We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can afford a SPA room, this could be your best hotel experience ever”
Review of Fortina Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fortina Spa Resort
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Since we had already been in Malta, and we had already been in Medina, Gozo, Comino and other gorgeous tourist spots, this time we decided to go to Malta for a real hotel experience.
We booked a room with our own SPA and our own private swimming pool where we spent almost a week just enjoying our amazing accommodation every second we were there. During the sunny hours, we just relaxed in our roof terrace with a mineral water swimming pool and a BBQ where we could make our own lunch (there is also to possibility of hiring a chef and a fixed menu from the hotel). Once the sun was gone, we used our SPA area: Steam Sauna for two, a detox red-ray capsule, a whirlpool for one person in the bathroom or the more "romantic" jacuzzi right behind the double bed. All including seaweed and serum treatments to feel like a 'new you' after some relaxing and exciting days with your partner.
During the evening, you can have dinner out of 7 different restaurants inside the resort: thai, mediterranean-fish, japanese, indian, among others, which came recommended in our Lonely planet guide.
And btw the view to La Valletta is breathtaking!
The only downside would be the room service staff who, in spite of their attention, have a tendency to enter the rooms unannounced (sometimes during intimate moments)
All in all, the experience that we had in this room typology is totally recommendable. Especially if you are looking for an unforgettable time with your loved one.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jsmn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2010

Dear jsmn23,

We are delighted to read your wonderful review about your holiday with us at the Fortina Spa Resort. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience in one of our Therapeutic Spa Bedrooms with your partner!

Please be assured that your comment about the room service staff has been passed on to the appropriate manager for immediate action.

We thank you for taking the time to review the Fortina Spa Resort and hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind regards,

Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,396)
There are newer reviews for Fortina Spa Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

956 - 962 of 1,396 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2010

This is an amzing hotel!
I am a 15 year old girl and to be quite fair its AMAZING!
Unluckily we were not able to go into the 5* as i am a child and the 5* is only for adults but my mum and dad visited it and it was amazing!
There are 6 pools and 3 jaquzzis in the 4* let alone the ones in the spa which children were not aloud in under 16 (so only 1 more year to go!)
The views are amzing you either get the sea or the garden and in the day its sunny and there are palm trees all over with a pool and in the pool theres a kind of lazy river and a bar in which you can sit down in the pool and have a drink, and at night all the pal trees light up and you see the sunset in the pool and its stunning.
My grandma and grandad also where staying here as well and they got the sea view and its truly amazing!
The rooms where gawjuss and they either come in an 'L' shape or a square. The food was delicious we were half board and it was fabulous! The food was perfect and there was a massive vairity or choice of food!
We own a flat in malta in silema which is just round the corner so we regulary come to malta, but at the moment our flat is being refurbished so we have to stay in hotels and i have stayed in around 9 hotels around silema and the bay and can i just say this is the best in a long while!!The only downside is that its on the main road.
My mum works here sometimes as well so she just goes off for meetings as well and its really good

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hollythemaltaexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2010

Dear HollytheMaltaexpert,

We are delighted to read your lovely, positive review about your experience with your family at the Hotel Fortina. It is great to read reviews like yours. We are thrilled that you all enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future, to both the Hotel and the Spa!

Kind regards,

Hotel Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Hotel not 5 star, only has this rating because of the Spa which has to be paid for if you want treatments and is only open at certain times of the day. Rooms quite basic (we stayed in a Tower room with outside spa), not thoroughly cleaned every day, bath just wiped around and the spa outside in need of a new cover at least. The best thing about this Hotel is the food in the 5 star restaurants which, if you are all inclusive, is extremely good, very expensive if you have to pay each evening.
We booked through CHEVRON, who I would never use again as my flight was changed and we ended up losing a whole day without compensation. Air Malta, after my sending two long emails to Chevron, advised that they would refund the flight so that we were free to book elsewhere. However, Chevron did not email me back in sufficient time to allow me to do this.
Our room, upon arrival, was on 3rd floor which had no sun and so we were moved to 8th floor, which also had no sun. Unless you have a sea front facing room, especially towards the end of September, it is quite cold and dull in the Tower rooms which overlook the pool area around the 5 star restaurants.
Pool around 5 star restaurant area is very shabby and dirty but on the whole of the ten days that we stayed, nobody used it.....I wonder why!!
Staff, with the exception of Reception and Concierge were rude, miserable and slow. I have never seen bar staff like it in my life! Restaurant staff the same...nobody seems to want to do their job and everything is too much trouble.
Book this Hotel only if you want to be near the main town of Sliema. Whilst I would recommend it for it's food, it is not value for money in as far as they are offering 5 star service and accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2010

Dear SaraELondon,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our Resort following your stay with us. We strive to provide the best service possible, therefore, we appreciate all comments from our guests. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with all concerned and are being dealt with accordingly.

We are happy that you enjoyed your meals in our award-winning Restaurants.

Kind regards,

Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Returned to the fortina after 20 years,and i must say i am sorry that i did not return sooner.We booked the 4 star fortina but upgraded to the spa resort when we arrived.I could not fault anything about this hotel.we have booked again for next june to stay in a spa bedroom.This is the best holiday we have had for many years

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandramanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2010

Dear Sandramanchester,

We are delighted to read your review about the Fortina Spa Resort, thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you both back next June in one of our Therapeutic Spa Bedrooms!

Warm regards,

Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

My husband upgraded us from the more than adequate Fortina hotel next door, for our wedding night for the duration of the stay. Not sure how you could not give this 5 stars? The bedroom, jacuzzi and amazing bathroom were well stocked, clean and serviced around the clock, and our roof top pool and terrace was an amazing sun trap. The food was incredible value when staying all inclusive (although the all inclusive concept slightly confusing). All of the restaurants served some of the best food I have eaten, in a perfect setting with fairy lights and great atmosphere. The service we received here was the best I have ever received and we truly felt like royalty. Can't wait to come back. We also got married here and I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stace15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YasminZT, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2010

Dear Stace15,

We would like to thank you for your positive review of the Fortina Spa Resort. We strive to give the best service possible to all our valued guests.

We would like to congratulate you on your marriage and wish you a life of happiness together!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the future!

Best wishes,

Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

having just returned from another visit to the Spa hotel I can only repeat what I have previously reviewed the food was excellent especially the Taste restaurant, I would agree that sometimes the wait time is a little long, something I have not experienced before, but when the food did arrive it was worth it, anyway what's the rush we were on holiday. We did not eat in the Italian so cannot comment on it. The comments about the breakfast in the Valletta, should not be confused with the excellent breakfast selection in Taste, which if you are in the 5 star all inclusive is where breakfast is served.
I also agree that some of the areas let the hotel down which could question the standards you expect from a 5 star hotel, I feel that a waiter service in the Limes bar would help reduce the congestion that sometimes accumulates at the bar. The pool areas especially the one at the front of the hotel definately needs a makeover and a pool attendant to keep the place tidy, but i did note that they had replaced the sun shades and improved the seating area since my last stay.
As for the staff,yes there are some unhelpful folk around but for each of them there are good ones, especially Rita and Charmaine.
I would give this place a try and remember it's 5 star Malta not UK and please don't confuse this hotel with the Fortina next door as I know people do.
We have already booked for xmas and New Year as we had a great time last year, bring it on all that lovely food, and unlike a previous reviewer i had no food spilt over my menus, and if I had I am sure they would have rectified it if I'd mentioned it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonesbicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YasminZT, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2010

Dear Jonesbicester,

We would like to thank you for your review on the Fortina Spa Resort. It is with pleasure that we read feedback from statisfied guests.

Your comments have been noted and passed onto the appropriate personnel. A special message has been forwarded to Charmaine and Rita.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Resort over the Christmas and New Year period.

Warm regards,

Fortina Spa Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Just returned on 07092010 from fortina hotel. Had a wonderful holiday. Got to reception and given an upgrade to garden room. Massive room, dressing gowns, lovely view, tea coffee facilities also , topped up every day. Valleta resturant very good, great choice of food, all good quallity, no complaints. Chinese good, also Brasserie resturant. good , Didn,t try other two. We were on half board, dine around. Weather perfect. view across to Valletta from hotel lovely. Hotel facilities perfect. Could not have had a better holiday. Gozo full day trip excellent, also river criuses, open top bus, and sunday to market. First trip to Malta, and really enjoyed it, recomment Malta and Hotel Fortina.Friends had seaview room, and it was very good also, and we would have been happy with it too.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perthmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YasminZT, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2010

Dear Perthmary,

We would like to thank you for your positive feedback about the Hotel Fortina. It delights us to read such reviews. Kindly note that you have posted this comment under the Fortina Spa Resort instead of the Hotel Fortina.

We hope to welcome you back at the Hotel Fortina again in the future.

Kind regards,

Hotel Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,470 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,046 reviews
0.5 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,755 reviews
9.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
1.7 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortina Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortina Spa Resort

Address: Tigne Seafront, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3012, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#5 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: £126 - £865 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fortina Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central Sliema, adjoining Malta’s trendiest shopping complex (The Point) offering the largest choice of fashion & designer outlets, the Fortina Spa Resort is Malta’s newest 17 storey 5 star hotel. The resort faces south with magnificent views of Valletta’s bastion walls across the water and is home to the World’s 1st Therapeutic Spa bedrooms. It is the ideal hotel to indulge in a numerous variety of Spa treatments, excellent cuisines from around the world and one of the best locations on the island. Restaurants :- Taste Restaurant (Vietnamese & Mediterranean Cuisine)CanThai (Chinese & Thai Cuisine)Momo’s Ristorante Tigne (Italian & Mediterranean Cuisine)Il Giardino PizzeriaSaReGaMa (Authentic Indian Cuisine)Moroboshi (Japanese Cuisine)Bars Limes Bar (indoor)Island Bar (outdoors – weather permitting)Swimming Pools :-Outdoor Garden Pool and separate Splash Pool2 Indoor Swimming PoolsSpa Centres(see descriptions below)Thalasso Spa MediterraneeSpa Sante Belle Epoque Beauty CentreHypogeum Body, Mind & Spirit CentreOther facilities Conference facilities Fully Equipped Fitness Centre 24 hour room serviceAdded Value For All Our Guests :-Cruise of Malta’s Historical Grand HarbourUnlimited access to Fortina Fitness Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fortina Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortina Hotel Sliema
Fortina Hotel Malta
Fortina Resort
Hotel Fortina
Fortina Spa Resort Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing