We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

β€œPark Hotel, Sliema”
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hotel
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Park Hotel, Sliema”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

In ANY review there must be some consideration of price. This hotel offers compact rooms, Spa and training rooms (basement - deserted) and an indoor and outdoor pool (pretty deserted) plus a reception area. What more could one ask for! We stayed there in August and the roof-top pool and sunbathing area was very under-utilised. To have a roof-top pool and sun terrace (roof-top bar was closed for refurbishment) in a town-centre location is a wonderful asset and allows one to visit if for no other reason than the sea breezes - especially as the balconies were only good enough for hanging out the drying.
Breakfast was included and pleasant although there was a degree of inefficiency when it came to the provision of adequate crockery etc. We did have to ask for plates/bowls (arriving fresh and hot out of the dish-washer). We once commented upon spilt fruit juice only to find it still there upon our later visit.
Our review is being compared to one we had stayed in in Cyprus - it was more of a student and long term hostel than a hotel - but almost the same price as this wonderful Park Hotel. And to have Valeta a short harbour (or bus trip) away was fantastic.
Our room was 5th floor and overlooking Graham Street - no noise problems. Other rooms at lower levels or near kitchens or overlooking the rear may not be as nice as our room was.
Tourist/holiday makers may prefer to be further up the road but the cinemas and pubs and drunks are only a 5 minute enjoyable bus ride away - why live there and have to put up with the worst of holiday behaviour. Sliema is ideally situated between the two and the bust stop is virtually outside the hotel - going south to Valeta or north to the partying..
Stay again - most definitely. Well except of course that there are lots of other places to stay at. But I'll bet that wherever we next go we'll feel that Park Hotel was excellent value for money and the facilities/cleanliness were perfectly good - no problems with lift speeds. We'll probably 'split-the-difference' and go for 2 weeks - one to Park Hotel and one 'pot luck'.
And in retirement perhaps we'll do a longer winter stretch here and make it our second home.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank heliopolis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    269
    332
    192
    193
See reviews for
168
482
95
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Park hotel is basic clean and good value. NOT 4star but good 3 star. Excellent location in central Sliema with bus stop nearby. Bus day pass for 2.60 euro is excellent value on all busses all day..Some great restaurants in Sliema

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dominic52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Today, Friday 2nd November, I have been to a Buffet Lunch in the Park Hotel, Sliema, Malta. It was a lovely lunch. There was a very varied choice of food, which was plentiful and well presented. The lunch was very well organised, seeing that I was with a group of about 100 diners and all went very smoothly and there was no delay at all. A truly enjoyable experience. I look forward to returning on other occasions.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marietheresevassallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Give, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We went in early october 2012 to stay for 7 days at the Park Hotel, buffet breakfast included. Our expectations were a 4 star hotel, but as many others say... it needs some updating and cleaning. How the hotel got a 4 star rating we could not figure out... more like a basic 3 star rating would be appropriate.
The room we stayed in was OK, no more no less. Beds were nice and hard. There were some loose floortiles in the entry, a kettle but no tea, coffea, cream or sugar. Air condition worked, but made a lot of noise. We got a room on the 2nd floor with a side-seaview, opposite another hotel, so when we sat on the miniscule balcony, there wasn't much privacy.
Lifts were questionable - most times we used the stairs in case the lifts stopped working (looked, sounded and felt old and in bad shape). The hallways were crammy, badly lit and the carpets were worn and dirty.
The rooftop pool was OK, but the water looked a bit "dusty" - the bottom of the pool wasn't visible at any time during our stay. The sunbeds were in need of replacing - looked like (and felt like) they had seen two summers to many. The indoor pool and fitness in the basement, we didn't use at all. Was a bit crammed and looked as if noone had used it for some time.
The housekeeping made a good effort in trying to keep the room clean. The beds were made every day and we got clean towels every morning, even though a sign in the bathroom asked us the re-use the towels. Some surfaces in the room were in bad need of dusting and/or a coat of new paint.
Staff in reception were nice, staff in restaurant looked like they didn't like their job (most looked really tired, without the least trace of a smile on their faces). The worst thing about the whole stay was the breakfast. We tried the eggs, beans and bacon the first two days - but since the bacon wasn't crisp (looked and felt like is was boiled in water) and full of grizzle. The range of food offered for breakfast was poor, normal toast bread, cheese and ham, jams and honey, youghurts a.s.o... what is expected - no more no less. The coffeamaker made halfdecent coffea, but the juicedispenser dispensed watersoluble powderlemonade (not to be compared with fruitjuice).
But - all in all a decent hotel, with good value for money. We got what we paid for (read: really cheap) since our stay was late in season. Would we recommend it to others? Yes, but don't expect a 4 star hotel - and ask for a room facing the street - otherwise you will end up with a room facing a backalley with scarce light.
The hotel is close to everything in Sliema, with only 100 meters to the "beach" and in walking distance to the Valletta-ferry, busstops and the guided tourbuses ind the Sliema harbour.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed 7 nights at the Park Hotel and found it very good. Our room was great with a small balcony. Our room was cleaned every morning and got fresh towels every morning. Breakfast wasn't anything special but had a very good selection of foods. What we liked was that it is only a few yards to the seafront and amenities, and only a 5 minute walk in to the town center, where there are a great variety of shops, with well known names.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We had a two week stay in September, a lovely hotel, extremely pleasant and helpful staff but so pleased we were only bed and breakfast. As you can see from other reviewers the breakfast buffet was of quite low quality. We only had one evening meal and that was very disappointing the hot buffet offered something they called breaded plaice but coming from a fishing port the fish we ate had been made not caught! However aside from that we had fresh towels and sheets every day and all the staff were very friendly. Oh another thing they have a lounge bar but that only seems to be open on a Saturday night for a group of locals for line dancing. Would have been nice to have had access to that during the week.

Room Tip: We stayed roadside, had our own small balcony, no problems at all with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queenie571954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

The location is excellent! 1 min walk to the beach and the same distance to the bus stop (bus lines to St.Julians, Gozo, Valletta, etc..all directions!). Room was clean and nice, however, there was only one power outlet in the room (which is pretty unconfortable). There is a roof pool, which is little, but in the end of September there was almost no residents in the hotel, and thus we enjoyed a silent swimming =) About the breakfast there is nothing to say...nothing good..at all.Coffee and juices were awful, the food had a bad look, so I prefered no to try it at all. However, if u'll see a croissant, u can safely eat it. Basically, if u're not planning to stay all the time in hotel - it might be a perfect choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank come_to_Ibiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.5 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.3 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#13 of 28 in Sliema
967 reviews
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Plevna Hotel
Plevna Hotel
#17 of 28 in Sliema
839 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#11 of 28 in Sliema
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Property: Park Hotel
Address: Graham Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1712, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): Β£
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Tour-oriented Hotel located in town center, just off main road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing