We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic....yet again!”
Review of Fortina Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fortina Spa Resort
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Following a very enjoyable holiday at the Fortina hotel last year, we opted to return this year but upgraded to the 5* Spa resort. What a fantastic holiday. On arrival we discovered we did not have the sea-view we had paid for, but instead had been given an upgrade to a spa room (with jaccuzzi) needless to say I did not miss the sea-view one little bit!
As for the hotel, it is simply brilliant. Having read the reviews last year & again this year prior to going, I don't understand how anyone can say the hotel staff are not friendly, they just couldn't be any more pleasant & can't do enough for you. As I commented last year, the entertainment is minimal to say the least, and hasn't got any better, but that is the only negative I could possibly come up with.
There were rumours that the hotel was going to end the All-inclusive option and I hope that does not happen as it would ruin the experience.
I will definately return next year wether it be 4* or 5* it wouldn't matter!

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are really quiet. 5* spa rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank macandjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Dear macandjudy,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us at the Fortina Spa Resort. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Please be assured that the All Inclusive option shall be available in the Fortina Spa Resort for the foreseeable future.

Warm wishes from sunny Malta,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

877 - 883 of 1,410 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2011

The worst thing bout this hotel is that they allow non residents to use the hotel at weekends. This did not appear anywhere so we were completely unaware of this. They were a large group which were loud and splashing and took per a large part of the pool area making everyone else very uncomfortable. I made a complaint to reception but appeared to be to no avail and they continued into the afternoon. Check in took ages. No porter to take our luggage which for a 5 star seemed unacceptable. Towels for round the pool were too short, very tatty and not available until 10am. They were also not presented in a good way, simply being dragged from a bag and handed to you. Pool bar staff did not come round offering drinks at any stage neither were cold flannels offered due to the heat. The outside condition of the balconies were very tired and in need of a touch up. Also there was algae or something on top of the parasols. The bar area needed some attention as this was very tired looking. The pool could do with cleaning more frequently. We stayed from Friday to Monday and only on Monday did I see them cleaning the pool. There was a serious shortage of staff and those that were here were miserable and unmotivated. Not enough sun beds if this hotel was even close to capacity. The cocktail bar was souless. Reception staff were offhand and unpleasant. The dressing gowns were in need of replacing and had holes in and belts missing. The decor was generally old fashioned and in need of modernisation. At breakfast the staff do not automatically bring your tea and coffee, I had to ask for it every morning and it's hard to get their attention. The plates were cold and more attention needs to be paid to replenishing items when they run low. There was no wifi in the rooms, and not even the facility to purchase this. The only place you could get wifi was in reception. The tv in the room was very old fashioned but did have a good selection of channels. The fittings in the bathroom were in need of sone general maintenance and the fitting by the toilet was loose.

Good
Breakfast was good quality and the egg station in particular was good with a wide range of eggs cooked to order which tasted good. The rooms were a good size with plenty of storage and the beds wherever comfy. The bathroom with the exception of the fittings were good. The spa area was nice although could make more money having a proper gift shop and a wider selection of products to purchase, they only seemed to offerLi'tya and Finders. Sun beds were comfy and lots of shaded area which was excellent. It was also nicely shaded from the noise of the stress outside. There was a good selection of restaurants in the hotel and you got a 25% discount off these. We went to the tapenako and it was excellent with great service. We liked this very much.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank clare1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear clarelouise1983,

We would like to thank you for your comments. We are disappointed to learn that we did not reach your satisfaction level during your stay with us. Please be advised that non-residents are permitted to use the Resort - this is common to most hotels around the World. We do offer Porter Service. It may be the case that the Porters were busy with other clients at the time of your check-in, however, this service is available at all times. We would have been able to take your bags up to your room within minutes of check-in.

The towels are in the process of being changed this month. It is unfortunate that you experienced problems with them. Unfortunately the shipment was delayed for a long time but they have now arrived and we are changing swimming towels.

We do not offer waiter service to sun beds, neither do we offer cold flannels for the hot weather- we have a number of swimming pools whereby guests are able to refresh themselves. The Bar is also a swim-up Bar so guests can even enjoy drinks without getting out of the pool.

We would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused by the balconies. The pools are cleaned daily. The Cocktail Bar is not open during the day since the Lido Bar (just outside the Cocktail Bar) is open all day.

With regards to breakfast- it is normal that waiting staff ask guests whether they'd like tea or coffee in the morning and not automatically bring it to the table. This is due to the fact that we serve many types of coffee (espresso, macchiato, cappucino, black coffee, decaffeinated, etc.) and many types of tea (English breakfast, green tea, white tea, peppermint tea, jasmine tea, orange and coconut tea, etc.).

We do offer internet in the rooms at a charge. A cable may be sent up to the room upon request against a charge.

Kind Regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights as a short holiday. The room was amazing. 17th floor with a balcony overlooking the sea, valetta and sliema. Massive king sized bed, plasma tv on the wall and a jacuzzi in the bathroom and perfectly air conditioned which is essential as it 30'C outside all the time!!

The staff were overall friendly and attentive except at breakfast where they seemed a bit tired and grumpy. Breakfast was good overall full hot buffet even at 10am although the croissants were a little over cooked and dry and the juice wasn't chilled. I didn't eat in the evenings as there are so many excellent restaurants in Malta as a frequent visitor I have my favourites.

The spa is excellent and the treatments on offer are superb but be warned these aren't cheap and you have to pay extra to use the spa, 32 euros for 4 hours.

Overall a great hotel and will be back :-)

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear James198,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at the Fortina Spa Resort on this website. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Warm wishes,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I have just returned from staying at the Fortina the rooms are pleasant ours was overlooking the garden which was the best place to relax and make use of the swimming pool as the others were usually crowded.

The main restaurant had a fair selection of food but it was a little disconcerting finding out what we could actually have on half board with the selection of what they called dining around the world. The Chinese was good but lacked choice as did the Indian also the portions were poor and the drinks where very expensive with the pool bar which was usually empty but then they were charging 3.20 euros for half a larger and coke at 2.10.a splash. The general price for a 75cl of bottled water at lunch 3.50 or more in some restaurants so overcharging was common therefore you went out and brought in beers drinks water etc from the supermarket in the shopping centre which did some amazing lunch time food as well.

Bottles of water from the shop 3 Euro 12 Litres

Why don't they just charge a fair price produce more turnover and buy the goods at a better price.

The location of this hotel is very good being near all facilities and just a five minute boat ride from Valletta which is a lovely place with magnificent history.

So this place is worth a go but watch the soft drinks beers wines etc, and unless you have won the lottery the spa is very over priced.

Room Tip: Rooms are good and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear Trevor P,

Thank you for posting your feedback on this website. Please be assured all your comments have been well-noted and passed onto all those concerned.

Regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Very disappointing hotel; don’t believe the photos!
On arrival I thought I was at the wrong hotel- certainly not 5 star or even 4 star. The hotel was not particularly clean or luxurious the sort of things you expect from 5 star accommodation. I think perhaps the physical building could be rated at 3 star but the management was so poor I could only rate the whole experience at 2 star.
The atmosphere of the hotel was mean spirited which was finally summed up during my stay with the introduction of a towel card system ( a card with a face value of ten euro if lost was issued to all guests, the card could then be exchanged at various towel ports for the use of ONE small very used towel; not large enough to cover the plastic sunbed around the overcrowded pool)
The staff were aloof and in need of Customer Training; as was the Manager I spoke to who was just outright rude –
The only saving grace was the Spar; staff there were very helpful, however the treatments could have been of a better standard.
I cut my stay short and returned to London early preferring to spend an additional £500 on a flight just to get away.
Needless to say - Never Again

Needless to say; never again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beverly1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear Beverly1111,

Thank you for posting your feedback on this website. We are disappointed to learn that we did not manage to satisfy your requirements during your holiday. Please be advised that the "Towel Card System" is standard procedure in most Hotels around the World. Guests are able to request additional Towel Cards at Reception in order to acquire additional towels. This is explained to guests by Reception.

Regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This hotel is brilliant, always willing to make you feel at home, extremly helpful. When we arrived we upgraded to the room in which we had our own pool on the top floor, this is expensive but well worth the money you pay (about 325 euros if you can knock them down). Food is amazing but on AI there isnt really much choice as its a set menu for the restaurant (different each day) and unfortunatley my partner wasnt best pleased with the choices. The indian resturaunt is well worth a visit and the food is spectacular! Unfortunatley we didnt use any of the spa facilities as there was too much to see and do! Sliema is a fantastic place to have a holiday as there are many bus stops (about a 5 min walk from hotel) and you can go anywhere in malta. We went to the craft village for a day on the local buses (not for the faint hearted i might add, very bumpy and VERY fast) and it was amazing. Brilliant hotel, brilliant place.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the room were you have your own pool, about 350 euros to upgrade but it was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren-and-Nick-08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear Lauren-and-Nick-08,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and sharing your photos on this website. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us in the Spa Bedrooms with Private Pool! We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed there just for 2 nights this week (22nd-24th) and we very much enjoyed the room.

We were in a Wellness room double with a HUGE bed and a bathroom with a powerful shower, and in addition a bath with a shower and a jacuzzi feature, plenty of room for storage of full length suits and dresses, an iron and board, a TC with limited channels Discovery, BBC news and Euro sport + a few other channels.The wow factor was the outside jacuzzi and the massive comfortable bed.

The room had lots of little "wellness" toys in it, sadly we were not shown to our room so we had no idea what they were used for, So i fiddled around with them. I know on Sunsail holidays every guest is shown to there room and told how everything works. This is something the hotel should have done.

The initial girl who checked us in clearly was having a busy day and both my partner and I thought the girl lacked customer service skills for a 5 star resort. Giving her credit tho, she was manning a phone and was on her own, still tho. "Sorry, I will be with you in just a minute please sit down and relax" would have avoided me writing this.

The Gym and spa. (not including the excellent collection of treatment rooms on offer) were about average, I viewed the Hilton hotel in Saint Julian and the gym was so much better with new machines and air conditioning. The Fortina gym was designed around an indoor swimming pool so to get to the gym you could slip up on the wet floor and break your neck. The facilities were ok but with out AC or FANS it was a brief visit. In contrast the local gym to where the yacht is based at least has fans. (Challenger Gym, Vittoriosa)

Also the Fridge was one of those standard fridges that didnt keep anything ice cold nor did we have decent ice freezing capability.

To conclude:

Go and spend a lovely week in Sliema at the Fortina spa resort and enjoy the 45 minute walk along the sea front to the popular area of Saint Julian drop into a restaurant on route. Take a trip to Gozo and get some Icecream from Xlendi behind the beach front hotels, Cliff jump off a couple of rocks at Comino and swim with your other half in the crystal clear waters around the island, have some fun scuba diving at the Azure Window, enjoy a day at the Golden bay beach, take a ride on a bus, enjoy a drink by the garden pool bar, go to the Hilton hotel 22 Bar and enjoy a fantastic cocktail truly delicious with views over Malta (9:30pm- 5am Thu/fir/sat), Enjoy a glass of champagne and strawberries in the Wellness room Jacuzzi a definite highlight of ours, I cannot imagine staying there again without choosing one of those rooms.

Enjoy your stay, just get a good price otherwise stay at the Hilton in Saint Julian Also when you leave the local taxi in the Mercedes E class charges 20 euro, the hotel charges 35 euro?? Sort that out.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SYScottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear SYscottie,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us on this website. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused upon Check-In. Management have been informed about this and action has been taken.

Unfortunately, the AC in the Fortina Fitness Centre is currently undergoing maintenance. It is usually fully air-conditioned. The fridge in the room is a standard mini bar fridge found in Hotels all around the World.

We do not recommend people jumping off any heights in Comino or any other places around Malta, Gozo and Comino. This is very dangerous and tourists often have accidents because of their jumping off high rocks on the Maltese Islands. The locals are strongly against this.

With regards to the Taxi Service- we are looking into this since it is highly irregular that prices are not matched. The Hotel does not charge for Taxi Service, clients pay the Taxi directly and this has nothing to do with the Hotel. We shall be investigating this matter in depth.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm wishes,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,513 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,823 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 28 in Sliema
1,250 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortina Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortina Spa Resort

Address: Tigne Seafront, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3012, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#4 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £120 - £884 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fortina Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central Sliema, adjoining Malta’s trendiest shopping complex (The Point) offering the largest choice of fashion & designer outlets, the Fortina Spa Resort is Malta’s newest 17 storey 5 star hotel. The resort faces south with magnificent views of Valletta’s bastion walls across the water and is home to the World’s 1st Therapeutic Spa bedrooms. It is the ideal hotel to indulge in a numerous variety of Spa treatments, excellent cuisines from around the world and one of the best locations on the island. Restaurants :- Taste Restaurant (Vietnamese & Mediterranean Cuisine)CanThai (Chinese & Thai Cuisine)Momo’s Ristorante Tigne (Italian & Mediterranean Cuisine)Il Giardino PizzeriaSaReGaMa (Authentic Indian Cuisine)Moroboshi (Japanese Cuisine)Bars Limes Bar (indoor)Island Bar (outdoors – weather permitting)Swimming Pools :-Outdoor Garden Pool and separate Splash Pool2 Indoor Swimming PoolsSpa Centres(see descriptions below)Thalasso Spa MediterraneeSpa Sante Belle Epoque Beauty CentreHypogeum Body, Mind & Spirit CentreOther facilities Conference facilities Fully Equipped Fitness Centre 24 hour room serviceAdded Value For All Our Guests :-Cruise of Malta’s Historical Grand HarbourUnlimited access to Fortina Fitness Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fortina Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortina Hotel Sliema
Fortina Hotel Malta
Fortina Resort
Hotel Fortina
Fortina Spa Resort Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing