We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fortina Spa Resort
Nearby Hotels
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel(Sliema)(Great Value!)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$135
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Palace(Sliema)
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$232
US$222
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$335
US$319
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$169
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Sliema Hotel(Sliema)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,433)
Filter reviews
1,433 results
Traveller rating
526
409
267
128
103
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
526
409
267
128
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate pooltower roomall inclusive packagesea viewisland barjapanese restaurantcocktail barreception staffla vallettechoice of restaurantsil giardinoterrace restaurantsa re ga majacuzzi bathdays in advanceshopping centrehalf board
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
551 - 556 of 1,433 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Fortina Spa Resort seems to be everything that a five star hotel should be, however after a short stay there I no longer think it should be five star. On our arrival the receptionist put us into a wrong room with a garden view even though we've changed our room to sea view. She did eventually believe us and put us into a sea view room (sea was view able but only just). Few things weren't working or were broken in the room (hair dryer, bathroom door did not close and not all plugs worked). These weren't major issues but should have been sorted before getting customers into the room.
Another disappointment was when we had to leave for an excursion early in the morning and asked for slightly earlier breakfast and got a firm no from another receptionist lady. On the other hand once we did manage to get breakfast, they were brilliant!!!!!
It's also advisable to book well ahead if you want to try any of the hotel's restaurants.
Good hotel but they really must iron out all the little things that spoil the stay.

Room Tip: always go for sea view
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZuzkaMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Zuzkamat,

Thank you for your posting. Kindly be assured that your comments have been well noted and passed onto all those concerned so the appropriate action can be taken accordingly.

Kind regards,
Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed at the Fortina Spa Resort following a couple of issues at the next door Fortina Hotel. We arrive quite late on a Thursday night without knowing how long we could stay there. We did however speak to the reception on our second day who kindly sorted out our room the we would stay in for the next 4 nights. We stayed in a Spa room which was as expected a very plush slice of luxury. The room included a very large double bed, a Jacuzzi, Steam shower, Massage bath and a dermalife machine. There were also a number of treatments you could use including seaweed gels and mud packs. We had a lot of wardrobe space and an in room safe. As we were due to stay in the Fortina Hotel we used the Vallette restaurant for our breakfast for our first 4 days. However, we were lucky to use the Taste Restaurant for our last morning. The service here was exceptional and the choice of food and drink was excellent, which included champagne with your breakfast if you so wished.

We were very lucky to be allocated the room we did and we must thank the reception staff at bothe the hotel and the Spa resort for making our stay as nice as it was despite the initial problems. The only issue we had was we were asked to pay an outstanding mini bar bill, which we did not use as they are usually too expensive. As there was no list of items or prices we had no intentions of using this one, so be careful not to be charged.

Room Tip: If you can afford a Spa room, go for it, they are well worth it.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John_M1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear John_M1962,

Thank you for your lovely posting. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay despite some initial problems. We would again like to apologise for the inconvenience caused.

We do hope to welcome you back to the Fortina Spa Resort in the near future.

Kind regards,
Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Can honestly say that this is one of the best Hotels I've every visited. Spent 2 nights in an amazing Spa Room which offered us access to our own private jacuzzi behind our large bed, a bathroom with spa facilities including a sauna, dermalife and a beautiful bath. Service was absolutely excellent and they made sure that everything was perfect for us.

Keep up the good work! :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 275Lovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear 275Lovesfood,

Thank you for your posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We booked a weeks holiday at the 4* and found on our arrival that we had been upgraded to the five star next door. As we only had 1 week I cannot comment on a lot of the facilities. Our room was on the 5th floor overlooking the garden, lovely in the hot summer but in the winter no sun on our large balcony. No complaints except we had an over bath shower which was difficult for my 6'4" husband to use. If we had had a longer stay I would have tried to get a better shower. The hotel is lovely once you have found out how to negotiate the lifts to use the restaurants next door.
We LOVED the Table 1, and the Buffet restaurant. Food was of an excellent quality, staff are lovely. Both hotels were kept very clean inside and out. Location superb as quoted in previous postings. We found a few evenings with some entertainment, loved that some locals came in to have a dance in the 4* cocktail bar. Not sure if this is only in the low season but they are really nice people. Although we are retired ourselves, the hotel did have a lot of elderly people staying, again this could be because of the season? Very quiet at night. Breakfast was the same every day, a big choice of full English (the fried bread was to die for) continental and the usual cereals, breads etc. All well cooked and presented. If you want a quiet hotel in a good location I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. We were so lucky paying for the 4* de-luxe room and then going into the 5*, although not seeing any rooms in the 4* it is difficult for me to compare. We booked with Mercury Direct on the dine around package and have been very satisfied with everything from the transfers from the airport to the outings we booked.
One point: the cocktails and drinks are cheaper in the 4*

Room Tip: Winter a sea view would be better, in the summer a garden view would be cooler.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barneysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear barneysmum,

Thank you for your posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here for a week on a family holiday and found it to be a pretty good hotel. It's in a good location in Sliema and is close to the bus routes and ferry to Valetta.
The rooms have air con but this wasn't working in any room whilst we were there but assume that's because it was winter season. Our room had a nice bathroom with lots of hot water, a mini bar, iron, room safe and plenty of hanging space. Bed was huge and comfy.
You have a choice of harbour view or garden view rooms - harbour view rooms do have a nice view but are on the side next to a major road which does get noisy whilst the garden view rooms overlook the inner courtyard but are quieter.
Breakfast is served in the Taste restaurant and is a good mix of hot and cold food buffet style but with a chef to do eggs etc. Staff are all very nice and friendly - they couldn't do enough for us.
There appears to be some form on entertainment in the bar every evening which seems to consist of somebody playing the guitar or keyboard. Easy listening music I'd say for style.
If we stayed again I'd get a garden view room as the road noise from the 2nd floor was noticeable.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are quieter
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear AndrewJ25,

Thank you for your posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews