We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, excellent location!!”
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Hotel
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 2 February 2011

I Booked a single room at just £17pn, and got a twin the same size as all the other rooms in the hotel. Bargain!
Very close to seafront - maybe 100yards, and only a 10min walk to Sliema ferries (tour boats, ferry to Valletta, main bus stops).
Breakfast also included and was fine to be honest - though euro bacon as expected, yuck!
Staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Ok down sides - I would say it is only a 3 star hotel to be fair, the beds are not that comfortable, its looking a bit dated - but it is a nice hotel all round!!
Dont forget there is a swimming pool, jacuuzi and computers at e2/hour
p.s. Do the famous old Buses - they are all due to be withdrawn in July!!! Great fun, and cheap!.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stug97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

566 - 572 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2011

Situated in a quiet side street, off the promenade, close to cafes, bars, restaurants, shops & to a bus stop (opposite the Preluna Hotel) for sight seeing. Within walking distance there are plenty of shops (inclu. UK stores you will recognise!) also, the ferries to take you across to Valletta or on a harbour cruise. Our favourite eating place - 'Tre Angeli'. Plenty of variety, huge portions & cheap! About 20min walk away.
Our room - spacious,with a balcony & very clean, as was the bathroom, with maid service every day. Air conditioning was great & the blackened out curtains helped keep the room cool, too. Bedding was a bit worn, but the bed was comfortable. We did have a slight leak in the bathroom, but it was resolved immediately.
Breakfast - plenty of variety. Staff friendly & service good. Although, one evening when we decided to have a drink in the bar, we went to the main bar & were told it was now closed & to go to the other bar in the restaurant. We did, but no-one came to serve us. So, we just went out to a bar on the promenade!
Didn't use the 2 swimming pools, although the roof top pool looked very clean & inviting. Indoor pool didn't look as clean & looked rather old. The gym was locked up & didn't appear to have been used for a while.
Overall the park hotel is good value for money & is in a great area.

Valletta - church of St.Paul's shipwreck, really beautiful & touching. Hope to visit again this yr! St John's co-cathedral, stunning! But not as personal as St.Paul's. Upper & Lower Barracca Gardens provide excellent views of the harbour.

Other recommended sightseeing - Mdina, Mosta Dome, Gozo.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank ForestRose1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Visted for 7 days and never before have I been pleased to return home from a holiday. The reception/lounge was dull and dingy and smelt of chlorine from the indoor pool. The rooms were well equiped but in need of decorating. My stay was half board, the food was dire, cold and either tastless or over salted. 2 bars but often the main bar was closed and you had get drinks for the restaurant bar. One night we asked for some nuts, the barman could not get any cos he didn't have the key - he gave us cheese and crackers left over from dinner instead. The hotel might be cheap but I suggest to spend a litlle more to get better!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Having stayed at several 5* and 4* hotels in Malta over the years, we were attracted to the Park Hotel on account of its quiet location and the generally positive reviews on this website. Here's some good advice - do ignore the doom merchants / moaners whose sole purpose in life seems to be to criticise and find fault. This hotel is one that we'll be returning to time and time again, simply because it excelled on our expectations in every respect. We had requested "a quiet room on the first floor", and that is exactly what we were given. A spacious, well appointed room with no traffic noise - terriffic.
Without exception, the Reception staff and the Restaurant / kitchen staff provided a service of the highest standard; indeed, so much so that it would not be fair to single out any particular member of staff in that particular regard. The food was plentiful, varied, and well prepared and presented. In essence , the Park offers superlative accommodation and outstanding service at a very fair price. We look forward to returning in a few weeks' time.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abermaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

We just spent 5 days at the Park Hotel and enjoyed every minute of our stay there. The manager, Charles is so caring and extends himself to the fullest. Alfred, the food and beverage manager went out of his way to provide us with the best possible breakfast. The restaurant staff is warm and friendly and cannot do enough to serve you. Our room was delightful, spacious, and quiet and cleaned to perfection. The location is ideal for touring Malta..right off the waterfront...close to the public bus stop, near a supermarket and around the corner from the Oasis Sightseeing Agency which provide outstanding tours of Malta and Gozo. For us it was a pleasure and a privilege to visit Malta and spend time with its wonderful and gracious people and to learn about their rich heritage. If you are planning to do a lot of sightseeing...the Park hotel is the ideal base and home away from home.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank newyorkavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

i think this hotel should be rated as a 3 star and not a 4 star. The rooms were adequate and comfortable although looked a little tired and in need of some TLC. The air con was not particularly effective and it was too hot in the room.
We used the pool area at the end of each day after sightseeing, and there were always plenty of sunbeds (sun or shade). The pool is not really big enough to swim in but was nice and clean and an excellent way to cool down.
Breakfast was disappointing....watery fruit juice, stale bread rolls and the eggs/bacon were grim. other options were cheese and ham, but there was hardly anything fresh (watermelon was available 2 days out of 7)
If you want somewhere just to lay your head at the end of a day sightseeing and evenings out wining/dining the Park Hotel is fine, but if you are looking for a luxury 4 star you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wightrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Chose this hotel after reading some reviews on trip advisor. I have to say that most reflected what we found. Public areas good, maid service very good, rooms very clean but rather tired.
Staff very nice, and the rooftop pool was very clean with good water. But the breakfast, oh dear! We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and wished we hadn't. The breakfast is a disgrace, coffee from a machine, weak orange squash from a machine (no fresh juice). English breakfast was pitiful with eggs swimming in water or oil depending if they were scrambled or fried! The best thing about breakfast was the toast (and you did that yourself). This put me of eating at the hotel, if they make such a mess of breakfast would you order a full meal?
This hotel is a 3 star in my opinion.
One more thing, rooms have fridge and a kettle but no tea or coffee. Luckily we read reviews and took our own, there is a couple of supermarkets within a few minutes walk for the milk.
A good place to eat and drink is the Tex-Mex place on the corner of the road (they make great cocktails).
Hotel is up a side street a few yards from the main seafront road.
Fine to stay there but just be prepared.
Thank you Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MAC123Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.5 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.5 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#13 of 28 in Sliema
594 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#7 of 28 in Sliema
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#6 of 28 in Sliema
2,180 reviews
0.7 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Sliema Chalet Hotel
Sliema Chalet Hotel
#18 of 28 in Sliema
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Address: Graham Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1712, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £17 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Tour-oriented Hotel located in town center, just off main road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing