We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sliema Chalet Hotel
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sliema Chalet Hotel.
Room was cleaned every day
Bathroom was spotless
Excellent sea views
Perfect location for Valetta and the rest of the island
Staff very friendly and efficient
Full English breakfast
reception open 24hrs

Will definitely recommend this hotel

We will be back

Room Tip: Get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernst E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    155
    164
    85
    50
See reviews for
57
203
62
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

This hotel is basic but we found it had everything we needed for a week, we had a seaview room with terrific views of the sea just over the road.The staff were extremely friendly and assisted promptly with any requests. Only problem we had was an old TV with bad reception and no english channels, the hotel would do well to upgrade the televsions and use satelite but after all it's a budget hotel and you are out most of the day so not really a problem to us. The roof terrace was in need of some attention as it wasn't very inviting. We didnt choose to have breakfast as it finishes at 9:30am and as we liked a lazy start had breakfast on the seafront in a lovely friendly espanade cafe close by. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel making its position in Sliema perfect and only a short walk to the ferries to Valetta. We would return to this hotel again provided we had a seaview room as it was very pleasent chilling on the balcony mornings and evenings.

Room Tip: You must have a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookiesrule1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights on a short holiday. It's a nice budget hotel, some people seem to forget the ''budget'' aspect of it, don't expect perfection. It was easy to find, there's plenty of busses to Sliema, you want the Chalet stop just outside.

We found it to be very clean and well kept, yes some of the furniture is getting on, but it still functions. The TV was very old and with limited channels and signal, but when you have that sea view, who'd want to watch TV? Free Wi-Fi would have been nice, but from what ive seen, not many budget hotels in Malta offer this anyway.

Our room was 231, it was basic, we had 1 single bed in the first section of the room and 2 single beds together with a double memory foam mat over the top, it was comfy enough. A large wardrobe with plenty of storage space, a small table and 2 cushioned chairs and 2 chairs out on the balcony. The room was well lit and had air con aswell as 2 ceiling fans. The view was nice, but the double glazed doors didn't keep much noise out.

The bathroom had a combo bath/shower, which always had hot water available and good pressure. There was some mold marks around the bath, but its not going to kill you is it?
There was a good supply of complimentary toiletries and 3 good size towels.

Breakfast consisted of a spread of hot food (bacon, eggs, sausage, beans, toast) and cold (cereals, fruit, yogurts) various breads and pastries, plus a coffee/tea machine and a juice machine, so plenty of choice. There was always plenty of food in stock and the quality was okay, as to be expected at a budget hotel.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, even the guy who had to climb over the balcony when our door lock ran out of battery....

Overall, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must. Remember its a budget hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tgsm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We had a sea view room, waken up by the beaming blue sea every morning. The hotel is spotlessly clean. The beds could be improved but still very nice as you would be tired after a whole day of exploring anyway. The TV is not working but really there is no point to watch TV when there is so much to do outside! Hotel location is brilliant too. Reasonably priced. Staff seem serious about what they are doing but they are super nice and flexible. They guard our luggage for the whole day! After checking out, they still let us get ready (using shower room etc in the hotel) for our air journey back home. Would love to visit Sliema again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hanlin X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Good value for money in Sliema. Hotel staff are very nice and helpful but free wifi would have been nice. Beds are comfy and the cleaners are super polite and always arrived on time. St. Julians / Paceville are all walking distance. Bus stop directly outside which is convenient.

Room Tip: We did not stay in the height of summer and the rooms are cool in May.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avinash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed at the Chalet for a total of 10 night unfortunately, only one week ago so this review is recent.

Upon arrival firstly my room had not been saved for me even though had booked 6 months earlier.
I was sent to another of their hotels the Europa which was even worse for the first night.

The only good thing about this hotel is the Manager Ian all else is absolutely pathetic.

1. Room was dirty
2. Room smelt like sewerage had to keep bath door closed at all times.
3. Bed had springs exposed to no rest what so ever.
4. Bed was noisy couldn't turn around without waking all up.
5. Shower was luke warm and also no pressure and could not aim the shower head as always pointed towards wall regardless what you did.
6. Breakfast was of poor quality.

Would not recommend this place to anyone.

It actually spoilt my trip as only went away for 3 weeks and 2 of that was spent at this horrible hotel from hell.

I did try to find alternative accommodation but all was booked out.

Very disappointed as was to be a trip of my life time this actually spoilt it.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed at the hotel for one week. I booked an inland view room. Got room #777 on the top floor.

Good: The location is excellent, in front of the hotel and opposite the hotel is a bus stop "chalet", there are lots of buses there that can take you all over the Malta. You can also catch the "Bus X2" that goes straight to the airport there. The hotel is very central, the beach is opposite the hotel and there are lots of food places and shops. "The Point" shopping Mall is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. There are 2 Catholic churches 5 minutes away from the hotel. The price of the hotel is very cheap and breakfast is included. Breakfast is good. There is free WiFi at the lounge on the top floor. The room as a good size, large.

Bad: Room 777 is dirty. Even after cleaning each day it is dirty. The towels are old and worn out, with holes in them. When I first entered my room #777 it smelt heavily of cigarette smoke. Terrible. I tried to turn on the fan to circulate air, still smelt very bad. I went down to reception to report and they told me that the rooms were non-smoking. They didn't even let me change to another room. They just gave me air freshener to spray the room. The furniture was old and dirty. The floors were dirty. The bed cover was dirty (I took it off), the bed was old. The shower was in a bathtub, with a shower curtain. The shower curtain was stained, didn't work well and after a shower there was always a puddle of water on the floor.The shower was terrible, no water pressure and the water was luke warm. Reception said Room 777 had free wifi in the room, it doesn't work. You have to go outside to the lounge to get the free WiFi. The lounge is right outside the room and it is always full, especially at night there are always lots of people there. The lounge was ok though because everyone was using the internet in silence. It was like a library, not one spoke, so it wasn't noisy. No fridge in the room, no hairdryer.

Overall: it was ok. I got used to it. The location was convenient, I got breakfast each morning.

Room Tip: Don't choose an "inland view" room, when booking. Possibly get room 777, top floor, ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2014wtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#15 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Sliema Hotel
Sliema Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sliema Chalet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sliema Chalet Hotel

Property: Sliema Chalet Hotel
Address: 117 Tower Rd, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 16, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sliema Chalet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sliema Chalet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sliema Chalet Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing