We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeshare”
Review of Fortina Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fortina Spa Resort
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Timeshare”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We had a lovely time staying at the hotel,the room was adequate and the food was very good with good choices. The only thing that spoilt the holiday was the hotel rep offering us free trips under the guise of attending a look around the hotel five star spa hotel when they were actually trying to sell you a timeshare. I did not appreciate it and did complain to the person's involved.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank casbas54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear casbas54,

Thank you for your posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us despite a problem with the holiday ownership personnel. Please be advised that this is run but an outside company and that your comments have been passed onto them for the appropriate action to be taken.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    395
    244
    116
    91
See reviews for
147
735
79
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here on our homeymoon in September for 3 nights. we were allocated a spa room which was lovely from the point of view of facilities. The room needed updating but was clean and comfortable. After already staying in two 5 Star hotels before this on the island I would have to comment on the customer service. The staff in the restaurant were friendly but the selection of food was very poor. I approached reception two mornings and ended up walking away when there were no staff to help with my query. I also tried to arrange a late checkout (1) I went to reception but was told to ring before 10.30am the next morning/departure date (2) The next morning I rang at 8.00am and was told that I'd have to ring back at 10.30am as the member of staff dealing with reservations wasnt there (3) I rang back at 10.30am and was told that it would not be possible to check out late. This was very frustrating as I'd made many efforts to enquire about this. But also for a 5 Star hotel not to make any options available to their guests, we were told we could use the pool and showers at the pool for the day. Personally I wouldnt be recommending this hotel to people as there are far superior hotels on the island where staff are more accommodating and have a higher standard of service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaryLou09-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear MaryLou09-2013,

Thank you for your posting. We are disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations. We apologise for not being able to sort out a late check-out for yourself and your partner.As you will appreciate, late check-outs can only be given when there are no guests waiting to check into the allocated guest room.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel is nearly excellent but not quite. It is strange mix of 5 star and 4 star. We were in 4 star and were very disappointed with our allocated room on arrival which smelt damp was on the 7th floor without a lift beyond the 6th floor. The room was no more than 3 star quality. However, after a disappointing start we complained and were moved to a room on the 3rd floor which was much more in keeping with a 4 star hotel. After this sticky start we had a lovely holiday enjoyed the fantastic location, free dining experience and hotel pools, terraces and spa. Some elements of breakfast were poor with over cooked eggs, watered down juices and terrible coffee.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raskin72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We booked through Saga Holidays and were very impressed with the Fortina Spa Hotel not to be confused with the Fortina Hotel 4* although it was on the same complex. We were all inclusive and had free access to all 7 restaurants, which were essential to book 3 days in advance. We ate at 5 of the restaurants, missing the Chinese and Japanese only because we don't like that type of food
The quality of food and ambiance were both excellent. All served by friendly waiting staff, which made a big difference, food at La Vallette in the 4* was self service and there was quite a lot of queuing but the food was again excellent. We had a sea view room with large balcony and although next to the road didn't hear the traffic when balcony door was closed. Very comfortable bed and room service very good. Reception staff very helpful. If you wanted sun all day you had to go beyond the garden area, which was o.k. or to the lido at the 4*, which could be congested and noisy but a great sea view and nice bar. Entertainment in the Limes Bar was largely background piano playing but quite pleasant - more lively at the 4* cocktail lounge.Much cheaper to 'phone abroad using hotel 'phone or skype as wifi was free throughout. You can get around the island very cheaply using local buses but we used the included tours in our Saga package, which were very good but we didn't do the on off bus trips as there were huge queues for this and not worth it. The Spa facilities were very therapeutic and recommend you try them. We shall definitely be coming back to this hotel in the future. Malta itself has improved beyond recognition since we last visited in 2006 and the warm weather is virtually guaranteed at this time of year

Room Tip: Whether you have a garden view or sea view you won't be disappointed but if on higher floors yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The Fortina Spa resort (nominally 5 star) and the Fortina Hotel (4 Star) are next to each other and share many facilities - restaurants, pools, spa, garden. We stayed at the Fortina Spa. Reception and public areas are good, if not quite 5 star. Opened in 2008 the décor in these areas is clean and modern in style.
We can only speak for the room in which we stayed on the fifth floor. This was large, with lots of wardrobe and storage space. Air conditioning was good but only operates when all doors are closed. Everything was clean, spotless in fact, but showing signs of wear - the carpet was worn, upholstery was worn and slightly grubby, furniture had loose joints.
The bathroom was big, with a separate bath and shower, both efficient. Ample towels and bathrobes. Staff servicing the room were excellent - friendly, helpful and regular in their visits.
There are two lifts serving the upper floors and during the week that we were there at least one of them was out of operation at sometime during the day, this leading to long waits. On one occasion both lifts were out and the only alternative is to walk down (or up) five triple flights of marble stairs. Our guess is that not all of these stoppages were not due to engineering faults, but to the use of an override by staff. It was noticeable that most disruptions happened on days when time share salesmen were taking potential buyers to the top floors.
The hotel has seven restaurants, with different styles of cooking in each. There is a complicated pattern of which is open on what day and when, so it's probably worth asking reception for a printed list. All, with one exception, are good - good choice, well cooked, well presented by friendly and prompt stall. The exception was Table One, the Italian restaurant (not the pizzeria).
We were pushed to accept a booking at 6.30, when we wanted a later one and then had to wait in the street for 15 minutes before they opened the doors. We were on their all-inclusive deal (which is good value) but a group of us on the deal were shepherded into a separate, badly lit, annex room, and firmly pointed to the table d'hote menu. The deal allows a very full choice from the better a la carte menu. Mistake or deliberate? Hard to tell, but not good PR.
Breakfast was always in the Taste restaurant and a buffet, it was uniformly good, wide cholce, eggs, crepes and omelettes cooked to order, nice staff.
We usually ate outside in the garden for all meals, a very pleasant setting and the same good service.
Our major grouse would be with the description of our room as 'Sea view' when in fact it faced and was overlooked by a tall residential development leaving us a very limited view of the water to one side. The sea view rooms are directly above the entrance and exit ramps to the local shopping mall and the main road from Sliema to St Julians, heavily used by buses and cars and very noisy.

Room Tip: Go for a garden room if you want quietness or if you want a true sea view, at extra cost, you need t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortinaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Ron. M. ,

Thanks for your kind review and it's good to hear your overall experience was a positive one. Regarding your complaint about the lifts being stopped by Timeshare salesmen - I believe this is definitely not the case but we will certainly look into the matter.

Kind regards
Fortina Spa Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This was a nice hotel and the staff were really nice too. There were no children there when i was there so it had a very adult feel about the place. The resturants in the hotel itself were lovely the food was really top quality. Both my husband an i will be returning again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwicks
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We arrived at the hotel late in the evening 10th September after a 3 hour delay, with my parents, first impression of the hotel was very nice, reception staff that were on that particular evening could have made check in speedier and a lot easier. I had e-mailed the hotel 2 weeks prior to our arrival to request a room as close as possible to my parents (we were travelling with Saga) surley if you make a booking for 2 rooms they should at least try and keep them close together !!!!!! We were given our rooms 663 on the 6th floor for my parents and 336 on the 3rd floor for myself and husband, I spoke to reception who were so unhelpfull and explained I really needed to be close as my parents need help with mobility, that did not make the slightest bit of difference and was told bluntly nothing available, only for me to find out that a single gentleman travelling in the same group, arriving exactly the same day had been given the room next door to my parents !!!!! The food in the hotel could not be faulted (Rita made every meal special and service was great from her) the only issue with the dining was trying to establish what dining experience was open on any particular day,there is a great choice Indian/Chinese/Italian/Thai and the Taste, its just trying to work out what days and evening each one is closed, the choice of food was excellent !!!! We were advised by our rep to make the bookings at reception for lunch and dinner , well that was a taks in itself, twice i tried to make the reservations,I booked up the Indian for one evening and called at reception during the day to ask if I could change the reservation time, to find out the booking had not even been made, I had then left a sheet at reception to request different dining /times,, after the indian not being booked, i thought I should just double check that the tables had been reserved to find out Not One had been booked, so I had to sit at reception for 25 minutes to re book again !!!!! Reception staff just cannot be bothered !!!!!!!!! Just always double check your reservations . If you are travelling with Saga for 7 days be aware of the free excursions Hop on/ Hop off bus, everyone behaving like animals to find a seat so we decided to get a taxi back home after the first stop and also the Harbour Cruise excursion, either has no availabilty or you have to go through the process of shoving and pushing again, so again we didn't even bother , in my opinion not safe for elderly passengers , my parents were really shaken at these experiences . In my opinion they should just offer nothing because both of these are experiences you would rather forget !!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The down side of this hotel , is the reception staff / Cold swimming pool and entertainment.

Room Tip: 663 was a lvely double room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,350 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,841 reviews
0.5 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,897 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
9.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortina Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortina Spa Resort

Property: Fortina Spa Resort
Address: Tigne Seafront, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3012, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fortina Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central Sliema, adjoining Malta’s trendiest shopping complex (The Point) offering the largest choice of fashion & designer outlets, the Fortina Spa Resort is Malta’s newest 17 storey 5 star hotel. The resort faces south with magnificent views of Valletta’s bastion walls across the water and is home to the World’s 1st Therapeutic Spa bedrooms. It is the ideal hotel to indulge in a numerous variety of Spa treatments, excellent cuisines from around the world and one of the best locations on the island. Restaurants :- Taste Restaurant (Vietnamese & Mediterranean Cuisine)CanThai (Chinese & Thai Cuisine)Momo’s Ristorante Tigne (Italian & Mediterranean Cuisine)Il Giardino PizzeriaSaReGaMa (Authentic Indian Cuisine)Moroboshi (Japanese Cuisine)Bars Limes Bar (indoor)Island Bar (outdoors – weather permitting)Swimming Pools :-Outdoor Garden Pool and separate Splash Pool2 Indoor Swimming PoolsSpa Centres(see descriptions below)Thalasso Spa MediterraneeSpa Sante Belle Epoque Beauty CentreHypogeum Body, Mind & Spirit CentreOther facilities Conference facilities Fully Equipped Fitness Centre 24 hour room serviceAdded Value For All Our Guests :-Cruise of Malta’s Historical Grand HarbourUnlimited access to Fortina Fitness Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Fortina Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortina Hotel Sliema
Fortina Hotel Malta
Fortina Resort
Hotel Fortina
Fortina Spa Resort Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing