We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Fortina Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fortina Spa Resort
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Just back from a return visit to the Fortina Spa and was again delighted with the hotel, food and in particular the helpful friendy staff several of which in Taste restaurant and Limes Bar are an absolute credit to the hotel where nothing ever seems to be too much trouble to them. Only issue that we would comment on was that despite staying at the hotel on AI basis for some reason AI card was not accepted at the Lido bar despite this being available on all previous visits.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manceddie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Brian M,

Thank you for your lovely posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. We would like to advise you that the Fortina Spa Resort All Inclusive Card was not accepted at the Lido because the Lido belongs to the Hotel Fortina and therefore, is not included in the Fortina Spa Resort's All Inclusive Package.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

482 - 488 of 1,430 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

The food in taste is wonderful and the waiters polite and very helpful.The hotel location is also excellent.The main problem is the timeshare,If you show the slighteset interest ,they can spoil your stay.I was told they tell you that you don't pay the first year maintenance fees,have RCI membership ect.All that and their commission is already included in the their quoted price.If you accept you will immediately be about 2ooo euros worse.It is alot cheaper to get the 2 for the price of 1 offer from Spa Travel usually advertised in November

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abdel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear AbdelO,

Thank you for your posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel on a bed and breakfast basis in the last week of June 2014. We had spoken with the hotel’s representative at a ‘50+ Show’ at Birmingham NEC, and he later contacted my partner and offered a week’s stay in a 5* room at a very reasonable price – in return we just had to agree to attend a 90-minute presentation where we would be shown the hotel’s facilities. As it turned out, the ‘presentation’ was with a timeshare company called RCI. We didn’t sign up for the timeshare, and will avoid such deals in the future!

Our room was in the Tower building. It was large, with huge balcony and large bathroom with walk-in shower and a Jacuzzi bath. Unfortunately, the balcony looked as if it had not been cleaned for a while, and when my partner tried out the Jacuzzi bath some dirt came out of the jets. Our balcony was cleaned after we complained, but we didn’t risk the Jacuzzi bath for the rest of the week.

The spa is in the hotel’s basement. We had a voucher for one visit, which we enjoyed, but didn’t think it was worth the price of €18 for a repeat visit. The outdoor pool is pleasant, and there were plenty of sunbeds but the hotel grounds were, on the whole, not very well-presented.

Breakfast at the ‘Tastes’ restaurant was fine, and the staff were friendly and helpful. We also liked the Island bar, with live music most evenings, but thought the price of drinks was very high.

The location of this hotel is excellent. There is a shopping centre next door, and the town of Sliema is within walking distance, as is the ferry to Valetta.

If the hotel was advertised as a 3 to 4 star I would have given it a better rating. However, we understood that we were booking a 5* room in a spa hotel with 5* facilities, and as such it did not come up to our expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Christine948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Christina948,

Thank you for your posting. We are disappointed to hear that your stay with us did not reach your expectations. Your comments have been passed onto all those concerned.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I have stayed at Fortina Spa three times now and have had a fantastic experience on each occasion. The staff are so friendly and helpful (especially the breakfast waitresses), the rooms are amazing, the views are breath taking and there are so many different restaurants to choose from it is impossible to eat anywhere else. The atmosphere in the evening is perfect for dining and good conversation & fun. The Spa is one of the best I've ever been to so now I've been spoilt it is impossible to go anywhere else. I'm looking forward to booking again soon!

Room Tip: If you love a beautiful view at 7am go for a room which overlooks the port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Nicola S,

Thank you for your lovely posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have just spent a week at this hotel,the staff are wonderful & very helpfull. my Husband now has a few walking dificulties but they hired a wheelchair for him,so I could get him round the hotel & Gardens. The restuarants in the garden are wonderful,choice of mediterean,india,chinese&thia,japenese,italian, + help yourself buffet at the 4*which adjoins the spa hotel.Also wonderful views as you are right on the seafront. well worth a visit.The spa have wonderful treatments, so I made the most of these facilities also, felt like a new woman when I left.

Room Tip: we asked for walkin showers as my husband has problems,also corner suites are large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ceciliaanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear cecilianne,

Thank you for your posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we looik forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Plus points brilliant sea views clean rooms very good food most important minus point fail to make customer feel special(don't seem to know how to)good stay but hotel didn't take any notice of any requests made to them for our special stay.The location is brilliant,sliema shops and ferries and buses all short stroll.Can be a little noisy peak season. fridges in room a plus

Room Tip: Must get sea view room at least 3 floors up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andybaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear andybaron,

Thank you for your posting. We are disappointed to hear that your stay with us was unsatisfactory. Please be assured that your comments have been well noted and passed onto all those concerned for immediate action.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We visited Malta in the first half of July and had a excellent stay in the Fortina Spa Resort. The Spa room was overlooking the city of Valetta, this great view is unique, at day and night time. The dine around the world formula is amazing. Such great food and a what a variety. Friendly service and very neat clean rooms. This holiday we will never forget and recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: Sea view spa room. Great value for money. Top quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank elsvanvooren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear elsavanvooren,

Thank you for your posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we looik forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,596 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#6 of 28 in Sliema
2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,966 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 28 in Sliema
1,297 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortina Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortina Spa Resort

Address: Tigne Seafront, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3012, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#5 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £87 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fortina Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central Sliema, adjoining Malta’s trendiest shopping complex (The Point) offering the largest choice of fashion & designer outlets, the Fortina Spa Resort is Malta’s newest 17 storey 5 star hotel. The resort faces south with magnificent views of Valletta’s bastion walls across the water and is home to the World’s 1st Therapeutic Spa bedrooms. It is the ideal hotel to indulge in a numerous variety of Spa treatments, excellent cuisines from around the world and one of the best locations on the island. Restaurants :- Taste Restaurant (Vietnamese & Mediterranean Cuisine)CanThai (Chinese & Thai Cuisine)Momo’s Ristorante Tigne (Italian & Mediterranean Cuisine)Il Giardino PizzeriaSaReGaMa (Authentic Indian Cuisine)Moroboshi (Japanese Cuisine)Bars Limes Bar (indoor)Island Bar (outdoors – weather permitting)Swimming Pools :-Outdoor Garden Pool and separate Splash Pool2 Indoor Swimming PoolsSpa Centres(see descriptions below)Thalasso Spa MediterraneeSpa Sante Belle Epoque Beauty CentreHypogeum Body, Mind & Spirit CentreOther facilities Conference facilities Fully Equipped Fitness Centre 24 hour room serviceAdded Value For All Our Guests :-Cruise of Malta’s Historical Grand HarbourUnlimited access to Fortina Fitness Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fortina Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortina Hotel Sliema
Fortina Hotel Malta
Fortina Resort
Hotel Fortina
Fortina Spa Resort Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing