We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby building and service”
Review of Fortina Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fortina Spa Resort
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Norfolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shabby building and service”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife and I bought a timeshare of one week five years ago and have visibly noticed the standards being lowered.So far,only 1 lift worked with lots of people with walking sticks having to wait to be able to access Pool,Gardens or Restaurant's.With 16 floors having to rely on on 1lift tempers did get a little frayed at times. Fire Alarm going off 3 times in 2 days, once at 5.00 in the morning, No explanation given from staff as to reason why! Furniture in rooms dated with old fashioned TV's with dated tv channels. There is no way that this can carry a 5star rating in its present form. Maybe a four star would be nearer the truth. Come on Fortuna, wake up to what the tourist trade of today demands.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear NorfolkRobin,

Thank you for your posting. Please be assured that your comments have been passed onto all those concerned so that the appropriate action may be taken.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    400
    253
    119
    93
See reviews for
149
752
79
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at the Fortina Spa from 24th September to 1st October. We found the food in most of the Restaurants very good, as we were all inclusive we could choose from the a la carte menu, the only thing which I would like to say the Hotel has not enough dinning room staff, also they are not trained to a 5* standard, they were very friendly and helpful but very slow. We stayed on the 17th Floor our room was first class, the only problem was there were 2 Lifts but most of the time 1 Lift was not working.( a bit of a problem if the 2nd Lift was also not working and you would have to walk up 17 floors)
The Sun beds by the pool across the road should be changed or given a good clean as they were not very inviting, to lay on there was ingrained dirt on them

Room Tip: Make sure to take room from 6th floor up to get good sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine310846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Christine 310846,

Thank you for your posting. We would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused regarding the lift. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the problem with the lift. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auchtermuchty, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed in June 2013 and after a shaky start eventually enjoyed our holiday. We booked direct with the hotel and asked for tower view room on high floor. Really disappointed when on arrival we were shown to a low level room situated directly over a busy road and looking out onto the iron monstrosity of a bridge viewpoint. The room was dirty with dust everywhere and dirty glass marks on the tables and much smaller than I was lead to believe on the website. ' Don't bother unpacking' stated husband and disappeared down to reception. He returned with the customer services manager and we were shown two other rooms - a spa room and a spa room with private pool on the roof. No contest really and after some negotiation we upgraded to the room with the pool. From then on the holiday got better and better.
Food - Really enjoyed the wonderful food in all the restaurants bar the Indian which was a big disappointment. We were all inclusive and it was certainly worth it. Breakfast selection was extensive and the staff in Taste a delight. I think our favourite was the chinese - fantastic food and a huge selection. The only down side was having to book 3 days ahead with the 'charming' reception staff.
Our room was cleaned twice daily and we made use of the spa facilities -though we did have a bit of a fight to get serums supplied. Also had problems getting fridge refilled with water and soft drinks but eventually all went well.
Bars - very good service and husband ecstatic when Bombay sapphire Gin was served.
We did a couple of trips out - one to valetta - took the bus over and the ferry back - hate climbing hills!
We also took a catamaran trip but we personally found we spent too much time on the land - food was excellent though. Remember and take high factor sun lotion as there were a few lobsters returned.
I have heard that you either love Malta or you hate it. I wouldn't say I hated it but there are lots of other areas of the world to see that I think I would enjoy better.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Carole B,

Thank you for your posting. Please be advised that all your comments have been passed onto all those concerned for action to be taken accordingly.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The view to old city of Valletta is excellent, the free cruise in city's ports is also a good tip.

The common use saloons, bars, and lobby areas aren't proper. Inside the rooms air-conditioning was fine, clean and quiet.

Room Tip: good choices for food within hotel's restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NBX1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear NBX1964,

Thank you for your posting. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Malta. Your comments have been passed onto all those concerned.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We had a lovely time staying at the hotel,the room was adequate and the food was very good with good choices. The only thing that spoilt the holiday was the hotel rep offering us free trips under the guise of attending a look around the hotel five star spa hotel when they were actually trying to sell you a timeshare. I did not appreciate it and did complain to the person's involved.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank casbas54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear casbas54,

Thank you for your posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us despite a problem with the holiday ownership personnel. Please be advised that this is run but an outside company and that your comments have been passed onto them for the appropriate action to be taken.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here on our homeymoon in September for 3 nights. we were allocated a spa room which was lovely from the point of view of facilities. The room needed updating but was clean and comfortable. After already staying in two 5 Star hotels before this on the island I would have to comment on the customer service. The staff in the restaurant were friendly but the selection of food was very poor. I approached reception two mornings and ended up walking away when there were no staff to help with my query. I also tried to arrange a late checkout (1) I went to reception but was told to ring before 10.30am the next morning/departure date (2) The next morning I rang at 8.00am and was told that I'd have to ring back at 10.30am as the member of staff dealing with reservations wasnt there (3) I rang back at 10.30am and was told that it would not be possible to check out late. This was very frustrating as I'd made many efforts to enquire about this. But also for a 5 Star hotel not to make any options available to their guests, we were told we could use the pool and showers at the pool for the day. Personally I wouldnt be recommending this hotel to people as there are far superior hotels on the island where staff are more accommodating and have a higher standard of service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaryLou09-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear MaryLou09-2013,

Thank you for your posting. We are disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations. We apologise for not being able to sort out a late check-out for yourself and your partner.As you will appreciate, late check-outs can only be given when there are no guests waiting to check into the allocated guest room.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel is nearly excellent but not quite. It is strange mix of 5 star and 4 star. We were in 4 star and were very disappointed with our allocated room on arrival which smelt damp was on the 7th floor without a lift beyond the 6th floor. The room was no more than 3 star quality. However, after a disappointing start we complained and were moved to a room on the 3rd floor which was much more in keeping with a 4 star hotel. After this sticky start we had a lovely holiday enjoyed the fantastic location, free dining experience and hotel pools, terraces and spa. Some elements of breakfast were poor with over cooked eggs, watered down juices and terrible coffee.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raskin72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,427 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,965 reviews
0.5 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
1.7 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,960 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortina Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortina Spa Resort

Property: Fortina Spa Resort
Address: Tigne Seafront, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3012, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#3 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Fortina Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central Sliema, adjoining Malta’s trendiest shopping complex (The Point) offering the largest choice of fashion & designer outlets, the Fortina Spa Resort is Malta’s newest 17 storey 5 star hotel. The resort faces south with magnificent views of Valletta’s bastion walls across the water and is home to the World’s 1st Therapeutic Spa bedrooms. It is the ideal hotel to indulge in a numerous variety of Spa treatments, excellent cuisines from around the world and one of the best locations on the island. Restaurants :- Taste Restaurant (Vietnamese & Mediterranean Cuisine)CanThai (Chinese & Thai Cuisine)Momo’s Ristorante Tigne (Italian & Mediterranean Cuisine)Il Giardino PizzeriaSaReGaMa (Authentic Indian Cuisine)Moroboshi (Japanese Cuisine)Bars Limes Bar (indoor)Island Bar (outdoors – weather permitting)Swimming Pools :-Outdoor Garden Pool and separate Splash Pool2 Indoor Swimming PoolsSpa Centres(see descriptions below)Thalasso Spa MediterraneeSpa Sante Belle Epoque Beauty CentreHypogeum Body, Mind & Spirit CentreOther facilities Conference facilities Fully Equipped Fitness Centre 24 hour room serviceAdded Value For All Our Guests :-Cruise of Malta’s Historical Grand HarbourUnlimited access to Fortina Fitness Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Jet2Holidays , Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Fortina Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortina Hotel Sliema
Fortina Hotel Malta
Fortina Resort
Hotel Fortina
Fortina Spa Resort Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing