We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sliema Chalet Hotel
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Pleasant budget hotel”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Chalet Hotel is a fairly simple, but comfortable establishment, well situated on the seafront at Sliema. Our rooms were clean and comfortable, although very basic. The tv sets were very antiquated however, with only a very limited range of satellite channels available, and a zapper only available on a deposit. The staff were all very friendly and efficient. Breakfast was included in our package, and was a fairly good self-service buffet, with a reasonable range of items available. Overall, it was excellent value for money, as part of what was a very cheap package deal!
Although Sliema is not the most exciting place in Malta, with a plethora of large modern hotel blocks and apartments, but it is very conveniently placed base for the short ferry trip across to Valetta, with plenty of local shops and restaurants, including seafront cafés and a large supermarket situated a few hundred metres aways. If you have a rental car, (essential to explore the island properly), there is fairly good, and unrestricted, car parking available on the nearby streets.

Room Tip: We stayed in rear facing rooms, which only look out over the courtyard, with slam windows and no vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HughAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    165
    177
    89
    54
See reviews for
64
221
67
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sombor, Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My better half and myself visited in mid-January. Perfect sightseeing.

Location: We had a flight that arrived late on a Saturday night, so the bus was talking all the party people to St. Julian's which is just further on, nevertheless the hotel was easy to find since it's right in front of the Chalet stop in Sliema, and even has a neon sign. That's the only time the bus was crowded, other days we were always able to find a seat. That said, it is well connected even with direct buses, not only via Valletta (30 min.). Also one Sightseeing line stops in front.

Quality of stay: Service was always pleasant and helpful, at ANY time (4 AM, for example, I couldn't sleep and went to ask about Internet connection). Breakfast, as probably everyone commented, was the same every morning, yet there was enough variation not to eat the same thing twice during our 1-week stay. Housekeeping kept bringing soap, and fresh towels, every day, even when we put do not disturb sign, the towels were left in front of the door.

Costs: Since this was WAY off season, the prices were low: 22 Euros per room per night, being the most expensive option (breakfast and sea view). That's with discount on 7 nights and over. But everything else is to be paid extra: Internet, yes. Safe deposit box, yes. TV, yes. AC is luckily included, we actually used it for heating.

Simplicity: Two elevators or the stairs. Large balcony, walled off from other rooms'. One useful thing, one electric socket is UK type and the other one regular European, also the "electric razor only" could charge the phones, the only risk involved was water splashing in the bathroom :). Supermarket, from cash register to the room in 4 minutes flat (actually downhill).

Thumbs up for budget stay and still decent quality. Not WoW but it did not disappoint. It has my vote.

Room Tip: Do pay extra for the sea view, it's what gives this place "edge" over others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Triprepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here nine nights on recommendation of a friend who had also stayed here. My suggestion would be to upgrade to ocean view room as this is right opposite the water and has a stunning view. Rooms and hotel are clearly dated, but I found the room to be clean. This hotel is close to restaurants, the promenade across the road and bus stops right outside. An ideal location for a first visit to Malta.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manns16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Malta was brilliant and Sliema Chalet was a highlight. Everything works, the staff are helpful if not effusive. There was a misunderstanding because hostelbookers and mistakenly listed the room as "breakfast included". That being said, upon checking the manager was happy to oblige, stating "we want you to be happy". Free WiFi is available only on level 7 common room; for wifi in the rooms you have to pay. The balconies offer awesome sea views and are wide and spacious.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tongrhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

A budget hotel so I tailored my expectations accordingly. Similar price to 2 previous Sliema hotels I had stayed at over the previous 2 years.

Reception staff ranged from 'neutral' to unfriendly (i e. too much trouble to look up from the newspaper).

Cleanliness. I don't think this should ever be compromised. The reception & other public spaces looked clean & tidy. My room was serviced satisfactorily. The bathroom was acceptable but mould was very much in evidence on bath & sink seals & around fittings & the toilet was stained. Could have been better.

Air con. Worked properly & not excessively noisy though it sometimes made a 'whooshing' noise even when switched off which wasn't good at night. Windows were all OK.

Decor & fittings. Functional, minimally aesthetic but fine for the price. Bed was OK...I had 2 single beds for sole occupancy. Adequate pillows, sheets etc. Lighting good...bedside and wall lights and plenty of light in the bathroom.

The boast of 'satellite TV' may have been technically true but don't be fooled into thinking this means wide choice & good picture quality. It was analogue with snowy reception. Only 1 English-speaking channel...BBC World News and a very old 14 inch CRT TV for which they normally charge for the remote control...how incredibly petty! The receptionist decided not to charge me and seemed to think I should be grateful!

Overall, not disastrous but there's better for your money than this dated and slightly neglected hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank umbugnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is a great budget hotel, with easy bus connection to the airport, Valetta and Cirkwwe (for Gozo). The bus stop is across the street and the bus service is comfortable, cheap and frequent. The X2 bus from and to the airport takes about an hour each way because of its meandering route, which may be tiresome. The hotel has 7 floors, with a nice rooftop terrace and a (paid) internet station. The room in which I stayed (with attached bathroom) was simple and clean and came with a fan. The hot water was good, but at the 7th floor water pressure was low, and the shower was somewhat of a trickle. The included breakfast was very adequate, and included hot items (omelette, sausages, beans) in addition to a selection of cold cuts, jams, yogurt, cold cereals and apples. Coffee was served to order. There is a great supermarket and several restaurants nearby and it is possible to have a meal, a snack or ice-cream in one of the open air coffee shops on the sea promenade across the street. Highly recommended for cost conscious travelers.

Room Tip: Perhaps room on lower floors will have better water pressure in the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We needed a hotel to stay the night after an emergency meant we had to rearrange our flights for the following day. Tourist Info at the airport recommended this place as a reasonable priced three star hotel and it ticked all the boxes.

It is situated on the main drag in Sliema, which can be quite noisy, but we had come from 10 days in Gozo so I should think anywhere would have felt noisy to us! The room was clean and well appointed. The beds were comfortable (and considering I had broken ribs - that is really saying something). The air conditioning worked well and the ceiling fan was pleasingly quiet. There was no remote from the TV and no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. The balcony was a good size with a great view.

We got stuck in the lift on our way out in the evening, which after breaking my ribs in the airport, was certainly and adventure. However, the staff were quickly there to help us out (we had to step down about 30cm to the ground floor) and they seemed well practised at fixing the lift (which may suggest it happens frequently..?).

Breakfast was what you would expect in a three star Maltese hotel. Toast, ham and cheese, cereal, cooked items (frankfurters, eggs and beans), and juice. For the price it was good value. On the whole the staff were very friendly and efficient. I couldn't say that I would stay they for a week's holiday (probably more to do with the location rather than the hotel itself) but it was certain suitable for our purposes.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are nice - I should imagine the inland ones have quite a bleak view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mooglove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,017 reviews
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#12 of 28 in Sliema
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,095 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plevna Hotel
Plevna Hotel
#17 of 28 in Sliema
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sliema Chalet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sliema Chalet Hotel

Property: Sliema Chalet Hotel
Address: 117 Tower Rd, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 16, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sliema Chalet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sliema Chalet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sliema Chalet Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing