We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
13
6
1
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
6
1
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We spent 10 days at Bla Dorren and everything was just perfect. We enjoyed every single day, breakfast is very good, location is really nice close to everything you need and gives you the chance to go and see the old town. Marianne and her husband cared about all details and we thank them very much.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daniela_Boris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This 2-storey 100 years old townhouse give you some authenticity in artificial town of Sliema. It is nicely restored by Swedish owner, which adds some Scandinavian touch. 3 guest rooms with own bathrooms, roof terrace, courtyard, breakfast room gives enough space for comfortable stay. Perfect breakfast and functioning wi-fi as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ezis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We spend 3 days in Sliema at Bla Dorren in September.Really liked how well situated this guest house is for walking the Promenade,using the buses or eating out.The house is lovely,quiet,restful and very clean.Breakfast in the courtyard every morning was a pleasure!really enjoyed the orange juice!!Also lovely roof terrace,for an afternoon siesta!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthernIrelandHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

If you're looking for a quiet hideaway, a good base for exploring the island or want to stay somewhere with a real Maltese flavour, then Bla Dorren is ideal. It might not have all the glitz of a five-star hotel, there aren't bars, pools, a spa or room service, but for me this guesthouse outclasses many expensive hotels that could be anywhere in the world. Bla Dorren is run by Swedish couple Margaretha and Stefan, who rent out three guestrooms in their spacious Maltese townhouse. They are friendly but unobtrusive, offering help and information if it is needed, and pretty much let guests have the run of the house. The guest house itself is located in a residential street just off the Sliema Promenade, a stone's throw from buses to Valletta and locations across the island, and walking distance from many decent restaurants and bars.
The white-washed high-ceiling rooms are styled with a combination of Swedish furniture, antique lamps modern wall hangings. Our room had a small balcony and contemporary en suite bathroom with a great power shower. We usually had breakfast in the airy dining room but could also sit outside on the pretty terrace. There was also a sitting room and a roof terrace with sun loungers and a seating area.
I loved the way Margaretha and Stefan had thought about what guests might want during their holiday, from the box of bats, balls, beach mats and even umbrellas in the hallway, along with info on boat trips, city sightseeing and maps, to the fridge of beer on soft drinks by the terrace. You just put the small charge for the drinks in the tin and could enjoy a drink and a chat as the sun went down.
I would definitely recommend Bla Dorren and would think about it again for a short break or a longer holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank loopy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

A perfect guesthouse for us that want to be close to resturants and beaches, but off from traffic and noice from the city. A tasteful breakfast as a start of the day after a good night sleep. We are already looking forward to going back and meetIng our caring hosts.
Catharina & Hans

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews