We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good view, the noise from the street, disappointing to the little things”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sliema Chalet Hotel
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 10 June 2013

average hotel, with a very ugly details like separate beds, dirty and torn towels,no flushing toliet, the rest can be seen in the pictures .. the only good is view of the street and sea .. during the stay of one of the guests complained about a lot of ants that crept into bed

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marijana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
There are newer reviews for Sliema Chalet Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

I think it is very good value for money. Most other hotels charged a lot more and didnt offer much difference.

The hotel in my opinion is in a very good location. Just down the road is a supermarket (ask for locations as its in a side street (triq il kbira), and small shopping centre, as well as "The Point" shopping centre. The shopping scene isnt amazing but i didnt go for that. They do have all the usual stuff you could want though. A HSBC banks is less than 5 minutes away. Also, a bus stop is almost right outside going to everywhere on Malta. Valetta is 15 minutes down road in good traffic.

Back to the hotel:

I had a double bed, although not an actual double bed as it was 2 moved together with a double mattress on top, this was annoying as the top mattress kept on slipping slightly and by the morning it was nearly a foot off. Also, the "duvet" they put on top was actually 2 padded valances used to put under the mattresses normally, but as it was too hot i didnt use them normally. I have to also say that i think i got a few bed bug bites, sorry to alarm you but i think its true. They were definitely not mosquito bites as i know what they are like. So beware.

Apart from the bed bug bites the cleaning was pretty good and if i have to praise something it would be the cleaners. They came every day, even if i got up late they would come back to clean and always left clean towels and new mini bars of soap (although they werent great to use).

The television in the room had mainly italian and maltese channels, although did have CNN most days (signal came and went). Picture was very grainy but could here quite well and got used to it!

There was lots of storage in the room. Although the safe didnt actually have a lock on it, but maybe they give you that when you pay to use it?? I didnt worry much about the safety as Malta seems a safe place but i guess you never be too sure.

I had a sea view room and the view was very very nice. Also the location near to road meant there was a lot of noise some days and nights but i was on the 6th floor so wasnt too close.

The sun terrace was very close to me, only had to go a few feet to the lift and go up a floor then walk up a few steps and i was there. I went in May so wasnt busy at all, sometimes had it all to myself. View was amazing, although sometimes windy up there. If you are going peak season might be a problem as i think i counted about 8 loungers.

Internet was not free, and was actually expensive. They had 3 different tariffs, forgot the smallest but the others were €7.5 fr 5 hours and €20 for 15 hours. However, the speed of internet was excellent compared to other places i have stayed.

They did not include a fridge with the room, and as i like to have chilled drinks and food i had to pay per day for it. it was €2.5 a day so wasnt too bad, although when they put the fridge in my room it smelt quite bad, had a hair inside and had minute mould on the shelf. I have to wash the shelf in the shower and use baby wipes to clean with fridge. Once it was all down it chilled quite nicely.

I must also add, there was no "air conditioning" as stated but was just a ceiling fan which you control with a dial on wall. It was good for what it was but air con would be better as in the hotter months it might be a problem.

As for breakfast. I would advise against going. They had scrambled eggs, beans and small frankfurter sausages as well as continental breakfast and cereal. The eggs tastes really bland and im sure they were powdered. I only ate brekkie once and avoided it after.

The staff there were pretty friendly i would say, nothing bad i could say about them and they had good knowledge about the buses etc.

So overall a good hotel but let down on small details which could have worked in it's favour. you do get for what you pay for i'd say and for the location its a good bet, close to Valetta and St Juliens bay. It they sort out their bedding, give good soap, clean their fridges, add more sun loungers, improve the breakfast and sort the TV out it might be better.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room, its nice to relax outside after a hard day travelling and watch the Med in fr...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BVH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Room was cold, the toilet did't flush, we were moved to another room furnished with old & ugly furniture. The noise from the street did not allow a good sleep. The only good thing was the view from the balcony. We do NOT recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The hotel is small. Receptionists were very helpful. Rooms are with old furniture and simple, nothing special. Breakfast was always the same and with poor quality of coffee. The plus of this hotel is of course the location! Near the hotel a lot of restaurants and cafes, bus stops right in front of the hotel, this is very nice after long walk in Valetta:).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yulia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

A week was just right on this Island. The hotel was a bargain buy and for that was done well. Basic and happy is how I'd describe it, the staff were friendly and it had clean beds and shower. We were lucky and had a balcony that overlooked the sea. Close to local transport, the buses are a great way to get around it's all we used, no need to hire a car. Enjoyed spotting the old lorries. Good shopping found a market that sold some new and old things mixed in. Value cost for a good holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

All the rooms are basic hence the price. The rooms with a sea view are good value and you can sit and relax on the balcony with the same view as hotels twice the price a few doors down. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the location is good with a bus stop right outside the hotel to Valetta or St Julians. The rooms at the back of the hotel are a bit bleak with hardly any natural light so I would only stay there if you just need somewhere cheap to put your head down.

Room Tip: A standard room will be one at the back with no view and very little natural light, not good for a r...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolJez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The receptionists were very helpful when we asked for anything
Housekeeping was very poor, under the bed was full of dust.
The bed covers were filthy.
Needs a good refurbishing as it is not in my opinion 3 star as advertised
Position is good.
If you are looking just fo a sleep, this is the place for you.
I am a regular traveller for over 30 years,this is a fair assessment.
The overall rating is based on 3 stars

Room Tip: Get a room on the front if you want some light the 7th floor was quiet
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 378IanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,031 reviews
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#11 of 28 in Sliema
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,122 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sliema Chalet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sliema Chalet Hotel

Address: 117 Tower Rd, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 16, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range: £22 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sliema Chalet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sliema Chalet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sliema Chalet Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing