We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay”
Review of Fortina Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fortina Spa Resort
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Second stay”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Second stay at the hotel. This time with a group of friends. The hotel is in a great location and has a wonderful view of Valetta. The rooms are lovely and spacious. The resort acts as a hotel as well as offering time share accommodation and this does seem to cause some problems with room allocation. Room allocation on arrival took longer than any other hotel I've stayed at and that is usual according to other guests.
The domestic staff are excellent as are the staff in Taste, especially Rita who is a treasure.
The restaurants are alright but I wouldn't recommend the Japanese as the menu is limited and, if you aren't on half board, over priced. As noted in earlier reviews the reception staff are variable and some customer service training would be helpful for them.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 758angieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear 758angieb,

Thank you for your posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Your comments have been passed onto all those concerned.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    400
    253
    119
    93
See reviews for
149
752
79
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Had a couple of nice holidays here - stayed the first time in the 5 star overlooking beautiful harbour - the other time we opted for a spa room
with a private pool - it was the room dedicated to Wendy Richards and what a fabulous holiday it was apart from the weather - but it was in April 2013 - so I suppose it was to be expected!Shame though as it was a bit too chilly to go in the pool.Lovely hotel and would definately return .

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Gaynor M,

Thank you for your lovely posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel isn't a 5 star but a good 4 star, clean, food is good, staff were really nice and it's the best location for everywhere you will want to see ,100 mtr to bus stop and they go to all attractions on this island and there is a new shopping mall and of course the town of Sliema, the view of Valletta lite up night is fantastic, the only down side is restaurants you have to book (if you don't want to eat buffet style )at the chinese the plates were all cracked and chipped witch i did find unacceptable ,We will use this hotel again we stayed half board but if you want you can have other choices and tea making in you room and robes face cloths and slippers are nice touches but then you have paid for it we have stayed in the 4 star also and found there wasn't much difference at all and you still only have the same restaurants for both 4 and 5 star they are not miles apart in quality at all but if you intend to be out all day stay 4 star you don't want to go to malta and lay around all day you will be missing so much, history buffs paradise !!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anncoco223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear ANN L,

thank you for your posting. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please be assured that your comments have been well-noted and passed onto all those concerned for immediate action.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We like Malta, we have been back five times--this was the best location - a good stroll down to the Sleims- Valetta Ferry, little mini Bus up to centre of Valetta! Now to the review!
What an efficient comfortable hotel ! Yes there were some glitches, the lifts were somewhat prone to requiring TLC and the Fire suffered by the Indian Restaurant showed that the Hotels Fire proceedures were somewhat erratic. But the staff worked like trojans and got a pretty good head count done. The Malta fire service were Wow-- so many -- so efficient! The duty (maybe full) manageress,( a lovely girl from Manchester ) ran this crises , as she did every thing else, efficiently, with humour She was a professional !

There were 7 restaurants, two were rubbish, the Japanese and the Italian (never mind the quality see the size of the ucky Pizza!) We were told that the Chefs had left suddenly!, the Chinese we did not manage to get into -- booked for both lunch and dinner. Table 1 was very good--however the very efficient head waiter made me feel like I had gone into "Simpsons in the Strand" or the Members Pavilion at Lords without a Tie! Things I did in my Youth! He also was a little naughty with his pricing! Food was very good- he spoiled my eveningg.
Taste was very good, I intend to give a seperate report on this. La Valette was open to us being the main buffet restaurant of the sister hotel next door-we did not try it! Wine in the restaurants was rubbish, but in the Hotel bars excellent--I am looking for the Chilian Merlot as I write!

Having looked at your reviews--there appears to be a mix up the Fortina Spa our hotel which is next to the fortina hotel --they are miles apart in quality! Some of your reviews are of the Fortina not the Spar Resort

In the room coffee machine(very very good) usual kettle, fridge and large TV good bathroom with seperate toilet & bidet plus large shower and spa bath! Balcony with two sun beds.

Room Tip: Do not get a sea view--go for one overlooking the Pool, preferably low down--our third floor corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alan1142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear alan1142,

Thank you for your lovely posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us despite a few hitches. We would like to assure you that your comments have been passed onto all those concerned for immediate action.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Oh dear, this is our second visit to the Fortina 5 star, our first visit was two years ago. We have noticed a step down in a number of aspects at the hotel, in particular the choice of restaurants, menu’s at the restaurants and many other little things that can only be classed as petty (ie paying 95c for a bottle of tonic when you are all Inclusive).

For some reason this year a restaurant booking curfew has been introduced, which means you can’t book the restaurants more than two days ahead. Basically if you forget to book or accidently lay in bed (well you are on your holidays) it is very unlikely you will be able to dine in the restaurant of your choice. Even though there sounds an impressive six restaurants at the hotel, at least 50% of them are franchised out and therefore only have a limited number of places available for hotel guests. At some of these there is even a very reduced menu for hotel guests consisting of a few lines on a plain A4 piece of paper!

Don’t get me wrong overall the hotel has many good points, but when you are paying 5* all inclusive prices you don’t expect the hassle, frustrations and arguments to get in a restaurant! We approached the manager and assistant manager on a number of occasions but their hands are tied by the owners with these petty rules.

I think the owners need a dose of reality with these churlish rules, whilst there are a number of Timeshare owners at the hotel who don’t have a choice but to accept these restrictions, people that pay £3000+ for a hassle free holiday do have a choice. It’s unfortunate that this needs to be pointed out as it clearly shows the arrogance and disconnection of the owners to what is going on in the hotel.

Although overall we have enjoyed our holiday, but we are unsure if we will return, as no doubt there will be further petty rules and restrictions applied. We have rated the hotel at a 3 because of this reason, but come on Fortina; wake up and smell the gravy before you end up in the soup! A 5 rating is well within your sights if you can only see what is going on from behind those sunglasses!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on first/second floor that are overlooked by a foot bridge. Apart from being overlooked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Roy S,

Thank you for your posting. We are disappointed to hear that your stay at the Fortina Spa Resort was unsatisfactory. We would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused. Your comments have been well-noted and passed onto all those concerned.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Fortina Spa Resort is certainly a 5* hotel (unless you are expecting the standard of The Savoy in London at holiday prices.) EVERY member of staff did their utmost to make the holiday as enjoyable as possible. The hotel public rooms were cool, clean and comfortable. In the evening there was some gentle musical entertainment in the lounge and more lively music in the adjoining Hotel Fortina. The bedrooms were great with nice comfortable beds, a large bathroom with toiletries and towels replaced as needed.
As for the food. Well there are 6 restaurant, 5 of which were within the Tropical Garden (huge court yard with swimming pool) in the middle of the Hotel. TASTE which belonged to the hotel, provided a far more than adequate breakfast, you name it, it was probably there, with chefs on hand to cook which ever form of egg you wanted) 7 days a week. Lunch and Dinner were served here 5 days a week, providing a really high standard of Mediterranean and Vietnamese cuisine that I couldn't fault. The other restaurants appeared to be franchised and so open to non-hotel guests with a limited number of places each sitting (more about that later). They took it in turns to be closed so that all the guests always had a choice of restaurant.
The Indian and Chinese/Thai Restaurants were also very good with a wide choice of food taken from the full menu. I would recommend these also.
The Italian restaurant was closed.
Table 1 which was along the road attached to THE Fortina Hotel was also very good.
However, we were All Inclusive and were supposed to be eating A la Carte,but the Japanese restaurant provided non-hotel guest with a large illustrated menu while the hotel guests were given an A4 single sheet menu with a very limited choice(4 starters, 2 Sushi or 4 cooked and 2 desserts). Service was awful (1 waiter). My starter was OK, wife of man opposite poured sauce from her plate on to her husband's because his starter was so tasteless. My Sushi was OK but looked as if it had come from the supermarket, whereas the sushi given to the non-guest must have been 50% larger and looked delicious. Dessert, tasteless sponge cake or rock hard mini cornet with cooked banana and "cream".
Slight problem, you have to book restaurant up to 2 days in advance because the Hotel only has limited places available
HOTEL FORTINA SPA RESORT is a WONDERFUL HOTEL which I would fully recommend. We plan to go back again. Just boycott the Japanese.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weymouthboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear weymouthboy,

Thank you for your posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Your comments regarding the Japanese Restaurant have been passed onto all those concerned.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We visited this hotel through a friend who has a timeshare arrangement with the hotel. The actual holiday itself was good as it's a place we'd never have thought of going to and we were both quite pleasantly surprised. The journey was easy too with a flight of just over 3 hours and a 15 minute cab ride to the hotel.

The hotel itself is ok but definitely not of the five star rating that it holds. The leisure club was closed for refurb when we were there so I cannot comment on that but the pool area was disrupted because of the work and the noise it created was annoying. The restaurant where breakfast is served is not good in terms of the quality and range of food available (but maybe I'm just over fussy). We went once and didn't go back!

The room we had was spacious and clean, but they were not over generous with toiletries and the hairdryer wasn't working and it took them 2 days to deal with this for me. We were the youngest people in the hotel by about 20 years and I think this is reflected in the way that the hotel is generally run - it's very geared up for a more senior clientele with things like mobility scooters on full charge in the lobby, but this may well be their main/target market??

I would say that the location of the hotel was really good though - right on the edge of town so quite quiet and close to the shops and within an easy walk to some nice restaurants etc. It was ok - but just ok.

Room Tip: There are 17 floors - but there are lifts!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlamPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear GlamPam,

Thank you for your posting. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us despite a few problems. Please be assured that your comments have been well noted and passed onto all those concerned.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,424 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,963 reviews
0.5 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
1.7 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,957 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortina Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortina Spa Resort

Property: Fortina Spa Resort
Address: Tigne Seafront, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3012, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Fortina Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central Sliema, adjoining Malta’s trendiest shopping complex (The Point) offering the largest choice of fashion & designer outlets, the Fortina Spa Resort is Malta’s newest 17 storey 5 star hotel. The resort faces south with magnificent views of Valletta’s bastion walls across the water and is home to the World’s 1st Therapeutic Spa bedrooms. It is the ideal hotel to indulge in a numerous variety of Spa treatments, excellent cuisines from around the world and one of the best locations on the island. Restaurants :- Taste Restaurant (Vietnamese & Mediterranean Cuisine)CanThai (Chinese & Thai Cuisine)Momo’s Ristorante Tigne (Italian & Mediterranean Cuisine)Il Giardino PizzeriaSaReGaMa (Authentic Indian Cuisine)Moroboshi (Japanese Cuisine)Bars Limes Bar (indoor)Island Bar (outdoors – weather permitting)Swimming Pools :-Outdoor Garden Pool and separate Splash Pool2 Indoor Swimming PoolsSpa Centres(see descriptions below)Thalasso Spa MediterraneeSpa Sante Belle Epoque Beauty CentreHypogeum Body, Mind & Spirit CentreOther facilities Conference facilities Fully Equipped Fitness Centre 24 hour room serviceAdded Value For All Our Guests :-Cruise of Malta’s Historical Grand HarbourUnlimited access to Fortina Fitness Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Fortina Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortina Hotel Sliema
Fortina Hotel Malta
Fortina Resort
Hotel Fortina
Fortina Spa Resort Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing