We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff and clean rooms”
Review of Corner Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Corner Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and clean rooms”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Rooms were spotlessly clean and location was very convenient. Only downsides were the internet only worked downstairs and the bathrooms were separate from the rooms (although they were also very very clean and nice).

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Shiri1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    100
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
12
51
151
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Very Good and helpful staff - this is a really good value for the price and the hotel has a very good location in Sliema near everythin -- free wifi

everything you need is available in the kitchen too

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thierry2459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, Owner at Corner Hostel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your honest feedback and we are glad you had a wonderful stay. we look forward to having you with us again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed only 2 days in this hostel, the first and my last day. Staff are friendly when exchanging emails before I arrived and gave clear instruction to where the hostel is.

However, there is no sign outside the building to make it notifiable that it is a hostel. When I got there and would like to get in touch with my friends there via Facebook. However, there is no wifi in the room and the wifi at the common area was so weak that I can't even able to connect to Facebook messenger.

I personally find it unreasonable and strange to restrict the check-in time before 10:30pm. What if I'm having a late flight? Then no one would be at the reception checking me in?

Also, I had a friend who wanted to help me with my luggage to the 2nd floor but he was stopped by one of the receptionists and said no entry is permitted for him. I think it is normal to set the rule that non-guest should not enter the room area to protect their guests or cause any distribance. The receptionist could have explained to me patiently on that, instead, he just kept shaking his head while talking to others on the phone and said that there is an elevator and that I don't need my friend's help at all.

While I was struggling with my luggage in the elevator, another receptionist came and asked what time my flight would be the next day. They didn't give me a minute of break to settle myself down and kept asking questions and telling me restrictions.

I stared at him and showed him an annoying face. He immediately waived his hands up and said he just wanted to let me know the check-out time is 11am. Why didn't he just say so at the beginning but asking my flight time instead? If my flight time is later than that, would they change the check-out time?

I know this is personal but I didn't really enjoy my stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, Owner at Corner Hostel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Tracy,

Whilst we appreciate your feedback, we find it very unreasonable to give this feedback without giving the full picture.

We have been very understanding of your needs all along the way, cancelled your nights of your stay (after plenty of emails exchanged), gave you plenty of tips and have been helpful before as well as throughout your stay.

We do have rules at the hostel, one of which is that check-in is until 22:00, as reception is closing at 22:30. Indeed this is a hostel and we do not have a 24 hour reception. In case of late arrivals we have other options, including a pick-up service as well as key collection.

In the case of your friend, as you well said, for the safety of our guests and our place, we do not allow visitors to enter the rooms. We are lucky to have an elevator in place and this eliminates the problem of having to carry luggage up the stairs. Those who ask if they can be assisted are always allowed, however guests would not be allowed to take visitors without permission, as was your case.

Whilst we acknowledge that this is a personal review, and we appreciate your feedback, we assure you that we treat guests equally and with a professional service as can be seen from the plenty of reviews above and below yours.

We thank you once again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed in the girls dorm and it was as comfy and cozy. Everything was spotless and the beds were perfect. James arranged everything for us, with a perfect pick up service, and even waited for our late arrival to give us all the guidance needed. The location is also the best, walking distance from everything and just one block from the sea. I would totally go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, Owner at Corner Hostel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your honest feedback and we are glad you had a wonderful stay. we look forward to having you with us again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udine, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Just one of the most familiar and feel-like-home hostels I´ve ever been...
The staff knows how to make you feel comfortable, and are more than helpful when you need something, from mere information to organise a trip.
The facilities are also great, what makes this hostel the perfect place for the experimented backpacker and also the beginner, who will discover a new way of what travelling means.

Thank you so much James. Will be back to your hostel if I´ll ever return to Malta, which probably I will!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sollentuna
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Good hostel,clean and friendly. Perfect with pick-up service from the airport. Good location in Sliema. Silent at nights. Close to the sea and the main road with a lot of restaurants. Close to the buses to Valletta and Mdina.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is the second time I stay in this Hostel, James and his team is always attentive and delivers.

1) He stayed up late (1am) waiting for our arrival and explained everything in full detail.
2) He arrange a really affordable pick up service for us.
3) I left my phone on this service just right before arriving to the airport, he was fast calling the taxi and I got my phone back just in time!!!

Location is excellent, there is a small shop next to it and a mobile fruit stand, right in the middle between night life and the pier.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dafne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.4 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#8 of 28 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corner Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corner Hostel

Property: Corner Hostel
Address: 6, St. Margaret Street,, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1979, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corner Hostel offers private and shared rooms in a tranquil environment with true Maltese character. Corner Hostel is a completely refurbished and renovated original townhouse with modern and practical facilities to make your stay as easy as can be! For us at Corner Hostel, it is of utmost importance that you feel welcome, at home and relaxed to make the best of your stay in Malta. And what’s more? – all the necessities; all the facilities under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Corner Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hostel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing