We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel shame about staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
bathgate scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice hotel shame about staff”
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Just back from this hotel, had a room overlooking the bay in the Plaza side of hotel and must admit the room was lovely.Very clean and maid service everyday we were there.You get some noise from the road right outside but not enough to cause any problems.Only down side we found was the lack of friendliness from the staff.No smiles or greetings it was as if you were an inconvenience to them especially in the dining hall.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikegscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    434
    362
    169
    117
See reviews for
182
646
115
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
winsford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Stayed for a month at this hotel
and realy enjoy ourselves.Our room
was cleans every day by a very nice
girl .Food was Ok could allways find something that we liked staff very helpfull and pleasant.Looking forward to going again next year for
the same weeks.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greybadgerheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Stayed in Plaza Hotel ( left hand one when looking at both hotels from front of buildings....they are joined by a enclosed bridge corridor on 6th floor).
Room was on 2nd floor at rear of building with no balcony and not much of a view. It did get morning sunlight. The room had been modernised recently and I did note other modernisation works were being undertaken on other floors whilst I was there.
Room was comfortable , meals were good but not great, atmosphere in common areas was pleasant, indoor pool is small but very warm and welcoming. Bar area is on small side.
Lots of bars and restaurants locally and bus stop also handy.
Understand that room sizes vary and at least one room ( on each floor??) has no external window, overlooking an internal service well, so be forwarned.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chilled-outTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Having read reviews of this Hotel after booking I was somewhat nervous as to what my friend and I would find. Our rooms 412 and 413 were clean and comfortable. The food was plentiful. We sometimes had dinner as well as breakfast in the hotel and it was cheap, plentiful and perfectly acceptable. All the staff in all areas of the hotel were pleasant, polite and friendly.

The Hotel is ideally situated on the sea road with bus stops to all parts of Malta outside the door. Cafes, bars and restaurants are nearby.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMF62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

My 2nd visit to this hotel, this time i travelled solo with out my husband so i only booked a single room. I wasnt expecting a balcony or a sea view like i had the last time i visited, but i was allocated a terrible room. BE AWARE single rooms on the Plaza side do not have a window and over look a shaft. When i asked the Reception whether i could have another room with at least some day light i was told they where fully booked and told to check back the next day. The next day i went back where i was offered another room on the opposite side of the Hotel (Plaza Regency). I was wonderfully greeted by a wonderful receptionist Claire who actually remembered me from my last visit. The room was ok, reminded me abit of the box i last bought my shoes in and the water was abit brown, but if you leave the water run for some time it clears out. Booked Halfboard this time, unfortunate to find out i think i might have prefered to be on a bed and breakfast basis but oh well! Pleasant stay and great staff

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie_Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Having booked a late deal we found this holiday good value for money especially as we had a superior room which was spacious wth a settee, fridge and view across the bay. Breakfast was OK but the evening meal was disappointing with the food being pretty tasteless - vegetables were usually tinned and the gateaux very bland - dining room Staff not very friendly either. If we had paid full price we would not have been happy. The roof terrace was pleasant but soon filled up with smokers so it was like trying to read and relax in an ashtray!
The holday however was enjoyable - even though the bath/shower water was very brown it was always hot and our fridge was very welcome.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

We stayed at The Plaza in March 2011 having been put up there for a few weeks by my partners company before finding our own accommodation and having read some of the reviews on here I was worried about what I'd find! I needn't have worried though it's a nice hotel that has and still is being refurbished extensively.

We were in a family studio which overlooked the indoor swimming pool and the streets behind the hotel, while it wasn't a beautiful view it was fine and the room was well equipped with a large bathroom with bath and shower, a small kitchenette with an electric hob, fridge, toaster and microwave which doubled as an oven and grill. There were two comfy single beds pushed into a double and a sofa, which we originally thought was a sofa bed for my daughter, unfortunately it wasn't and she spent her first night curled up on the sofa. On speaking to reception the following day they apologised and although housekeeping had already left for the day, arranged for a bed to be moved into our room by some of the male staff to accommodate her. The room was clean and maid service was daily should you require it. The housekeepers often made our beds up and even arranged my daughters blanket, cushions and cuddly toys brought from home for her. I also saw one of the sea view family studios during my stay and it was absolutely huge with the most beautiful view so if you can afford the extra money I would go for one of those rooms!

The hotel offers breakfast in the roof top restaurant which affords a beautiful view of the sea and surrounding coastal area and there was lots of choice each day, from cooked breakfasts, a huge array of breads, cakes and pastries to cereal, fruit and cold meats and cheeses. There was a plentiful supply of different coffees, hot chocolate, tea, water and juices to choose from too. The restaurant is also open for lunch and dinner and many of the hotel residents seemed to be eating in there for lunch and dinner, although we ate out or in our room. There is a small mini market which is situated in the road between the HSBC cash point and a pub within a few minutes walk from the hotel and if you carry on further past Ballutta Bay you come to Park Towers which is a large supermarket so there is plenty of choice if you do choose to eat in your room.

The hotel has a small indoor swimming pool, which my daughter and I used on a few occasions, which was clean and perfect for a swim when the weather isn't warm enough to use the roof top pool. And there was entertainment on a nightly basis in the bar adjoining the indoor pool which seemed very popular.

The gem in the crown of The Plaza is Cara's which is a delightful cafe offering the most delicious cakes, coffees and hot chocolates you will find in the area. They also make delicious sandwiches and pasties and offer room service. It's the one place we returned to on a regular basis and we still do now that we live in Malta. It is extremely good value for money, I would go so far as to say it is cheap. There is plenty of room to eat both inside and out, they offer a takeaway service and also room service to the rooms of the hotel for a small fee.

The staff in the hotel, from the reception desk, housekeepers, restaurant staff, maintenance staff and to the staff in Cara's were all very polite, friendly and helpful and made us feel at home. The manager of the hotel was also very friendly and did his best to ensure that we, and other guests at the hotel, were enjoying our stay.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family should they wish to stay in a hotel when they come to visit us in future. The only thing I would bear in mind is the access to the hotel, you have to go up some steps to get in to the hotel which would be difficult for someone with mobility problems or someone with a pushchair to negotiate.

Room Tip: Sea view family studios - huge with gorgeous view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank K28Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#11 of 28 in Sliema
940 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#13 of 28 in Sliema
558 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels

Property: The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Address: 248 Tower Rd, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1600, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotel Sliema
The Plaza And Plaza Regency Hotels
Regency Hotel Sliema
Regency Hotel Plaza
Plaza Regency Malta
Plaza Hotel Malta
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing