We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel with excellent staff and service in a good central location”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Great Hotel with excellent staff and service in a good central location”
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Situated in a central location within sliema the Victoria is an ideal hotel to stay when visiting Malta. The seafront, shops and a good selection of restaurants are all within easy walking distance. The free hotel car park allows you to use your car to visit various parts of the island and not worry about trying to find a parking space when you return to the hotel. The staff are friendly, efficient and nothing is ever too much trouble. Rooms are clean and of a good size. The junior suites are to be recommended as they offer a useful seating area but are still very good value for money. The restaurants offer a varied choice and breakfast is particularly good. Overall a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank at134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev_Manager, E-Commerce at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2011
Just a note to thank you for your review. We are glad that The Victoria Hotel services enabled you to enjoy your stay all that more. We have chosen to use the title of your review on our Victoria Hotel Facebook profile.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards,

The Victoria Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    699
    203
    72
    16
See reviews for
233
1,102
126
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We stayed a week over the new year at the Victoria Hotel. The staff were friendly, Informative and helpful. The breakfast was excellent and the bar was very good also. The roof terrace and pool were lovely and the indoor pool and sauna/steam rooms were first class. The hotel is up a hill but worth the walk. It is straight down to the ferry to the Old Town. Jazz fans check out Smooth Jazz Inc in St Julians.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingpaul51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Victoria for the Christmas week.
We wanted a quiet hotel, in a central location.
At first we thought that the location was a bit remote as we were a 10 minute walk, down a steep hill, to the Sliema prom.
We soon discovered that we were also only 10 minutes from the Valletta ferry, the north side of Sliema and the beginning of the St. Julians prom. - It's worth getting a street map from reception as soon as you arrive.
This made it very central - but you do need to be reasonably fit.
We stayed half-board for 3 nights and b&b for the last four.
There are plenty of restaurants and cafes, once you get to the prom(s) and there's also a pub (with Sky Sports) just around the corner.
The staff in all departments are tremendous and the guys on reception will go out of their way to help resolve any problems or queries.
The food is fine though lacking in variety, hence the 4 days b&b.
We would definitel stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandy1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
148 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2010

I stayed at the Victoria with a friend in 2008 and returned by myself in 2010. I absolutely love it. Off season it has great rates. I thought the location was perfect and the staff were wonderful. The rooms don't have the same character as the lobby but are perfectly fine and kept very clean. (I had the cheapest room both times.) The bartenders were chatty and made me (solo female traveller) feel very comfortable. The breakfast is good and I had one dinner there that was fabulous. I love a chef that doesn't overcook things. Desk staff recommended a photo tour with a local guide and I really enjoyed that as well. The room was very quiet despite the central location. I'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

I do not know which hotel the last person went to. It cannot have been the Victoria ! We never saw a mosquito anywhere in Malta during our 2 week stay.
The first thing that strikes you is the courtesy of the staff. They really do try.
Our room was comfortable. It was also kept vey clean. The only English-speaking TV channels are the news channels - BBC,SKY, & CNN, and Living - which is a waste of time. You can pay an extra 9 euros to watch a film- too much for me ! There is a kettle, and a small fridge. It is one Euro:60/day to use the room safe. I found the rooms to be reasonably quiet- only a little noise from other rooms, anda lot better then a lot of hotels. We booked a room with a balcony, which we found to be well worth it.
The breakfast area is set in a very comfortable and relaxing atmosphere, with extremely nice staff. The food is adequate, but struggling a little for 4 star. I took my own tea-bags down. I couldn't drink the tea out of the machines, though some did. Coffee was a little better. TInned peaches ( every morning, no other choice), fresh apples & oranges, plain & fruit youghurt. A couple of cerials. Thin ham & cheese, good choice of bread. Bacon, sausage, tomatoes or beans, fried or scrambled egg, mushrooms. We had an evening meal in the bar one night. I had fish & chips. The fish was what you get from a frozen supermarket shelf. Not much fish, and a lot of chewy batter. Not 4 star. Also a large noisey TV.
The best bit for me was the leaisure and pool facilities. There was always an attendant there to give you a towel. and was always cleaning & sweeping. Impressive ! The keep-fit apparatus looked new & well maintained ( might even use them next time !). There is a lovely indoor pool - very fresh, very clean along with 2 saunas ( each only big enough for 2 people ) , and a 4-person steam room. A nice small outdoor pool ( too cold in November !), with sun-bathing area. You can also use the excellent outdoor pool and sunbathing area of the sister hotel ( access is by a joining corridor ).
One has to be aware that the hotel is designed mainly for the business traveller, though tourists do use it. So it is quiet ( no entertainment etc). I think people with walking difficultes would find its position difficult, as it is a steep walk up from the promenade. We walked up in about 10 minutes, though we do walk regularly. The hotel is situated in a mainly residential area, next to a small hospital ( No noise ).
We will most likely use this hotel again when we return to Malta. Such good value - especially out of season. If there was a microwave in the rooms & maybe better TV choice, it would be a certainty.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawchessplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

I read all the wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor and made the decision to stay at the Victoria although it was more money than the other hotels I looked at. Big mistake. What a disappointment. I still can not fathom all the stellar reviews this hotel gets. This hotel was drab, shabby, and run down. Certainly not worth the money we paid. The room was run down, the orthopedic mattress advertised on their website was anything but. It was old, lumpy. smelly, saggy and gave us both backaches. By morning we felt like we were in traction. One has to wonder if they even washed the sheets since we both were itching all night. They did not even provide a mattress cover. And air condition? No way. In Novermber they turn it off and when we opened the windows were were eaten alive by mosquitos. The breakfast was another disappointment. We paid extra for it and it was the worst breakfast we had on Malta. (and we stayed at two other hotels) When the food ran low they didn't even replenish it. Eggs were raw and runny. The gym staff was extremely rude. The maids were surley and blocked the hailways and refused to budge for hotel guests. The staff failed to call a cab service like they promised and we could have missed our flight. All and all, we loved Malta. It's a wonderful country. Next time we will hopefully find a better hotel than the Victoria.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaTravelfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Unfortunately not all hotels on the island warrant their star rating, fortunately 'The Victoria Hotel' does. My son and I stayed for two weeks and toured the island delving into the history of Malta, returning each day weary and hungry. We found the Victoria Hotel ideal for our purposes as the food was good and varied (usually two meats and a fish daily). Breakfast was hot and hearty (English) with a variety of continental foods, so something for everyone, set us up for the day. As previously been stated though, fresh coffee would make a huge difference to meals (rather than a machine) . A slight disappointment was having to wait for a table occasionally. Seeing it was late October/November when we stayed I wondered what it would be like during the peak season. Rooms were bright and airy, though the late cleaning of our room (late afternoon) was a little inconvenient for us as we tended to arrive back at that time from our excursions.. Staff were very helpful and friendly as befitting a quality hotel. We have visited Malta many times in the past and had a variety of hotels, but now intend to settle for the 'VICTORIA HOTEL' as our preferred hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caralan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#8 of 28 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,999 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1807, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 Family Hotel in Sliema
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sliema
Victoria Hotel Malta
The Victoria Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing