We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected”
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hotel
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Benfleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

After reading previous reviews we were concerned but everything was great...very clean, serviced daily, excellent choice of food with a generous selection of sweets! Not quite a four star, as slightly dated but definitely a good 3 star with very friendly and helpful staff. Good value for money with a ideal quiet location just around the corner from the lovely promenade.

Room Tip: The 6th floor is one below the roof top swimming pool and sunbathing area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    267
    327
    188
    169
See reviews for
158
470
94
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Lothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We chose the Park Hotel despite some mixed reviews. What we found was a decent hotel with good sized clean and attractive rooms. The bed was comfortable enough but if I am being critical the pillows were just too soft for me so sleep did suffer a little. We had the child from hell in the room next door however the walls were at least thick enough to drown out most of the din created by little Damien. Despite the hotel not being directly on the sea front we had a view of the sea from our balcony and watching the sun come up from here was a treat to behold. The meals were surprisingly good and varied. We stayed for 10 days and never had a single complaint re the food. The staff were fantastic and very helpful and a special thanks to the waiting staff who were first class throughout.
I try to give a fair reflection of the experience of the hotels in my reviews but actually found this better than expected. Overall a pleasant holiday in a great location. Would I recommend? Most definately !!

Room Tip: Try to get a side room with the sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vegas1156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Based on Tripadvisor reviews, we had requested another hotel for our 4 day stay in Malta. The travel company was unable to provide that hotel and proposed the Park Hotel. Though friends who had stayed there not too long ago had described it as an "OK" hotel, we were somewhat reluctant because of the negative reviews on Tripadvisor. We took the deal anyway.

We were pleasantly surprised the day we arrived. The frontdesk staff was very friendly and helpful. They offered a room on the first floor. Since previous reviews had cautioned about noise problems on this floor we asked to have a room at a higher floor. We were given a room on floor 4. This room was what I suppose they call a "seaview". "Seaview" is a somewhat exaggerated description as one has to go out on the tiny balcony to see the sea at the end of the street. So one does see the sea but not really enjoy the view. We had to draw the curtains throughout the day because the building across the street was very close with windows practically staring at us.
The room was clean, organized pretty well, furnished with a small refrigerator and a kettle. As previous reviews mentioned there was only one electricity connection common to the kettle, the TV and cellphone charging so you couldn't use two appliances together. The ancient CRT TV was small (15 inch?), very few channels though they do include programs in English, French, German, Russian and Maltese.
Breakfast, served in the dining room was rather limited in choice. You could choose from a variety of coffee cups on 2 machines, all far from tasting like good coffee. One could also choose from a variety of juices from a machine, all watery and not attractive. The worst part of the dining room was the cleaning procedure. They have plastic mats on table, and when the previous guest leaves the table an attendant removes the plates, goes over the mat with a cleaning rag and places new plates on them. So when we sat at the table, we had a fairly sticky mat with spoons and forks that practically "stuck" on the mat.

The location is extremely convenient. It allows you to take walks along the sea front with a fair amount of restaurants nearby. Bus stops to Valletta, St. Julian and tour buses are practically outside the hotel entrance. The Sliema port is just 10 minutes away by walking providing further access to many restaurants and shopping opportunities. A large modern mall is just 20 minutes walking distance.

Overall, the 4 star rating is an exaggeration. Their standard rates are one half of the other 4 star hotel we had originally requested, so perhaps, ignoring the star rating, one does get a fair deal for the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ay_isl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

After reading previous reviews we were concerned but everything was great...very clean, serviced daily, excellent breakfast. Indoor pool warm and relaxing.
Not quite a four star, as slightly dated but Definetly a good 3 star with friendly, helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for side sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noreenjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
404 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We travelled to Malta in October 2013 and enjoyed the trip thoroughly. We stayed at the Park Hotel on a half board basis as part of out deal, but I would have preferred it to be B&B.
I cannot agree with many of the comments as I found the hotel to be OK (not great but adequate for what we needed). We were only in the hotel to sleep and take breakfast, and we found the room clean and well appointed, the bathroom was small but clean and adequate. The rooftop pool was a great draw especially on the hottest days and a great place to chill on a Sunday afternoon (Malta closes down on Sundays!). I also found the staff friendly and cooperative, all it needs anywhere is to be polite.
The dining room was probably too small to cope with the numbers, and with so many people milling about in a limited space there were queues everywhere. I found this a bit irritating when people were squeezing past while we were at the table. Also the waitresses cleared everything off the tables if you got up to get another coffee!
Overall this is only a 3 star hotel at best but its location is good for exploring Malta. There are many good restaurants nearby and in St Julians, so eating out is no problem.
Malta is a good place for an out of season break in the sun. The people are friendly and welcoming, and very proud of their history which is extensive and impressive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripoli, Libya
Level Contributor
126 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Hi every body
I stayed at Hotel Park for the 1 night , I was a solo traveller prepar my slef for nice trip from Malta to Athens ,My rooms 309 are very nice with balcony and bathroom very clean,the bed are comfortable the hotel was very close to the Bus Station ,really nice,Staff were warm & friendly.The hotel has a lovely foyer with lots of comfy sofa's & chairs,& the indoor pool & gym look excellent. breakfast is nice, WiFi is really expensive

Salah

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SALAH M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Probably one of the least nice hotels I've ever stayed in - how it manages a 4* star rating I cannot imagine.

Plus points:
Nice clean pool on roof
Bed sheets clean
Restaurant staff very nice and jolly.

Minus points:
Reception staff disinterested and unwelcoming
Lobby very outdated, scruffy and in desperate need of a deep clean
Rooms old fashioned, tv crackly with no decipherable channels
Lack of plug sockets - if you have the kettle on, you can't have the radio
Hairdryer in bathroom completely useless
Pillows - I have never slept on anything like these - large square cases half filled with large lumps of foam
Bathroom ancient, loo struggled to flush, floor flooded when showering
Sunbeds on roof terrace need replacing, most had holes / tears
Balcony - more a railed shelf with hardly room for one chair
Street noise was loud from very early morning
Breakfast was appalling, 'bottom of the box' cheap cornflakes, cheap coffee and juice

I could go on, but you get the gist of things. If there is nowhere else but hereto stay, don't.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redjockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.5 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.3 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#11 of 28 in Sliema
941 reviews
0.7 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Plevna Hotel
Plevna Hotel
#17 of 28 in Sliema
806 reviews
0.0 mi away
Astra Hotel
Astra Hotel
#20 of 28 in Sliema
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sliema Chalet Hotel
Sliema Chalet Hotel
#18 of 28 in Sliema
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Property: Park Hotel
Address: Graham Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1712, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Tour-oriented Hotel located in town center, just off main road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing