We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in Sliema”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sliema Chalet Hotel
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in Sliema”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Malta was brilliant and Sliema Chalet was a highlight. Everything works, the staff are helpful if not effusive. There was a misunderstanding because hostelbookers and mistakenly listed the room as "breakfast included". That being said, upon checking the manager was happy to oblige, stating "we want you to be happy". Free WiFi is available only on level 7 common room; for wifi in the rooms you have to pay. The balconies offer awesome sea views and are wide and spacious.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tongrhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    163
    171
    88
    53
See reviews for
63
213
66
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

A budget hotel so I tailored my expectations accordingly. Similar price to 2 previous Sliema hotels I had stayed at over the previous 2 years.

Reception staff ranged from 'neutral' to unfriendly (i e. too much trouble to look up from the newspaper).

Cleanliness. I don't think this should ever be compromised. The reception & other public spaces looked clean & tidy. My room was serviced satisfactorily. The bathroom was acceptable but mould was very much in evidence on bath & sink seals & around fittings & the toilet was stained. Could have been better.

Air con. Worked properly & not excessively noisy though it sometimes made a 'whooshing' noise even when switched off which wasn't good at night. Windows were all OK.

Decor & fittings. Functional, minimally aesthetic but fine for the price. Bed was OK...I had 2 single beds for sole occupancy. Adequate pillows, sheets etc. Lighting good...bedside and wall lights and plenty of light in the bathroom.

The boast of 'satellite TV' may have been technically true but don't be fooled into thinking this means wide choice & good picture quality. It was analogue with snowy reception. Only 1 English-speaking channel...BBC World News and a very old 14 inch CRT TV for which they normally charge for the remote control...how incredibly petty! The receptionist decided not to charge me and seemed to think I should be grateful!

Overall, not disastrous but there's better for your money than this dated and slightly neglected hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank umbugnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is a great budget hotel, with easy bus connection to the airport, Valetta and Cirkwwe (for Gozo). The bus stop is across the street and the bus service is comfortable, cheap and frequent. The X2 bus from and to the airport takes about an hour each way because of its meandering route, which may be tiresome. The hotel has 7 floors, with a nice rooftop terrace and a (paid) internet station. The room in which I stayed (with attached bathroom) was simple and clean and came with a fan. The hot water was good, but at the 7th floor water pressure was low, and the shower was somewhat of a trickle. The included breakfast was very adequate, and included hot items (omelette, sausages, beans) in addition to a selection of cold cuts, jams, yogurt, cold cereals and apples. Coffee was served to order. There is a great supermarket and several restaurants nearby and it is possible to have a meal, a snack or ice-cream in one of the open air coffee shops on the sea promenade across the street. Highly recommended for cost conscious travelers.

Room Tip: Perhaps room on lower floors will have better water pressure in the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We needed a hotel to stay the night after an emergency meant we had to rearrange our flights for the following day. Tourist Info at the airport recommended this place as a reasonable priced three star hotel and it ticked all the boxes.

It is situated on the main drag in Sliema, which can be quite noisy, but we had come from 10 days in Gozo so I should think anywhere would have felt noisy to us! The room was clean and well appointed. The beds were comfortable (and considering I had broken ribs - that is really saying something). The air conditioning worked well and the ceiling fan was pleasingly quiet. There was no remote from the TV and no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. The balcony was a good size with a great view.

We got stuck in the lift on our way out in the evening, which after breaking my ribs in the airport, was certainly and adventure. However, the staff were quickly there to help us out (we had to step down about 30cm to the ground floor) and they seemed well practised at fixing the lift (which may suggest it happens frequently..?).

Breakfast was what you would expect in a three star Maltese hotel. Toast, ham and cheese, cereal, cooked items (frankfurters, eggs and beans), and juice. For the price it was good value. On the whole the staff were very friendly and efficient. I couldn't say that I would stay they for a week's holiday (probably more to do with the location rather than the hotel itself) but it was certain suitable for our purposes.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are nice - I should imagine the inland ones have quite a bleak view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mooglove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a great location and what a view! But..
We were aware that this is a 3star hotel in malta. We travel here a lot to see our son who lives there, so we had a good idea what to expect for the rate we paid. The sea view rooms are a must and a good size balcony and chairs. Rooms are basic with a ceiling fan and a/c. Adequate but can be noisy according to setting. Bathroom clean and a good size. "Toiletries" are provided, but this comprises of small bar of hand soap. It is not possible to really shower, so make sure you bring or buy some to use. No hair dryer.
Breakfast is served downstairs and would be adequate. Some hot food and cereals with cold meats. Apparently, according to web site, breakfast can be served in room- I did not ask, but had been told that there is no room service.
We wanted a fridge and was provided with one at €2.50 per day. Wifi also has to be paid for.
The staff were very nice and helpful. We stayed for a few days and went travelling and came back to stay for a few more days. The room we were allocated stank of cigarette smoke, horrible. Straight away we were offered another room which was fine and within 5 mins. 2 ladies arrived with a double mattress and fridge! Very good service.
We wanted a clean, well situated, economical hotel which we got.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank patsy55_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We have spent a beatiful one month in July 2013 in Sliema Chalet Hotel.
Our rooms were always clean - thanks to the polite and hard working cleaning staff. The breakfast table was always fully loaded, even just after 10am. The receptionists are very kind and helpful. And at last but not least our bigest thank goes to Mr. Ian Sultana, the General Manager of the hotel. Honestly, he is one of the best GMs in this industry and we know quite many...
We recommend this accomodation to everyone who are looking a cheap, but clean and cozy hotel with a helpful staff at a perfect location in Malta.
Andor & Adrienn

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Good location, but overall not worth it. The hotel was the worst aspect of our trip.

Hotel is actually two buildings next to each other. Make sure to request a room in the right building (as you face the hotel), to get a more recently updated room. We had an ocean view from a room in the left building (room #s 40-something), and the room was definitely not as nice as the pictures of the rooms on the newer side and we paid the same price.

Unfortunately, the A/C did not work. Put in two requests but no one ever came. Hotel reception service is very hit or miss with some representatives being better than others. Small water flys in bathroom and a mold ridden shower curtain. Would not recommend. Have stayed in nicer hostels for half the price!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABW100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,010 reviews
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#13 of 28 in Sliema
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,391 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sliema Chalet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sliema Chalet Hotel

Property: Sliema Chalet Hotel
Address: 117 Tower Rd, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 16, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sliema Chalet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Lastminute, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sliema Chalet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sliema Chalet Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing