We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing holiday”
Review of Fortina Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fortina Spa Resort
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I have fond memories of the hotel, the fabulous views across the harbour, the lovely swimming pools especially the ones overlooking the harbour, the variety of restaurants and of course the great service! Thank you

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gotski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear Gotski,

Thank you for your lovely posting. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best wishes,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

761 - 767 of 1,411 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2012

we stayed at this holel in july 2012.having stayed in malta many times this was our first visit to the
fortina spa resort.have to say every thing about the hotel is first class. from the management
all the way down to the cleaners. every one of them were so friendly and so helpfull.we had a room on the 8th floor over looking valletta and has to be one of the best views on the island.the breakfast is one of the best we have had at any 5 star hotel anywhere.we would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be booking again.

Room Tip: get a room as high up as possible with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear tony m,

Thank you for your wonderful posting. We are so happy to learn of your positive experience with us at the Fortina Spa Resort and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This hotel, is a hotel to remember, we stayed in the Fortina Spa bit which is the 5 Star half. I could not fault this hotel in anyway. We still have wonderful memories of staying there. We stayed in the Spa Bedroom with the private pool above our room. We had a jacuzzi behind the bed, and special spa facilities in the bathroom. It was amazing!! The Food in the all inclusive option was exceptional, we had 5 restaurants to choose from, and the food was superb. We were spoilt for choice. Malta is a beautiful country with wonderful friendly people. I would go back tomorrow if i could.

Room Tip: any of the spa bedrooms, will be amazing, the most expensive room is the one with the private pool u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicky0137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear nicky0137,

Thank you for your lovely posting. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We went out of school season in mid May and although the Hotel was friendly and welcoming we realised most of the guests at this time were returning timeshare holders in the winter of their lives and felt as 40 somethings we reduced the average age of hotel guest significantly! The hotel itself was very nice and what food we ate there was very nice although advance booking was essential for evening meals if you wanted to guarantee a place at their specific restaurants. The hotel is located next door to a modern shopping mall which seemed very new as on the otherside of the mall extensive building works were going on.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbiecrouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear debbiecrouch,

Thank you for your posting. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best wishes,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We absolutely love this hotel. We always stay on half board and find the buffet option perfect. Our room is fabulous - overlooking the bay across to Valetta, loads of space and very comfortable. We love the Spa Sante and usually treat ourselves to one or two treatments. The close proximity of the new Tigne Point shopping centre is great. If you are looking for a little bit of luxury in a fabulous location then this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Pay for the harbour view and stay in the 5 star.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear Jennifer B,

Thank you for your lovely posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights beginning of August.

The pool over looking the sea which belongs to the 4* part of the hotel was very tatty!!!! the beds and umbrellas need replacing. The bar area was dirty as were the windows of the hotel surrounding the pool.

the pool area at the 5* was better but quite shady as it is in a garden and surrounded by buildings.

I stayed in the Tower, the room was beautiful and very large and had a fantastic view of Valleta at night which was all lit up in the distance.

I ate at the Thai restaurant which was really good and the Indian which was just ok, only basic choices, nothing really spicy on the menu.

The breakfast was really good, especially the bacon and eggs.

The TV in the room only has BBC Entertainment, no BBC1 or ITV for the British holiday makers which when your travelling alone is minus for me.

Room Tip: choose a room in the Tower, dont bother with the pool besides the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsBfromSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear MrsBfromSolihull,

Thank you for your comments on this website. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please be assured that your comments have been passed onto the sister hotel, the Hotel Fortina.

Best wishes,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Short stay only and wish could have stayed for longer. Just perfect and will be booking for next year but this time for a week. The sea view rooms are beautiful. Pools relaxing and excellent location. Just perfect! I visit Malta every year and this hotel will now me by first choice

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darkangel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear darkangel1,

Thank you for your lovely posting. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you next year.

Warm wishes,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,513 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,827 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 28 in Sliema
1,250 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortina Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortina Spa Resort

Address: Tigne Seafront, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3012, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#5 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £117 - £884 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fortina Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central Sliema, adjoining Malta’s trendiest shopping complex (The Point) offering the largest choice of fashion & designer outlets, the Fortina Spa Resort is Malta’s newest 17 storey 5 star hotel. The resort faces south with magnificent views of Valletta’s bastion walls across the water and is home to the World’s 1st Therapeutic Spa bedrooms. It is the ideal hotel to indulge in a numerous variety of Spa treatments, excellent cuisines from around the world and one of the best locations on the island. Restaurants :- Taste Restaurant (Vietnamese & Mediterranean Cuisine)CanThai (Chinese & Thai Cuisine)Momo’s Ristorante Tigne (Italian & Mediterranean Cuisine)Il Giardino PizzeriaSaReGaMa (Authentic Indian Cuisine)Moroboshi (Japanese Cuisine)Bars Limes Bar (indoor)Island Bar (outdoors – weather permitting)Swimming Pools :-Outdoor Garden Pool and separate Splash Pool2 Indoor Swimming PoolsSpa Centres(see descriptions below)Thalasso Spa MediterraneeSpa Sante Belle Epoque Beauty CentreHypogeum Body, Mind & Spirit CentreOther facilities Conference facilities Fully Equipped Fitness Centre 24 hour room serviceAdded Value For All Our Guests :-Cruise of Malta’s Historical Grand HarbourUnlimited access to Fortina Fitness Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fortina Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortina Hotel Sliema
Fortina Hotel Malta
Fortina Resort
Hotel Fortina
Fortina Spa Resort Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing