as refered to in another review (max 4 people), not really an issue unless you are very large, claustrophobic or have wheelchairs / buggies. Most days they smelt of polish.
We were upgraded to a room with a balcony, for what its worth none of the rooms have a view worth seeing, so I wouldn't pay extra for this in any case. The room was large and quite well fitted out, but like the rest of the place, looking a little tired now.
The air conditioning is controlled by a movement sensor or wall stat which you can set yourself and we didn't find a problem, but I imagine in the height of summer some might.
The location of the hotel is great and all areas can be accessed with a short walk downhill. of course it is uphill to return, but if this sounds a problem then don't go to Malta anyway as it is very hilly.
Al in all a very pleasant experiance and the staff are great, particularly Charles behind the main desk who will go out of his way to help.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We bookend a room by special offer and were very dissapoindet, when went to our room, it was looking like 2* room, we booked double, but they put as in twin room, after asking, they just stick our bads together, aircondition worked very strange, furniture were very old, we were so dissapointed and sure that in this room we dont agree to stay 7 days and went down to the reception and asked to change the room, the stuff were very king and offered to us other room in other floor. this room was like a day and night in compare to the first. The first impression of the hotel was bad, but after they changed a room, it was ok. But next time we think we will book other hotel in sliema.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilona_max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Stayed at this boutique hotel for one week. Clean room and excellent, polite service from all staff. Good location 5 minute walk (not flat) to seafront where there is a frequent bus service(cheap) into Valletta and all regions. Good facilities.Restaurant food very good and varied. Buffet bkfst and dinner. Roasts most nights, but choices. dining room a little crowded so we hd early bkfast. Maltese use this hotel which is a good sign. As this hotel shares facilities with the 5* Palace adjoining, the infinity rooftop pool and lounging area [9th floor] is great. Good gym & spa. Slight drawback noisy air con in room, & not too efficient - wld not risk high mid summer, but we got used to it. Room good with mini balcony too. Overall excellent stay. This hotel has character.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letmetellyou123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 28 in Sliema
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#6 of 28 in Sliema
2,207 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,919 reviews
1 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Address: Gorg Borg Olivier Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1807, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £54 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Hotel revels in comfort and charm with the loyal staff’s help embracing a harmonious feeling of the homelike environment. Elegant Rooms, Luxury Spa Facilities and multi-purpose Conference Halls with free Wi-Fi and underground parking facilities for your ultimate convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sliema
Victoria Hotel Malta
The Victoria Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing