We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Holiday”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2010

A big thank you to all the staff in the Victoria. The staff are friendly and helpfull and the bar staff are the best

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brownowl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,052)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,337 - 1,343 of 2,052 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2010

Location: Sliema is the best area to stay when visiting Malta, you can reach the Valletta (capital city) in 15 minutes by bus (0,47 euro) and San Julien walking in 20 minutes or 5 minutes by bus. Is a quiet residencial area, very safe, only 100 meters from the Promenade along the sea. The loby and the Penny Black Bar are charming, the staff very kind and efficient, the rooms nothing special but big and clean, there is no fridge in the room, all the rooms with or without balconies don't have a wonderful view, beacuse the hotel isn't in the first row, but from the terrace (top floor) you can enjoy a beautiful view, over the city and the harbour. Internet is available with a charge. Breakfast and dinner were regular, nothing special, drinks are very cheap (half pint beer 1.70 euro, half bottle of wine strting from 5 euro). The heated pool is quite small so we didn't go because it was always busy.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Nice and apparently popular hotel considering the number of guests.
Central location.
Wireless internet in lobby did not work. Neither did internet by cable in the room.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmbager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

My wife and I have visited Malta many times over the last 20 years and seen many changeson the island. Although we had not visited for 3 years (for other reasons), we returned to the Victoria, a hotel we had used at least 10 times in the past since it was built. We had some concerns that the sister hotel, The Palace, had now been completed and may have had a detrimental effect on the Victoria. This was not the case.
My wife was pleased to see many of the staff she had known from our previous visits and we were greeted as though we had only been away for a few months not 3 years.
The residents at the Victoria can now use the leisure facilities at the Palace and this is a plus.
When we visit the Victoria, we do not feel like guests in a hotel, but like welcome friends.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Booked into the hotel with my son and found the reception great. The room was ready and clean on arrival. The food was good and to a high standard together with the swimming pool and other functions we had a great stay. Clean towels at the pool and no noise at night from other guests. Access to the hotel next door over a walkway and the use of their pool as well. Thanks very much to the staff at the Victoria. Oh and the sights in the town were great as well.
Len Ferguson and Robert Ferguson

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maltaholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

The Victoria hotel staff were extremely curteous towards all guests and very helpful if anything was required. the food super and only the coffee machine was a letdown [not up to my standards, it tasted sweet and as a diabetic well?...]. The hotel facilities were good except the small sauna & steam rooms. We enjoyed every minute and will be back, especially to the Man Utd bar around the corner by the palace. The Sliema seafront was delightful and if you get the weather nowhere better. A BIG THANKS to all for making our stay so enjoyable. Sharon & Steve

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveManUtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

My wife and I had a very pleasant week's stay at this hotel. The room and bathroon were were comfortable and functional and staff were pleasent and helpful. A safe is provide without charge. Breakfast had a good buffet choice, a minor criticism is that tea and coffee are from a machine but the food if variied and well presented and the service was good. In October there was plenty of room and no queuing. We had the buffet dinner once and it was good. The indoor and outdoor pools are well kept, there were sufficient loungers and pool tools are provided subject to a deposit.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank PhilipE_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 28 in Sliema
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#6 of 28 in Sliema
2,206 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,918 reviews
1 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Address: Gorg Borg Olivier Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1807, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £53 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Hotel revels in comfort and charm with the loyal staff’s help embracing a harmonious feeling of the homelike environment. Elegant Rooms, Luxury Spa Facilities and multi-purpose Conference Halls with free Wi-Fi and underground parking facilities for your ultimate convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sliema
Victoria Hotel Malta
The Victoria Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing