We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a real 5 Star hotel!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Fortina Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fortina Spa Resort
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not a real 5 Star hotel!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We joined our parents on holiday who were staying in the sister 4 * Fortina. We decided to stay in the 5* Fortina Spa resort. Both hotels failed to live up to their ratings and are overdue a refurb, although the spa hotel is definitely the better hotel. All the facilities and restaurants are shared. Was a shame that the spa and pool is mainly accessible via the Fortina hotel.
Gym - equipment dated and not working properly, although kept clean.
Outside pool - terrible! Dirty beds, dirty cushions for the beds, floor area well in need of repair and paint, pools freezing cold.
Inside pool area - dirty, although looks like not used at this time of year. Hope they clean away the miss and dirt ready for the summer visitors!
Restaurants - adequate, but average. Beware in Fortina main restaurant price for food varies although I am sure it shouldn't.
Staff in Limes bar - excellent, friendly and attentive.
Staff in breakfast area - friendly, especially the lady who front of house. Nice to have eggs cooked freshly to order.
Room - nice, but more 4 star than 5 star. Room smelt of cigarettes, but was non smoking room.
Towels - LOL! Must be using the same towels as when the hotel first opened. Small, hard and old.
The pool area towels - in red colour, also very small and old.
Beware - photographs on the hotel web site are definitely not current!

Room Tip: Garden view Corner room very dark. Sea view noisy due to traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 07Jac14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear 07Jac14,

Thank you for your posting. We are disappointed to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that your comments have been well noted and passed onto all those concerned for immediate action.

Kind regards,
Fortina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    388
    235
    109
    89
See reviews for
144
716
77
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

One night, two people, half board, Spa and pool use included, free parking. All for 90.00euros.
One piece of advice. Unload luggage at the main entrance as the parking is a walk from the hotel.
Dinner and breakfast buffet excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crazylimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Crazylimey,

Thank you for your lovely posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Fortina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qormi, Malta
Level Contributor
149 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

I went with some girlfriends for a day at the Fortina Spa and I must say I was very surprised. The atmosphere of the spa was very relaxing and reflected a high degree of thought with regards to layout and decor. The spa offers various services apart from a heated pool and very nice jakuzzi, like a steam room, a roman/greek decorated sauna, a laconium, an aqua meditation room, a relaxation area with stone-heated deckchairs, etc, however, in almost every room, there was hardly any maintenance. What I mean by this is, even though everything was clean and nice and worked perfectly, in almost every room the celeings were old and peeling, including in the changing rooms. The pool area was a disaster, in that first of all the celeing was a mess, it was not in with the resort of the spa's decor, as instead of being roman/greek, it was just plain and tacky, and the worst thing is, there was rain coming down from the skylight over the pool! (it was raining on the day). Therefore the filthy rain water was coming over our heads and into the middle of the pool - and this was totally unacceptable, not to mention unhygenic.

Apart from that, the staff were very helpfu. We were given clean (thou obviously used and kinda frayed) bathrobes, towels and indoor shoes, and the warmth and lightening of the place was really nice. However it was really REALLY marred by all the things listed above.

All in all it was passable, but I expected much better from such a hotel as Fortina.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M_Moonsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear M_Moonsong,

Thank you for your posting. We would like to apologise for any inconveniences caused. Please be assured that your comments have been passed onto all those concerned so the appropriate action can be taken accordingly.

Kind regards,
Fortina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Spent 14 nights on a Saga holiday during January, The Hotel is classy, our good size room had not yet been upgraded. The Wi-Fi in the room was variable, as was the quality of the towels. At this time of year it is a must to have a sea view ( the higher the better) as you get the sun from morning till sun set, as we did for most of our stay. There is always something to watch from the large balcony, the road below is noisy, but we found with the balcony doors shut it was acceptable.
All the staff were excellent especially the restaurant staff, it was nice to see the General Manager walking about and taking an interest in his guests.
For us the location was ideal, on a level promenade, close to buses, tour buses, harbour boats and the ferry to Valletta. The promenade was well served for bars , restaurants and shops. At the rear of the hotel is a large modern shopping mall (many international brands including Debenhams and M & S) and public car park.
We were on all inclusive and made use of all the different restaurants on site, (it is worth booking at least 2 days ahead.) We had our favourite, but all were excellent.
We hired a car from the Airport for 14 days, in hind sight this was not necessary, as the local drivers must be among the worst we have encountered and the road signs are small and badly sighted . It is also impossible to park near the hotel and in the larger towns. We used the car park in the shopping mall where hotel guests get a discount (ask at reception), this cost almost as much as the car hire

Room Tip: The higher the better, a sea view is a must in the winter as it get the sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MalcolmandJudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear MalcolmandJudith,

Thank you for your lovely posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Fortina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I have reviewed the Fortina, both 4 and 5 star before, and this was a return trip, which tells you a lot. I actually tried to get into the Phoenicia, but it was not available, and was very much more expensive. As previously stated, the Fortina 5* is not five star by international standards. It lacks porter service, there is no room service, and there is only one bar. However the rooms were better than the Phonecia (we went in and had a look), and if you go for a sea view, it is almost addictive to look at the Valetta skyline at all times of day and night. There have been a number of changes since our visit a year ago. All inclusive guests can now eat and drink in the 4* where the entertainment is a bit more lively (not that that is saying much for the middle of the road musicians and singers). The Indian restaurant and Japanese are now independent of the hotel, and only admit a limited number of AI guests each day. They seemed particularly inhospitable and on two occasions turned away hotel guests without reservations despite the restaurants being empty.
We booked through Spa Travel, their internal agent, who gave a better price than most of the tour books, and arranged everything. We wanted to fly from LHR on air malta, and that was arranged. There was a dedicated pick up at the airport, so no meandering around other hotels.
Again, we booked in as all inclusive, which cannot be done through some of the tour companies, and the ability to order a drink or coffee any time without thinking about it, is worth having. There is also an included minibar in the room, but it does not include spirits as far as we can work out.
The big deal with the all inclusive is the ability to dine around. I have previously commented on the fact that we did not like the Italian, and we did not use it this time. The star in the crown is the Taste (Mediterranean and Vietnamese) restaurant, which is exclusive to the five star and paying only guests. The food is superb and that staff very friendly. There is a shortish menu, but there are daily specials and a fish choice. Their choice of desert is limited, and if you go there more than four times, you have run out of choice. My second choice is the Chinese, which is some of the highest quality chinese and thai food around. If you a a paying guest, these restaurants can be expensive, and I would estimate that a meal in these two places including drink would leave little change out of 80euros per couple.
Another change that has happened is that Momo's that was the Tigne Brasserie has now re-emerged as the Table 1. The menu is pretty similar, and the staff appear to be the same, but the quality of what was served was better. If you go there, do not allow yourself to be seated in the upstairs area, which is dull and soulless and largely ignored by the waiters. We ordered the excellent sea food soup. We waited, heard a crash, and then waited even longer. The waiter admitted he had dropped the plates. Deserts in all the restaurants are not their strong point, and depend highly on bought-in gateaux.
In the post christmas period, the hotel is a little quieter. I don't know what the occupancy was, but it went up at weekends with local Maltese and Italians coming in for the weekend. Perhaps for this reason, the functioning seemed a little smoother than last year, but it is still sometimes difficult to get the attention of the reception staff who spend a lot of time on the telephone.
Rooms are big, and we were on the 4th floor. This is a good compromise, but the view is slightly obscured by the pier coming out of the shopping center, which sticks out over the Sliema Creek. As there had been a power failure in Malta (the whole island) immediately before our arrival, we did not ask for a higher floor, as that might have been pushing our luck.
I like to swim, and the swimming pool was somewhat overtaken by local families with children. For three of our ten days, the pool was close for maintenance. Contrary to views of others, I am underwhelmed by the Spa Sante, as I have probably had the benefit of better places in the UK e.g. Ragdale hall. It is just basically a bit boring.
For those planning a visit to Malta in early 2014, be aware that the bus system has gone into meltdown. Arriva who were running the bus service until just before Xmas have pulled out and the government is running an interim service. The service is a bit erratic and some of the buses have physically disappeared to be replaced by poorly signed minibuses. A trip from Sliema to Haggar Quim can now take up to 2.5 hours and require three different buses. However the price of tickets has gone down to the residents' level and a 7 day past cost 6.5 Euros. As other writers have suggested, take your own ticket wallet.
Other good points include a comprehensive wi fi coverage at decent speeds, decent bathrooms with hot water and toiletries.
What could do with improvement is the television service. They are still using antiquated box style t.v.'s and very few channels work properly. Sky news has no sound, and this is an ongoing problem. I also think the rooms are poorly lit, and reading at night is an issue - take an ipad or something illuminated.
I will probably go back again, as the value for money is excellent.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view probably on the 6th floor or higher. See if you can get an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mgoldman666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear mgoldman666,

Thank you for your posting. Please be assured that all your comments have been passed onto all those concerned.

Kind regards,
Fortina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 5 weeks 28/11/13 to 02/01/14 single female aged 50 half board basis room 611 seaview which was worth the supplement maid service good, nothing was too much trouble. Firstly the food was fab if you like to have a really good gut bash this hotel is for you, the choice and quality was excellent and over xmas the chef's really did pull out all of the stops for the guests. the dine around is a great idea you have a choice all venues gave great service. The gym was great had good facilities which I used alot the spa also excellent yes in some places the hotel did look a tad tatty and could do with a lick of paint, whilst there they were also upgrading or renewing different parts of the hotel, but this was not a problem, it was only a problem if you made it a problem some people were moaning constantly. Advise pay extra for a seaview in the winter months as the inland/garden views room are a tad dark and the view is nish however if you are out and about this will not be a problem. Floors 6 and 7 give great views room 612 was even better than mine both has baths which I found I needed after exploring the island and after the gym. As for the timeshare men Alan was great no pushy timeshare crap, however Naldo (I think that was his name?) he was a nuisance at first however after five weeks he became less of a pain, take him with a pinch of salt he is only doing his job, be firm and tell him NO THANKYOU. Weekly bus passes 12 euros buy a multipass on line before you go to see all the famous sights for 35 euros yes 35 euros!. There are 22 sights to see and their entrance fee starts from 10 - 25 euros each apart from the Hypogeum which is 35 euros on its own again buy on line before you go print the ticket off and please make sure you laminate the mutlipass as it does get a tad tatty. Take a bus pass holder or something to keep it in as it is a normal bus ticket, plus it will be easy for you to find when you are popping on and off the great bus services and great value for the money. Do not use the white taxi's there are local companies who are cheaper and give you the exact price printed on there cards. The Black Cab Company. Remember to take a good brolly the ones in Malta are useless it gets very windy and when it rains it pours down and if you are out in it you get soaked. However the downpours do not last for long the weather changes very quickly however not cold. I took to many socks and warm clothes...... Enjoy Malta I did so much so I have just booked again for 8 weeks this time Dec 14 to Jan 15.

Room Tip: Sea view top floors room 611 has windows from floor to ceiling I woke up to a fab view of the bay an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gogetter50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear gogetter50,

Thank you for your lovely posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Malta and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Fortina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

I loved my stay in Malta at the Fortina i was by myself half of the trip and the staff would help me alot, with tours info and anything that i needed.. . They had indian night that week and the food was amazing!!.. The location is also perfect ( in the main street) you can walk anywhere of take the bus .. the bar ( the terrace) have the most amazing view ive ever seen!! !.. Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Jimmex,

Thank you for your lovely posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Fortina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 14 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortina Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortina Spa Resort

Property: Fortina Spa Resort
Address: Tigne Seafront, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3012, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#2 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fortina Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central Sliema, adjoining Malta’s trendiest shopping complex (The Point) offering the largest choice of fashion & designer outlets, the Fortina Spa Resort is Malta’s newest 17 storey 5 star hotel. The resort faces south with magnificent views of Valletta’s bastion walls across the water and is home to the World’s 1st Therapeutic Spa bedrooms. It is the ideal hotel to indulge in a numerous variety of Spa treatments, excellent cuisines from around the world and one of the best locations on the island. Restaurants :- Taste Restaurant (Vietnamese & Mediterranean Cuisine)CanThai (Chinese & Thai Cuisine)Momo’s Ristorante Tigne (Italian & Mediterranean Cuisine)Il Giardino PizzeriaSaReGaMa (Authentic Indian Cuisine)Moroboshi (Japanese Cuisine)Bars Limes Bar (indoor)Island Bar (outdoors – weather permitting)Swimming Pools :-Outdoor Garden Pool and separate Splash Pool2 Indoor Swimming PoolsSpa Centres(see descriptions below)Thalasso Spa MediterraneeSpa Sante Belle Epoque Beauty CentreHypogeum Body, Mind & Spirit CentreOther facilities Conference facilities Fully Equipped Fitness Centre 24 hour room serviceAdded Value For All Our Guests :-Cruise of Malta’s Historical Grand HarbourUnlimited access to Fortina Fitness Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Fortina Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortina Hotel Sliema
Fortina Hotel Malta
Fortina Resort
Hotel Fortina
Fortina Spa Resort Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing