We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

β€œOutstanding "city" Hotel”
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hotel
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
new york
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Outstanding "city" Hotel”
Reviewed 23 October 2010

We just spent 5 days at the Park Hotel and enjoyed every minute of our stay there. The manager, Charles is so caring and extends himself to the fullest. Alfred, the food and beverage manager went out of his way to provide us with the best possible breakfast. The restaurant staff is warm and friendly and cannot do enough to serve you. Our room was delightful, spacious, and quiet and cleaned to perfection. The location is ideal for touring Malta..right off the waterfront...close to the public bus stop, near a supermarket and around the corner from the Oasis Sightseeing Agency which provide outstanding tours of Malta and Gozo. For us it was a pleasure and a privilege to visit Malta and spend time with its wonderful and gracious people and to learn about their rich heritage. If you are planning to do a lot of sightseeing...the Park hotel is the ideal base and home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank newyorkavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    269
    332
    192
    193
See reviews for
168
482
95
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

i think this hotel should be rated as a 3 star and not a 4 star. The rooms were adequate and comfortable although looked a little tired and in need of some TLC. The air con was not particularly effective and it was too hot in the room.
We used the pool area at the end of each day after sightseeing, and there were always plenty of sunbeds (sun or shade). The pool is not really big enough to swim in but was nice and clean and an excellent way to cool down.
Breakfast was disappointing....watery fruit juice, stale bread rolls and the eggs/bacon were grim. other options were cheese and ham, but there was hardly anything fresh (watermelon was available 2 days out of 7)
If you want somewhere just to lay your head at the end of a day sightseeing and evenings out wining/dining the Park Hotel is fine, but if you are looking for a luxury 4 star you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wightrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Chose this hotel after reading some reviews on trip advisor. I have to say that most reflected what we found. Public areas good, maid service very good, rooms very clean but rather tired.
Staff very nice, and the rooftop pool was very clean with good water. But the breakfast, oh dear! We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and wished we hadn't. The breakfast is a disgrace, coffee from a machine, weak orange squash from a machine (no fresh juice). English breakfast was pitiful with eggs swimming in water or oil depending if they were scrambled or fried! The best thing about breakfast was the toast (and you did that yourself). This put me of eating at the hotel, if they make such a mess of breakfast would you order a full meal?
This hotel is a 3 star in my opinion.
One more thing, rooms have fridge and a kettle but no tea or coffee. Luckily we read reviews and took our own, there is a couple of supermarkets within a few minutes walk for the milk.
A good place to eat and drink is the Tex-Mex place on the corner of the road (they make great cocktails).
Hotel is up a side street a few yards from the main seafront road.
Fine to stay there but just be prepared.
Thank you Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAC123Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Whilst I agree with earlier posts that the hotel is not a 4-star hotel, I disagree with many of the negative comments posted.

For what you pay, the Park Hotel presents excellent value with comfortable rooms, friendly staff, good location and importantly a decent pool area. If you go in with the expectation of a 3-star hotel (which is what this really is, and for the price, you shouldn't be expecting much more), then I suspect most people will be satisfied with the hotel.

Rooms - whilst a little dated and there was a problem with the bathtub leaking water, were relatively spacious and comfortable
Pool - roof top pool was excellent. Plenty of deck chairs and the pool is large enough to have a dip without having to worry about others
Staff - extremely friendly. We had a late evening flight from Malta and the hotel staff were more than happy for us to use the hotel facilities and provide towels for showers in the evening even though we had already checked-out
Breakfast - agree with previous comments. This is very basic with little variety.
Location - excellent. 2 mins to waterfront. Several restaurants nearby. Short walk to Sliema Harbour area and walking distance to St Julian. Bus stop around 200m away.

Overall, would recommend a stay at the Park if you will be spending most of your time out and about or in the pool area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilSco24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Having recently spent 6 nights at this hotel, I wouldn't recommend it. It's definitely not a 4-star hotel and it's definitely not a comfortable retreat at the end of a long day.

Pros:
- The location is very convenient: really close to the bus stop, supermarket, restaurants and beaches.
- The staff was nice.
- The bedrooms were spacious.

Cons:
- Rooms in need of renovation. In particular, the sofas, which were desperately screaming for a clean-up. They looked bad and smelled even worse.
- Awful breakfast buffet. Good for UK visitors, as they had eggs, bacon, beans and sausages every day... Terrible for me. Besides the items I mentioned, there wasn't much of a choice really. Very disappointing.
- Terrace pool. It was tiny and only 1,10 m deep. It shouldn't even be called a pool. After that, I didn't even feel like checking the indoor one.
- In my point of view, no good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amarianellagomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Probably more 3star than 4, however it couldn't be more central. Perfect for those who like to be active and see/do things!
Service was ok, couldn't fault it. Good value, but may i just say. The cleaning ladies are just amazing. They've done such a good job every single day!!!
And a big bonus to the pool. Must have...for those hot summer days...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Edna17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Very mediocre hotel. At best a very average 3 star certainly not warranting 4 star status.
Breakfast buffet particularly uninviting.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dominiesabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.5 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.3 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#13 of 28 in Sliema
967 reviews
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Plevna Hotel
Plevna Hotel
#17 of 28 in Sliema
839 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#11 of 28 in Sliema
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Property: Park Hotel
Address: Graham Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1712, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): Β£
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Tour-oriented Hotel located in town center, just off main road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing