We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal”
Review of Corner Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Corner Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I was there for a weekend trip with some friends. The location is perfect, 5 minutes walk from St. Julian bay and easy access to all facilities. The hotel was clean and pleasant, staffs are friendly and helpful. You have to sleep with window open during summer though. Anyway great deal for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nwidyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights.
It's a great excellent hostel. All the equipment is new, comfortable mattresses, pillows, furniture. There are high ceiling and a lot of air everywhere. Everyone has their own individual lockers. Well-equipped spacious kitchen. Everywhere is very clean.
Everybody from the staff is very friendly and does everything to make you feel as good as home. Great atmosphere. And the guests also support this atmosphere and mood. There's no noise at night. Nobody leaves the dirty dishes in the kitchen, that is not always the case in other hostels with shared kitchen.
Everything for your comfortable stay has thought out in details. You always feel that someone is thinking about you and looking after what you need. There are markers for products next to refrigerators. There are Malta's free maps and free maps of bus routes, booklets with some information about current cultural events, a lot of information from guidebooks. There is a large selection of tours by friendly prices.
The staff are always ready to book a tour or transfer for you if you like. Even if you arrive late in the evening, you can buy an adapter for local outlets directly in the hostel, it is very important, because the stores in Malta are working very short time and do not work late in the evening.
The staff at the front desk is always ready to help you to get any help on Malta, especially how to get to your destination during your visit. They provide the most detailed instructions to your need. This is very important in Malta. You can always be sure of their help, you have reliable partners in everything of your stay in this country.
Great location. It's very nice and comfortaple central part of Sliema. Close to a couple of supermarkets, easy connection to main tourist destinations like St.Julians, Sliema Ferry terminal and ferry to Valetta. All of this you can get by short walking way. House has location on a quiet street.
The rocky beach is in five minutes by foot. If you'd like to go to a sandy beach you have to get on the bus and go to North of Malta island. The hostel has excellent location for connection with busses.
Very close to the stop with main bus routes, you can easily reach any attractions of the island and choose any beaches in Malta. You can also easily get to the airport with an express bus from this stop.

Only one thing what I would like to change for me. It may be important for people from North countries without hot summer in their places. I have to say the weather in Malta in August is very hot and very humid. Personally, I would have been better to stay in an air conditioned room. It is more comfortable for me to sleep with AC at night. There aren't AC-rooms there yet. If the owners of this beautiful wonderful hostel will equip several rooms with air conditioning, let it be more expensive than the price. If you have an option, I'll have no doubt preferring air conditioning. Even for more expensive price. But it is only my own dream about my next visit to your lovely home-hostel :-)

During my visit to Malta, I stayed in Corner hostel and also in 3 different hotels that all were more expensive. I can compare. Corner - is the best place in all details.
Thank you again, James and everyone from the staff. Be happy and good luck with everything. Stay the same professionals who loves their work so much.
I liked it and I am happy to come here again. The best recommendations. Just loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

the staff is very helpful and nice, very centrical and youthful.
recommended to go with friends.
James and Katherina are lovely., if you need to go to Malta, stay at Cornet, we stayed there for 4 nights in 4bed ensuite, was perfect!!
Best Regards From Logroño.
I hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol_shermie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I stayed one night in a dorm and I'll absolutely come back again there. I was there for a festival so I just needed a bed and a bathroom ensuite, everything was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Furthermore, the receptionists were really kind. The hostel is located in one of the best zone of Malta!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborap7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed one night in a dorm and one night in a double room. Everything was very new, so very nice and clean. Locked dressers were provided to each guest which was very nice. Only two complaints: Although there was a ceiling fan, it was not enough. It was 110 degrees when I was there and you really need a fan blowing directly on you to have it be a help. Lastly, they need to install shower curtains. The water sprays all over the bathroom and the floor is forever wet and then also makes the floors in the room dirty. BUT to make up for that, the staff was the BEST we have encountered anywhere in Europe! We asked for specific directions to the hostal, to ferry boats, to restaurants, etc and James would draw it on a map for us and tell us the specific bus lines to use. Location is also fantastic. Just about the best hostal we stayed in our whole trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

The corner hostel is a very new, (opened in march) clean, open, happy and fun hostel. The rooms are a fantastic size (we stayed in a 4 bed mixed dorm with ensuit) with very comfy beds, great sized lockers and a reading light next to each bed which is great not to disturb you other roommates!
The only thing with the ensuite is there is no exhaust fan or window so it can smell a little stale and no shower curtains (but the owner says its on his to do list which is great!)
The kitchen is the best I have seen! Everything is working properly and is so new... It almost didn't feel like a hostel kitchen at all! Two fridges for every body to use so there is plenty of room!
The lounge is very chilled with a couch and tv and some computers! Internet and wifi connection cuts out quite a bit (sometimes annoying) but it reminded me to get out and enjoy Malta!
The location is great! Two minute walk to bus stop, rock beach, heaps of restaurants and the supermarket is only 5-10 minutes walk!
The owner was very helpful from the start and had an answer for every question! Even steered us in the right direction for the perfect pastizzi! Yum!
If you don't stay at the Corner Hostel Sliema When you come to Malta, you are missing out!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikkibaddeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This is the best hostel I've ever been to! We stayed there for 6 nights in 4bed ensuite. The matresses were so good that I'll buy myself the same one for my place. The kitchen is excellent, supermarket is close (you have small shop just across the street also), common room is also nice, everything is so tidy and clean. Katharina and James, the owners, are as helpful as you can imagine:) The hostel is in a quite place, but near everything that you need. I would definetly reccomend this place!

Room Tip: 4bed ensuite on the ground floor is great, but when car passes, it's like it is your room, but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jadra z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.6 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#7 of 28 in Sliema
1,089 reviews
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Two Pillows Boutique Hostel
0.7 mi away
Boho Hostel
Boho Hostel
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Malti
Hostel Malti
#5 of 33 in Saint Julian's
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corner Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corner Hostel

Address: 6, St. Margaret Street,, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1979, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Sliema
Price Range: £24 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corner Hostel offers private and shared rooms in a tranquil environment with true Maltese character. Corner Hostel is a completely refurbished and renovated original townhouse with modern and practical facilities to make your stay as easy as can be! For us at Corner Hostel, it is of utmost importance that you feel welcome, at home and relaxed to make the best of your stay in Malta. And what’s more? – all the necessities; all the facilities under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Corner Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hostel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing