We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap ,good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sliema Chalet Hotel
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“cheap ,good hotel”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

it's a cheap, good hotel,with heater for de cold winter nights.The rooms are better than Hotel europa, but the reception at hotel europa is more friendly and good ambiance.
the reception at sliema chalets are more indeferent and unconcerned. The seaview rooms get sun in the morning,the breakfast is very simple.
there is a busstop at the door "sliema chalet" near il-fortizza.the bus X2 from airport stops at the door.
Malta as a good busservice,a lot of busses doing different circular tours.
a ticket for 2 hours costs 2,20 euro, for a day:2,60 and for 12 days:12 euro.
Malta is a cheap country ,safe and very easy to travel with the bus,

Room Tip: choose high floor,seaview,some noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gojibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    162
    169
    87
    50
See reviews for
61
212
65
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
183 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

My elderly father spent two weeks here in September where we joined him and visited several times. We found the staff ranged from a little bit surly to extremely helpful, Most i would say were particularly patient with my Father and his requests. Room was fairly basic but functional, more than adequate for needs and considering price paid. Food again was agreeable and we had no issues or complaints.

What makes this hotel special??:

1. Location: beautiful seafront location ideal for strolls to all Sliemas best locations. Likewise close to the wonderful charms of St Julian's

2. Manager; Mr Ian Sultana; was wonderful, courteous, obliging and took real pleasure in assuring that my sometimes demanding Father was happy and comfortable at all times. This man is a true professional and is a real asset?

We would certainly consider staying here again during our many trips to this wonderful island!

Room Tip: Some rooms have excellent sea views for an extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablo_Sulty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We did have a few minor problems. The first was a very rather off-hand attitude from the desk staff, some of whom obviously objected to being disturbed when we were coming in and going out.

The safe that was in the room would have been useful but it had no lock mechanism at all.

I had read all the reports and noted that to work the TV a remote control had to be hired at €2.5 per day. I requested one and was pleasantly surprised to be told that there was no charge for it. The reasoning soon became obvious as the controller would not work the TV and neither did the second one that I was given, so a message was left for the manager to sort it out. The following day a controller was supplied that did work the TV but only CNN was available - nothing else. That continued for three days before even CNN could not be found.

On the positive side the room and en-suite was clean and comfortable. The air-con and fan worked well and the view of the sea from the balcony worth paying the extra for. Breakfast was a continental one and quite sufficient althouigh the fruit juice did have a similar taste as a dentists mouthwash.

Certainly the hotel is sited in the right place on the promenade, with a bus stop right outside the door. The hotels own restaurant, the Cafe Damier, was well worth patronising and usually full by 7.30 in the evening, so get there early. A full restaurant is usually an indication of good food and we were not disappointed.

All in all, well worth the money, despite the few small niggles.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view balcony as the view makes up for any other shortcomings
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bilp42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

it was a good stay out there. we stayed there for 1 week in summer of 2011. everything was satisfactory and worth for money. only we didn't have good Wifi connection at the room so we need to come down to the reception area but we were hardly using the laptop :P

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank selvaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I stayed here in August 2012, and after 10years of travelling and staying in all kinds of accommodation, this has to be the worst place I have ever stayed in. I won't bore you with details, so in summary 1. Service - the staff are horrendous, they are a real disgrace to the Maltese people, don't bother contacting them with any issues 2. Beds - have not been changed since they were first put in, probably twenty years ago, the linen was cheap crap 3. Air Conditioning - just blows dirty air, no cooling whatsoever, and the reality is you need cold air conditioning in the Maltese summertime 4. Noise - lots of noise from the street, and walls are pretty thin, if you are a light sleeper then forget it 5. Cleanliness - not good, really bad as a matter of a fact, you wont be impressed. 6. Breakfast - dont waste your time, step outside and get something nice. 7. Service- did I mention staff, oh yeah I did, just to reiterate it was the worst service ever! In SUMMARY - pay a little extra and go elsewhere, believe me, you are bound to have a bad stay here. Just to let you know how bad a stay mine was, I am going to write a letter to Tourism Malta singling out this hotel, and stating that the problems with tourism in Malta don't start with global economy, but rather at terrible hotels like this.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnySmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

As a solo traveler on a budget for GBP 30 a night for B+B you can't really be expecting too much.

Exterior of hotel looks in a general state of good repair with lobby and communal areas looking nice (apart from Floor 7 which looked a bit tired.)

Room had TV (had to pay for remote, but perfectly workable using buttons on unit itself, Air-conditioning, Ceiling Fan, several 2 pin and 3 pin power sockets, water boiler and ensuite.

The room was described as an "Inland view" which I assumed meant looking in-land to the city as opposed to the sea. What this actually transpired to be was a view of a solid white wall of the neighbouring building 5ft away, and the windows were cloudy so daylight wasn't exactly streaming in either.

Expedia said I had booked "Single Occupancy of a Twin Room" this however had seemed to be changed by the hotel to a single room, rather than single occupancy of a double room, as I had requested via email, and this request had been acknowleged by the hotel.

Breakfast was frankly poor. It was described as contintel but the options really were cornflakes or coco pops with milk. Bread, cheese and ham. Luke warm serving container had scrambled eggs and weird looking sausages in it, but fruit slices and fuit juices were available also. I choose the nicer looking options but it was certainly something I was doing for calorific intake rather than for enjoyment before heading out each day early.

In sumation, you get what you pay for. For GBP 30 a night, did I get my monies worth? Yes.

Would I recommend you stayed there? For a traveller on a budget, why not, give it a punt, but don't be expecting miracles on this budget.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 7th floor (I.e. starting in 7**) as this floor seems to be in a worse state of re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matty5487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Nice modern hotel right on the seafront. Many rooms with seaview and breathtaking views.
Brakfast included. Nice and clean rooms with flat screen TV. Bus stop right outside the door.
About 10 minutes to old Valetta. Restaurant in the hotel in addition to many restaurants and bars
nearby. Good starting points for excursions on the island. I have stayed at Sliema Chalet four times. My first choice on the island.
Egil from Oslo, Norway

Room Tip: Seaview rooms with balcony. Fantastic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EgilOslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,004 reviews
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#13 of 28 in Sliema
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,040 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sliema Chalet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sliema Chalet Hotel

Property: Sliema Chalet Hotel
Address: 117 Tower Rd, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 16, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sliema Chalet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sliema Chalet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sliema Chalet Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing