We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fortina Spa Resort
Nearby Hotels
The Palace(Sliema)
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Sliema Hotel(Sliema)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,435)
Filter reviews
1,435 results
Traveller rating
526
411
267
128
103
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
526
411
267
128
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate pooltower roomall inclusive packagesea viewisland barjapanese restaurantcocktail barreception staffla vallettechoice of restaurantsil giardinoterrace restaurantsa re ga majacuzzi bathdays in advanceshopping centrehalf board
Filter
Updating list...
605 - 610 of 1,435 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The Spa itself is very good, big lounges and well groomed, but the service is extremely poor. Entering the Spa, they barely lift up their heads from the pc or the magzines, they do not smile and they answer to questions like they're giving you a favour. No tour of the facilities was offered, no interest shown to the customer. Which kind of business they are expecting to have?? They have a great facility but they loose almost everything in delivering this miserable service.
I am wondering if there is someone in charge of the staff becuase they do not care at all about guests.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortinaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Nicole M,

Thank you for pointing these problems for our attention. We will forward these complaints to the relevant staff to look into the issue.

Kind regards
Fortina Spa Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

As first time (and only time) guests in this hotel we were astonished that such universally low standards could possibly satisfy even a 3 star rating, so a 5 star rating seems wholly unrealistic. Our rather shabby room accommodation was poorly serviced; we assume that staff are not allocated enough time to properly clean and prepare each room. Prior to arrival I had been looking forward to enjoying treatments in the spa but had a complete change of mind when observing the standard of the hotel.
To have a front/sea view overlooking Valletta was stunning but unfortunately so was the noise from the recently reconfigured road outside - we were on the 8th floor (17 floor property) but any guest room along the front would be blighted by this literally non stop roar of traffic, particularly created by frequent buses as they whoosh round the bend - some Spa Resort! The safe in the room did not work and neither did the telephone function properly. The television was ancient and offered few channels. Towels, flannels and robes looked off-white, exhausted and obviously need renewing.
Two lifts service this hotel and during our stay only one was working for most of the time; sometimes neither was working which is utterly ridiculous and especially so because a large number of the hotel guests were elderly. But in any case not many people are able to scamper up stairs to the 17th floor. The fire alarm going off three times (falsely) on one day did not contribute to an overall impression of efficiency.
Having paid £240 to "dine around" the various restaurants we really expected to be able to choose where and when we ate - alas we had to contend with closed restaurants, limited time slots, unfriendly and sometimes even rude service from the obviously harassed and woefully undertrained waiting staff. Sadly even the bar staff were underwhelmed at the prospect of serving customers and hospitality smiles were hard to come by.
Since we were at the Fortina Spa Resort as guests of friends, our ability to complain naturally was lessened. We recognise that no doubt many years ago this was one of the better hotels in Sliema, but today it would be notable as a classic example of a place in decline, where the rolling maintenance programme required in a busy hotel has been foolishly sacrificed for short-term profit and where a widespread absence of good organisation and staff training will almost certainly contribute to the failure of this business. We would certainly not consider returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank geraldine63_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortinaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear geraldine63_12,

We are very sorry to hear that you encountered a lot of unpleasant situations. I would recommend that you get in touch with us by using the contact form on the hotel website's 'contact us' page so we can reply to you in person.

Kind regards
Fortina Spa Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Visited this hotel for our weeks timeshare purchase.
In the six years we have visited. Nothing has been updated. The room is exactly how we purchased it. Quite old fashioned for a five star hotel.
Saying that the room we have, has a sea view and the outlook is very nice. Clean and comfortable.We had no bath robes no slippers this year and the replenishing of the room fridge only happened twice in the week.
The restaurants have plenty choice and we found the staff this year mostly from Hungary were very accommodating and friendly.
Our favorite restaurant this year was Table one outside the hotel, Victor and the other waiters (both Hungarian)were very efficient and service first class.
Indian restaurant had restricted al a carte for all inclusive food good but staff miserable and not at all welcoming or attentive.
The Can Thai is also very good excellent choice of food and staff very good.
Taste this year I have to say was not as good. Lots of staff but quite inexperienced. Breakfast definitely not five star. Chaotic to say the least.

All in all we had an excellent week with good company good food and good weather. We will be returning as we have an allocated week, but I think the management need to take notice of the guests comments and upgrade facilities to match other five star accommodation that is around.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Hilary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Hilary R,

Thank you for your review. All your comments have been passed onto all those concerned so that the appropriate action may be taken accordingly.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife and I bought a timeshare of one week five years ago and have visibly noticed the standards being lowered.So far,only 1 lift worked with lots of people with walking sticks having to wait to be able to access Pool,Gardens or Restaurant's.With 16 floors having to rely on on 1lift tempers did get a little frayed at times. Fire Alarm going off 3 times in 2 days, once at 5.00 in the morning, No explanation given from staff as to reason why! Furniture in rooms dated with old fashioned TV's with dated tv channels. There is no way that this can carry a 5star rating in its present form. Maybe a four star would be nearer the truth. Come on Fortuna, wake up to what the tourist trade of today demands.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear NorfolkRobin,

Thank you for your posting. Please be assured that your comments have been passed onto all those concerned so that the appropriate action may be taken.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at the Fortina Spa from 24th September to 1st October. We found the food in most of the Restaurants very good, as we were all inclusive we could choose from the a la carte menu, the only thing which I would like to say the Hotel has not enough dinning room staff, also they are not trained to a 5* standard, they were very friendly and helpful but very slow. We stayed on the 17th Floor our room was first class, the only problem was there were 2 Lifts but most of the time 1 Lift was not working.( a bit of a problem if the 2nd Lift was also not working and you would have to walk up 17 floors)
The Sun beds by the pool across the road should be changed or given a good clean as they were not very inviting, to lay on there was ingrained dirt on them

Room Tip: Make sure to take room from 6th floor up to get good sea view
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine310846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Christine 310846,

Thank you for your posting. We would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused regarding the lift. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the problem with the lift. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews