We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the Spa Sante”
Review of Fortina Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fortina Spa Resort
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Mosta, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay at the Spa Sante”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Beautiful and truly relaxing day today at Spa Sante. We benefited from a very special and worth it Dealtoday offer. Moreover, I would like to thank the Maltese therapist who gave me a mini facial today and another maltese who prepared the Cleopatra bath for us. They were both very gentle and helpful. We will probably visit again next time Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank char888lene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    400
    253
    119
    93
See reviews for
149
752
79
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Firstly, some people review the Fortina 4 star under this hotel so take note of that.
This is my 4th visit here this year. Look at my other reviews, they are fair therefore you must accept that this hotel must be worth returning to.
I have heard some guests be extremely rude to staff. The staff are not your slaves for the duration of your holiday. Treat them with respect !
By being respectful we have made some very good friends here in Malta.
All staff have been fantastic here as usual: Carol, Henda, Kevin and Neil in Il Giardino. Bhaskar, Rita, Sandra, Clifford, Gregory, Gabor (very smiley happy guy) in Taste. Keith, Jonathan and the other chefs in Taste. Teresa and Fiona in Chan Thai. Owen, Keith, Gino, Steve and Richard in Limes and Island Bar. The super ladies who cleaned our room (446), a particular thanks to Doris who placed our little ducks cutely on our towels every day at the hot tub. Our room was always immaculate throughout, thanks Doris ! Elisabeth on reception and last but not least the very dutiful Duty Mamager Paul. He interacts with guests throughout his shifts always with a smile on his face.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff here. Those who give poor reviews do not say that they asked for their areas of complaint to be rectified. Why not ? If you thought your food was poor, complain ! If you thought your room needed better cleaning, tell someone ! We have eaten in all the restaurants this time except the Japanese (we just don't like Japanese food). We can't fault any of the meals. The fillet steak in Taste is the best I have found anywhere in the world.
Enjoy it !
Read my other reviews for more information on this hotel.

Room Tip: The sea views are super but we prefer the spa room with pool. If you want a sea view, the high floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bobby911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Me and my wife made a booking at the 4 star Fortina hotel. To say the least, it was a nightmare, the Fortina 4 star was the worst hotel we ever stayed in ( read my review) . After 1 night we decided enough is enough and we asked to be moved to a “better” room, as we still had 7 more nights to sleep in Malta. .. We were then offered a upgrade to the 5 star Fortina Spa. It cost us a few Euros, but perhaps the best money spend on our 3 week holiday in Europe.
To go from the 4 star Fortina to the 5 star Spa, differ like day and night.

The Fortina Spa is a very, very nice hotel. Big clean rooms , friendly staff, W-fi that “works” even in your room, Excellent breakfast, good restaurants, perfect location. ,,an aircon that works and you could hardly hear working. We can just recommend the Spa. There are really not mush to complain about...perhaps the many “locals” that pay 14 Euros to use their swimming pools, and sometimes it really get packed, but we looked past it.

We will again stay at the Fortina Spa.

Room Tip: We had a room with a sea view, on the 10 th floor. You can't get better...but I believe all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bankiesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My wife and I just spent a wonderful week as guests at the Fortina. The joy of being on the waterfront overlooking Valleta and the comfort of a well appointed, spacious room all led to a great week. We dined in the buffet restaurant most times and had good meals - simple but nicely presented with a good choice. Friendly staff, clean and comfortable surroundings and in easy location for buses, boats and shops. Only downside? The free boat trip and other gift is linked to a "timeshare" type presentation!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but lack the harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balzan, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We returned to Fortina this year after a very positive experience last year, this time for three nights.

Booking
Contrary to what we do usually, we booked directly with the hotel. Mariella at reservations was very helpful and efficient and booking was extremely smooth.

Room
We were given a room on the second floor, which was much bigger and more comfortable than last year’s (on the 9th floor). Even the view was better (both were seaview but this time it was directly facing the sea and not partly on the Tignè Point apartments). No need to point out the cleanliness of the room.

Breakfast
My only “negative” point last year was on the selection of food for breakfast. We were pleased to note that the hotel does really look at the reviews and were happy to note that the was an improvement in the selection of food and drinks.

Staff
Extremely friendly and efficient. Doris and the other Maltese lady in charge of the breakfast on the 8th August deserve a special mention.

Facilities
We used both pools this year and really enjoyed them. Our only suggestion would be to have stricter monitoring of children jumping in the pool thus ignoring all the “no diving signs”.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mjx575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North west
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at this hotel last year I just can not believe how much this hotel has gone down in, the reception area is dirty with a musty smell that is present throughout the whole hotel, grubby carpets throughout, dirty pool area, cramped the whole place is generally filthy - last visit to this hotel 3 star at best

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darkangel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My wife and I are frequent visitors to the Fortina Spa because it is simply a fantastic place to relax and get away from it all.
The staff are very friendly and always welcoming as are the owners.
The food from the various restaurants is always top notch, the pools are always clean and the rooms are sumptuous. Bundle this with the great island of Malta to explore and you have the perfect break.
I cannot wait till we get back there in November!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,424 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,962 reviews
0.5 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
1.7 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,957 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortina Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortina Spa Resort

Property: Fortina Spa Resort
Address: Tigne Seafront, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3012, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#3 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fortina Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central Sliema, adjoining Malta’s trendiest shopping complex (The Point) offering the largest choice of fashion & designer outlets, the Fortina Spa Resort is Malta’s newest 17 storey 5 star hotel. The resort faces south with magnificent views of Valletta’s bastion walls across the water and is home to the World’s 1st Therapeutic Spa bedrooms. It is the ideal hotel to indulge in a numerous variety of Spa treatments, excellent cuisines from around the world and one of the best locations on the island. Restaurants :- Taste Restaurant (Vietnamese & Mediterranean Cuisine)CanThai (Chinese & Thai Cuisine)Momo’s Ristorante Tigne (Italian & Mediterranean Cuisine)Il Giardino PizzeriaSaReGaMa (Authentic Indian Cuisine)Moroboshi (Japanese Cuisine)Bars Limes Bar (indoor)Island Bar (outdoors – weather permitting)Swimming Pools :-Outdoor Garden Pool and separate Splash Pool2 Indoor Swimming PoolsSpa Centres(see descriptions below)Thalasso Spa MediterraneeSpa Sante Belle Epoque Beauty CentreHypogeum Body, Mind & Spirit CentreOther facilities Conference facilities Fully Equipped Fitness Centre 24 hour room serviceAdded Value For All Our Guests :-Cruise of Malta’s Historical Grand HarbourUnlimited access to Fortina Fitness Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Fortina Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortina Hotel Sliema
Fortina Hotel Malta
Fortina Resort
Hotel Fortina
Fortina Spa Resort Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing