We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coming back! 2 years since the last time”
Review of Corner Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Corner Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Coming back! 2 years since the last time”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is my 2nd time to stay in Malta and Corner hostel as well :)
Though 2 years have passed, Unforgettable nice staffs and cozy bed rooms.
I was surprised actually .... here is still VERY CLEAN and comfortable.
I would like to give all staffs ( especially cleaner lady! ) a big round of applause!!

In many more favourite points for me..
- Clean and large dining kitchen
- large locker one by one
- the view of windows ( vegetable / fruits selling van come to close usually )
- Good location: easy to access from the airpot, going to the beach, Valletta, and St.Julian
- and.... "the floor" designed by maltese tiles :D

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitojpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    100
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
12
51
154
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bitonto, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

It has good location in a central place close San Julian and The others places, near the seafront of Sliema, It's clean and the staff are polite! I can advise it for a short vacation in Malta!
The rooms for four with a share bathroom are a bit small
but there are private rooms!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MarkTedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

I dont even know where to start from.This is a first time after 10 years I've decised to give a chance to a hostel experience when before stayed at the hotels only. The owner James and his team are trying to create a cozy family atmosphere there when every person are treated like a friend and/or a family member. The hostel is very clean itself and you can find everything what you need in kitchen. Actually there many interesting things which happens in this kitchen ;) People meet from different countries and become friends which makes this place very unique cause you spend time with your new friends when enjoying a glass of wine in the evening. The location is also very great - close to everywhere in the island and Paceville is 15 minutes walking. On the other side there is a nice Black Gold bar which you can reach in 12min by foot. And stuff are more than happy to answer all your questions. Thank you guys for making our holidays the perfect ones!

Best wishes from Lithuania!

Simona & Oksana

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Simona Ž
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I'm not a fan of hostel or basic lodging, but I've got to admit that James and his team have a good thing going here. Stayed in room 12, basic room with own bathroom and even a small seaview if you look out the window the right way ;) Seriously, this is more than a hostel. Quiet, central, very accessible location. They will help you with special requests and provide info on the country if asked. Good job team!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christophe_Olenaed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, Nederland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

After a wonderful 4-week stay last summer and a brief visit in October it was great to be back again for another 2-week stay. The atmosphere is great, the staff is very friendly and extremely helpful, and the hostel is clean and tidy.

Its location is ideal. The bus stop down the street is a good starting point to travel the island(s) and when you return at the end of the day there are loads of nice restaurants (walking distance) to choose from to finish your lovely day. On a lazy day just wander down the street and you'll find the beach (and sea) waiting for you.

The corner shop across the street is not only convenient, they sell almost everything, but the owners are very friendly.

The Corner Hostel is my home away from home when in Malta and I'll be back, most definitely.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlous1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very good facilities, clean, well organized hostel. Recommended! Roomy lockers. Everything you would expect from a hostel. Helpful staff. You name it. Great location, close to the waterfront. Stores, shops.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Rooms were spotlessly clean and location was very convenient. Only downsides were the internet only worked downstairs and the bathrooms were separate from the rooms (although they were also very very clean and nice).

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Shiri1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,387 reviews
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.1 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corner Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corner Hostel

Property: Corner Hostel
Address: 6, St. Margaret Street,, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1979, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corner Hostel offers private and shared rooms in a tranquil environment with true Maltese character. Corner Hostel is a completely refurbished and renovated original townhouse with modern and practical facilities to make your stay as easy as can be! For us at Corner Hostel, it is of utmost importance that you feel welcome, at home and relaxed to make the best of your stay in Malta. And what’s more? – all the necessities; all the facilities under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Corner Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hostel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing