We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sliema Chalet Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel(Sliema)(Great Value!)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$135
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$234
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Palace(Sliema)
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$335
US$319
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$168
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sliema Hotel(Sliema)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (574)
Filter reviews
574 results
Traveller rating
44
184
192
93
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
184
192
93
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscleaned daily with fresh towelsbus stoproof terracewater pressuretowels changed every daydecent sizeexcellent locationbed linenroom with a sea viewpublic transportyogurtvallettapromenadenightlifepacevillesunbathingferries
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 574 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We did have a few minor problems. The first was a very rather off-hand attitude from the desk staff, some of whom obviously objected to being disturbed when we were coming in and going out.

The safe that was in the room would have been useful but it had no lock mechanism at all.

I had read all the reports and noted that to work the TV a remote control had to be hired at €2.5 per day. I requested one and was pleasantly surprised to be told that there was no charge for it. The reasoning soon became obvious as the controller would not work the TV and neither did the second one that I was given, so a message was left for the manager to sort it out. The following day a controller was supplied that did work the TV but only CNN was available - nothing else. That continued for three days before even CNN could not be found.

On the positive side the room and en-suite was clean and comfortable. The air-con and fan worked well and the view of the sea from the balcony worth paying the extra for. Breakfast was a continental one and quite sufficient althouigh the fruit juice did have a similar taste as a dentists mouthwash.

Certainly the hotel is sited in the right place on the promenade, with a bus stop right outside the door. The hotels own restaurant, the Cafe Damier, was well worth patronising and usually full by 7.30 in the evening, so get there early. A full restaurant is usually an indication of good food and we were not disappointed.

All in all, well worth the money, despite the few small niggles.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view balcony as the view makes up for any other shortcomings
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bilp42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

it was a good stay out there. we stayed there for 1 week in summer of 2011. everything was satisfactory and worth for money. only we didn't have good Wifi connection at the room so we need to come down to the reception area but we were hardly using the laptop :P

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank selvaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I stayed here in August 2012, and after 10years of travelling and staying in all kinds of accommodation, this has to be the worst place I have ever stayed in. I won't bore you with details, so in summary 1. Service - the staff are horrendous, they are a real disgrace to the Maltese people, don't bother contacting them with any issues 2. Beds - have not been changed since they were first put in, probably twenty years ago, the linen was cheap crap 3. Air Conditioning - just blows dirty air, no cooling whatsoever, and the reality is you need cold air conditioning in the Maltese summertime 4. Noise - lots of noise from the street, and walls are pretty thin, if you are a light sleeper then forget it 5. Cleanliness - not good, really bad as a matter of a fact, you wont be impressed. 6. Breakfast - dont waste your time, step outside and get something nice. 7. Service- did I mention staff, oh yeah I did, just to reiterate it was the worst service ever! In SUMMARY - pay a little extra and go elsewhere, believe me, you are bound to have a bad stay here. Just to let you know how bad a stay mine was, I am going to write a letter to Tourism Malta singling out this hotel, and stating that the problems with tourism in Malta don't start with global economy, but rather at terrible hotels like this.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohnySmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

As a solo traveler on a budget for GBP 30 a night for B+B you can't really be expecting too much.

Exterior of hotel looks in a general state of good repair with lobby and communal areas looking nice (apart from Floor 7 which looked a bit tired.)

Room had TV (had to pay for remote, but perfectly workable using buttons on unit itself, Air-conditioning, Ceiling Fan, several 2 pin and 3 pin power sockets, water boiler and ensuite.

The room was described as an "Inland view" which I assumed meant looking in-land to the city as opposed to the sea. What this actually transpired to be was a view of a solid white wall of the neighbouring building 5ft away, and the windows were cloudy so daylight wasn't exactly streaming in either.

Expedia said I had booked "Single Occupancy of a Twin Room" this however had seemed to be changed by the hotel to a single room, rather than single occupancy of a double room, as I had requested via email, and this request had been acknowleged by the hotel.

Breakfast was frankly poor. It was described as contintel but the options really were cornflakes or coco pops with milk. Bread, cheese and ham. Luke warm serving container had scrambled eggs and weird looking sausages in it, but fruit slices and fuit juices were available also. I choose the nicer looking options but it was certainly something I was doing for calorific intake rather than for enjoyment before heading out each day early.

In sumation, you get what you pay for. For GBP 30 a night, did I get my monies worth? Yes.

Would I recommend you stayed there? For a traveller on a budget, why not, give it a punt, but don't be expecting miracles on this budget.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 7th floor (I.e. starting in 7**) as this floor seems to be in a worse state of repair than other floors.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matty5487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Nice modern hotel right on the seafront. Many rooms with seaview and breathtaking views.
Brakfast included. Nice and clean rooms with flat screen TV. Bus stop right outside the door.
About 10 minutes to old Valetta. Restaurant in the hotel in addition to many restaurants and bars
nearby. Good starting points for excursions on the island. I have stayed at Sliema Chalet four times. My first choice on the island.
Egil from Oslo, Norway

Room Tip: Seaview rooms with balcony. Fantastic!!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EgilOslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews