We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 stars at best.”
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Hotel
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“2 stars at best.”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Rooms are dirty beyond belief, walls are dirty and covered in marks. Ants all over the place. As far as I am concerned the only good point about this hotel is its location. As for anything else, pretty terrible. Not sure where they have got the 4 stars from. Look somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldoParkHotel, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your review.

Please rest assured that your feedback is taken very seriously and we will be implementing the required maintenance needed in the apartment described as of today.

Many Thanks,

Aldo Calleja
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    264
    321
    182
    161
See reviews for
155
460
92
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marsascala, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was a second visit to Malta with family. The hotel was absolutely great in every way from the rooms and heavenly beds to the great and friendly staff in all areas - they couldn't do enough to make our holiday a special one. From the fantastic choice of foods at breakfast to the hotel restaurant the food was indeed first rate and service was, despite the hotel being full.
If you want the best location & Hotel in Malta stay at the Park Hotel ..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldoParkHotel, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay in June at the Park Hotel.

It is with great pleasure to read that the services offered by our teams were to your satisfaction.

I thank you once for your loyalty to book our hotel and looking forward to host you and your family once again in the future.

Regards,

Aldo Calleja
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I took a long time reviewing hotels in Sleima and came to the conclusion this hotel was the best value for money.I booked it through a hotel website which said 4 rooms were available.I booked all my transfers and arranged resturants around this hotel for my 60th birthday.How dismayed I was when I arrived on holiday only to be told by reception that I am no longer booked in this hotel and refered me to another ,which they said was comparable.Obviously it was the worst hotel I have ever been in,and I didn't know anything about the area as it was the other side of Sleima.I felt abandoned by this hotel as I was told they were double booked and I had to go to this hotel.With modern technology they should,nt be able to overbook and the customer service given was disgraceful.

Room Tip: none as we did not get a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank robertpannell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldoParkHotel, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your time to share with us your feedback.

I was sorry to read that we failed to meet let alone exceed your expectations and I kindly ask you to contact me directly with more details to allow me to look into the matter further. My email address is generalmanager@parkhotel.com.mt

At our hotel we value and appreciate all our guests and as such your comments come as a surprise as we did not book out guests on arrival to the other side of Sliema.

I sincerely hope to hear from you very soon.

Regards,
Aldo Calleja
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I can only assume the reviews I have read, are not recent. The Park Hotel has a new manager,and boy has it made a difference. We have had many holidays in Malta, but decided on Sliema for a change, and we are so glad we did.Our room was immaculately clean and well equipped, as were all the public area's we were in. The pools inside and out are classy, they are obviously cleaned/well maintained. My husband was thrilled with the gym, because it is the first hotel we have been to with so much equipment. The beds were comfy, so we slept well.The food was good, the staff very helpful and pleasant, what more can I say. All we can say is The Park Hotel, is going through changes for the better,
and wish people would consider this, when writing reviews. We found nothing at all to complain about, only good things, thanks to Aldo the manager he is doing a splendid job. In the past when we have needed to make a complaint, we have always approached the manager first, who did his utmost to solve the problem, so problem solved, and end of issue, no need to think about it again. We think everyone needs a break even people doing placements, we can't choose who we encounter in Hotels around the world, we must just be happy, smile and you will get one back, that is what we do. The cost of our holiday was reasonable, getting value for money is our
main aim,and we certainly did at The Park,we will be back again next year kowing it will be even better.

Room Tip: I can't really say about a good room because everyone can't have a sea view /quiet /sunny ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldoParkHotel, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guests,

We have read your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to the Park Hotel and thank you most sincerely for your kind comments.

My team and I are indeed delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit and that we helped to make your stay with us a pleasant one.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and do send me an email on generalmanager@parkhotel.com.mt in order to assist with the required needs.

Thank you once again.

Aldo Calleja
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We have been coming here since October 2001, but this will probably be our last stay at The Park. Only 4 items for a cooked breakfast, lounge bar closed, grumpy staff, expensive pool bar, no parasols & worn out loungers poolside. Noisy first two nights, kids staggering in at 3:30 am
This is no way 4star anymore.
VERY dissappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Tripadvisor community and booking sites reviews and comments have generally meant we have chosen well with hotels. However, I am not sure how this one slipped through the cracks.

The good - location not bad I guess and staff are really helpful.
The bad - out of date rooms and common areas. Looks clean but feels dirty.
The ugly - finding a pill on the floor amongst other things on our first day. Flying bugs in the room and the view of another hotel/residential block when we step out on our balcony.

We stayed on the fourth floor room 601. I ordered a double room an ended up with a suite equipped with a kitchenette and lounge area. As I said you win some and you lose some and this was the one we lost on this time. Pity the rooms don't look like the photos on the website. We paid about £47 a night (about 58 euros) and hey it might have been a case of you get what you pay for......

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldoParkHotel, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Guests,

We have read your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to the Park Hotel and we are very sorry that we did not reach your expectations.

I have also discussed your comments with our Housekeeper for her to take immediate action for not having such incidents in the future.

My team strive to do their best to offer a unique experience to our guests and it is regretted to hear that the complimentary upgrade to suite was not appreciated. Upgrades to suites are at a supplementary charge of EUR 45.00 per night.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Should you be returning to our hotel, please email me on generalmanager@parkhotel.com.mt

Regards,

Aldo Calleja
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had originally booked another hotel in Sliema but changed hotels after reading adverse reviews on this site. We are still not sure whether we did the right thing or not.
First impressions were very good. Check in was efficient if cool, and we were delighted with the room.It had everything one could need (kettle, tea, coffee etc. plus toiletries and plenty of hanging space and drawers.) It had a small balcony overlooking the front of the hotel, but in spite of our misgivings, it was very quiet and we both slept very well in the comfortable beds.

Unfortunately, the rest of the hotel left a lot to be desired. The lounge-bar was closed so there was nowhere to sit and socialise in an evening.We resorted, after a while, to going to a nearby hotel and enjoying the entertainment they provided. The "bar" consisted of 2 or 3 tables in front of the bar at the restaurant entrance and as far as we could see the "coffee shop" was non-existent. One lunch time we ventured into the restaurant to see if we could have a snack and the young man behind the bar had to go and ask someone if they could do food. To be fair, they did provide us with an omelette each but we had the impression that it was not a usual service.

The food was mediocre to say the least. Breakfast was not too bad, although the eggs were always hard and mainly cold, but dinner times were a big disappointment. The salads were good , but the main course , which usually consisted of pasta, fish and chicken or pork, was not at all acceptable. The potatoes were always half roasted, cold and hard, and the veg were swimming in water. The desserts consisted of 2 or 3 gateaux and tinned fruit. In fact, fresh fruit was rarely offered apart from a basket of apples and oranges....and when I took an orange it was rotten!

The chef served the main course by spooning it onto the plates.....just like school dinners! We heard that the chef we had read so much about on this site had recently left. What a pity!

The other guests consisted of a few couples like ourselves, a large tour group from France and a host of students from Scotland, N.Ireland and S. England doing work placement in subjects such as Nursing, Child Care, Sport and Fitness and Construction. They were perfectly pleasant and (I think) well behaved young people , but this is not what one expects to find in a holiday hotel, and that may account for the atmosphere.

The restaurant staff were efficient, but that is all I can say...no conviviality or friendliness. Likewise the reception staff...in fact, one or two were distinctly frosty! The hotel was definitely lacking the certain something that makes one want to return. And this we heard from several people who had been before.

It's sad, but for once we weren't sorry to be leaving our holiday hotel to return home...and no one wished us goodbye either!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldoParkHotel, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience of your stay with us.

Having read your review, it is important to mention that our Lobby Bar / Coffee Shop is the same outlet offering service to guests having dinner and as well enjoying an afternoon coffee or tea. It is recorded that our Barman wanted to make sure that we can also serve the snack menu whilst a buffet lunch was been served. Snacks are are available every day from 11:00 hours to 18:00 hours which is clearly indicated on the menu.

Our Lounge Bar is now also open every evening.

We are very much sorry that the main course offered during dinner was not to your satisfaction, and certainly your response is noted for us to improve. It is within our standards that all main courses are served by our chefs and not on a help yourself service. This is done to increase to guest experience during dinner.

Certainly, our hotel will keep on investing in our staff by training them on the job to meet the guest needs and requests during stay.

We value your comments and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your staying with us and to give us another opportunity to show you that we can make it better.

Regards,

Aldo Calleja
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#11 of 28 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Plevna Hotel
Plevna Hotel
#17 of 28 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.0 mi away
Astra Hotel
Astra Hotel
#21 of 28 in Sliema
3.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.7 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Property: Park Hotel
Address: Graham Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1712, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Tour-oriented Hotel located in town center, just off main road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing