We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just has that little bit extra”
Review of Fortina Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fortina Spa Resort
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Had purchased a great gift package which consisted of spending the day at the spa with lunch and a massage included for me and my girlfriend. The people were very nice and polite and luckily there weren't many people in the spa so you felt secluded. There were so many different things to do at the spa, I was impressed. Even the jacuzzi was bigger than any other I have been in.

We didn't order any fancy food but it was very delicious but luckily I had small change on me because the drinks were not included in the package which I had purchased and I was not told

The massage was very very relaxing with relaxing music in the background.We both had a massage at the same time in the same room.

Only thing that bothered me was before we had to end the day we decided to stay in the jacuzzi again and for the first 5 mins we were alone but then another couple got in with us. Nothing bad there but once they got comfortable they got very physical with each other, the girl even removed her bikini top. I found it very disrespectful. I mean the jacuzzi is that big that they couldn't see the opposite side were we where but thankful it was big enough to ignore them and me and my girlfriend stay talking.

I would recommend this place very very much for the spa to go with a love one. But do your research and try find a day when there will be less people.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Adrian S,

Thank you for your posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience in our Spa and enjoyed dining in our Restaurant. We would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused by the other couple in the Jacuzzi. All clients are requested to wear bathing suits when making use of the Spa Santé.

We hope to welcome you back to the Fortina in the near future.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

597 - 603 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed all inclusive in the 5 star spa. Our room was tired as were most of the public spaces, and the umbrellas and cushions around the pool which has a view to die for of Valetta were really only fit to be put in a dustbin. We had a choice of6/7 restaurants to eat in in the evening, but you had to book 3 days in advance and the most popular ones were almost impossible to get unless you were prepared to eat early or late. I think more expensive rooms were being given priority. The situation of the hotel is perfect, with easy access by ferry or boat to Valletta and the whole island. There is also a large shopping mall just around the corner. The average age of the guests was well over 60, but this may be because it was October.
I am not sure if I would stay here again or not.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marion A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Marion A,

Thank you for your posting. Please be assured that your comments have been passed onto all those concerned for action to be taken accordingly.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed for a week at the 5 star Fortina Spa Resort. It might state it is 5 star but it felt more like 3-4. It looks like an apartment block from the outside and the reception area is far from grand. The public facilities are OK but nothing special. There were 2 lifts but one rarely worked and kept breaking down, I was in it once when this happened. A member of staff was prising the door open with her fingers! The other lift was slow and considering there were 17 floors and several elderly people, this caused quite a lot of problems. The pool area is nice but the sun never shone on the pool at any time of the day because of the high rise part of the hotel keeping it in shade. So we did not want to swim there as it would have been too chilly. We were allowed access to the pool in the 4 star hotel (again only warranted a 3 star rating) but it was down the street so we could hardly walk there in a sarong or bath robe! However on the last day (after asking at the 4 star) we discovered there was a way through via the gardens. The staff in the 5 star did not tell us about this when we asked them. The pool at the 4 star had nice views and was in the sun, just not very convenient. It was also rather tatty with grubby mattresses on the loungers. In the afternoons it was brilliant sunshine and hot on the harbour front but on our balcony and by the pool it seemed miserable and overcast. The gym in the 4 star was reasonable but the weight lifting equipment was outdated and very old/rusty and wobbled quite a bit.

The room we had was very nice and huge. It had a spa behind the bed with a very nice balcony overlooking the pool. The bathroom was enormous with good facilities and 2 wash basins. The shower was very powerful but using the sprays in the walls caused a leak on the bathroom floor. Housekeeping service was variable from very good to poor. One day our bin was not emptied, others we did not receive flannels due to a problem in the laundry. Toiletries were topped up on an ad hoc basis but it said in the room information that they would only be replaced if the empty ones were left out to prove we had used them. I have never ever seen that policy before, especially in a supposed 5 star hotel!

I would not go back or recommend it.

The hotel restaurants were all very good for evening meals. We ate at CanThai, Table 1, Il Giardino and Taste and had 25% off the food bills. The food was excellent but service was again variable and often slow. The restaurant at the 4 star was very nice too but no discount there, despite the hotels being linked. Breakfast was served in Taste and was very poor. The selection of fruit was very limited, the toast machine was antiquated and the whole room looked like a canteen. The cooked breakfast was a bit greasy and the cook to order omelettes were variable.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Hevsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Hevsy,

Thank you for sharing your review on this page. We are disappointed to read your review and would like to assure you that your comments have been passed onto all those concerned for immediate action.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

lovely hotel but when I was there it looked like a old peoples home ,the hotel has a great position on sea front. rooms are large and cleaned twice a day. Staff all very nice. no atmosphere would not advise young people to stay. I went into town five mins down road. . you have to book tables for restaurants at hotel, I ate in town lot cheaper and lots of younger people around. and great value

Room Tip: stay in the spa hotel not the old hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trevor m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear trevor m,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us at the Fortina Spa Resort on this website. We are happy to hear that you found our resort to be satisfactory aside from the age group of other guests.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This was a timeshare exchange but the resort is open to all.
It is based at Sliema just opposite Valletta, the capital of Malta.and despite being 17 stories high, it is a superlative hotel and definitely worth its 5 stars.
Check in was fast and efficient and our room was truly fantastic. It was on the 10th floor with a view to die for;it overlooked Valletta across the water. Both the daytime and the nighttime views were outstanding. The room was double the normal size for a hotel room, a massive bed and a proper balcony with two sun-loungers and two chairs fitting nicely. The bathroom featured a bath and a shower separately and again was massive. TV mini-bar and free wi-fi (which worked well) plus a fully functional air-con system (rare in such hotels and especially in Malta.).

Breakfast, which was included, had a good choice and was of a good quality.
The room was thoroughly cleaned daily and all the staff were pleasant and cheerful with a good manner.

Its location was ideal; a large array of restaurants were within 100 metres and a bus stop was within 10 metres covering Valletta and some of the other locations. Within 50 metres there was a shopping centre with a supermarket.

I really can't fault this resort which also caters for a full range of spa and dental treatments which we did not use. It also has a pool area across the road with yet another restaurant to add to the many on site already.

Room Tip: best view is that of Valletta if possible but garden view is not bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ronn52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear ronn52,

Thank you for your posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Fortina Spa Resort and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We were a party of 4 looking to relax. The Spa satisfied all our needs. The apartment was cleaned every day, beds turned down, bathrooms spotless and well stocked with soaps, shampoo etc.
the view is spectacular.
There is now a small taxi rank opposite the hotel, and there is also a bus service. Very convenient for Valeta.
The food could not be faulted in the three restaurants we ate in, staff friendly and good service.
We were all impressed by the Chinese /Thai restaurant.
Now looking to purchase an additional week.
A very enjoyable week.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnHall_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear JohnHall_12,

Thank you for your posting. We are delighted to here that you and others in your party enjoyed your stay at the Fortina Spa Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We just returned from a week here which was our honeymoon. We won the week in a competition so possibly had a more relaxed attitude to any small issues. We read plenty of reviews on here so made sure we booked our evening meals 2 days in advance and although we had to change a couple of bookings due to a restaurant being full we ate at 5 different restaurants. We found the quality of the food good in all of them and sat outside when possible. The choice at breakfast was what you'd expect, we liked it. Slightly surprised to see quite a few people having a glass of prosecco and/or bloody mary with their breakfast but each to their own:). We were pleased with our garden view spa room as we hadn't expected this. We can understand some comments regarding areas of the hotel being dated but we had a really lovely week, got looked after by the staff.( others have mentioned Rita, she is lovely). Luckily we had lovely weather all week. We went on a couple of trips and really enjoyed our first visit to Malta. The only negative I'd raise is being bothered to attend a time share presentation but overall we loved our week there.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are great but also overlook a noisy road, garden rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank partlydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear partlydave,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on this website. We'd like to congratulate you on your wedding and would also like to thank you for the special mention of Rita in Taste Restaurant. Your comments have been passed onto all those concerned. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,624 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
4,280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#6 of 28 in Sliema
2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 28 in Sliema
1,312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
9.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortina Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortina Spa Resort

Address: Tigne Seafront, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3012, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#5 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £27 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fortina Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central Sliema, adjoining Malta’s trendiest shopping complex (The Point) offering the largest choice of fashion & designer outlets, the Fortina Spa Resort is Malta’s newest 17 storey 5 star hotel. The resort faces south with magnificent views of Valletta’s bastion walls across the water and is home to the World’s 1st Therapeutic Spa bedrooms. It is the ideal hotel to indulge in a numerous variety of Spa treatments, excellent cuisines from around the world and one of the best locations on the island. Restaurants :- Taste Restaurant (Vietnamese & Mediterranean Cuisine)CanThai (Chinese & Thai Cuisine)Momo’s Ristorante Tigne (Italian & Mediterranean Cuisine)Il Giardino PizzeriaSaReGaMa (Authentic Indian Cuisine)Moroboshi (Japanese Cuisine)Bars Limes Bar (indoor)Island Bar (outdoors – weather permitting)Swimming Pools :-Outdoor Garden Pool and separate Splash Pool2 Indoor Swimming PoolsSpa Centres(see descriptions below)Thalasso Spa MediterraneeSpa Sante Belle Epoque Beauty CentreHypogeum Body, Mind & Spirit CentreOther facilities Conference facilities Fully Equipped Fitness Centre 24 hour room serviceAdded Value For All Our Guests :-Cruise of Malta’s Historical Grand HarbourUnlimited access to Fortina Fitness Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Stayforlong S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fortina Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortina Hotel Sliema
Fortina Hotel Malta
Fortina Resort
Hotel Fortina
Fortina Spa Resort Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing