We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE WOULD DEFINITLEY RETURNE TO THE PLAZA HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
rhyl
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“WE WOULD DEFINITLEY RETURNE TO THE PLAZA HOTEL”
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We checked into the Plaza Hotel on 24/05/11 -31/05/2011. I was a bit worried having read the reviews, but i thought if they put us in a bad room i will just ask if they have any upgrades. However we were in room 430 on the fourth floor, it was all updated a new bathroom, and shower, we also had a hairdryer in the bathroom. We took a kettle as we booked half board, and was not sure of tea making facilities, but we had a kettle in the room cups,milk, tea & coffee. and a fridge. The rooms were cleaned every day and the towels changed. We had a large plazma tv on the wall. (but we did not use it, but it did work.) Air condition, our room was on the side over Cara`s Cafe, but we could also look at the sea. The Breakfast was good somthing for everyone, the evening meal was a bit bland the Beef was nice and my Daughter enjoyed the Rabbit, my Daughter enjoyed the Gateau`s and the Ice Cream was nice, they always have salad nice choice of Bread and Fruit. Cara`s Cafe is for Chocoholics, the hot Chocolate is just like a melted Chocolate Bar realy thick. The Cafe over road Pepe`s dose a realy good home made Burger we only normaly eat Burgers we make ourselves and not very often, but as we passed we saw people with them and they were good. The young man over the road from the hotel selling Trips for the Hop On Hop Off Bus is called Darryl from Burnley he has been in Malta for 11yrs and is very Helpful, you also get a free Harbour Trip and if you say "Okey Cokey" you will get a bigger Discount. We did the Harbour Trip on our last day and realy enjoyed it. The only down side is ARIVA will be doing the Busses from September so no more Yellow Busses. We would Definitely stay at the Plaza again, as it was so hot we were swimming in the Roof Top Pool at 6pm. it was Great.

Room Tip: Smile be polite say Please & Thank You
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank chrissyrhyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    430
    350
    167
    115
See reviews for
179
632
113
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed in Plaza Hotel with the restaurant - the sister hotel the other side didn't seem to have been refurbished yet. Our room was modern, clean and spacious and everything looked brand new. We had plenty of room with 3 single beds but no balcony. Make sure you request a balcony. Lovely sea view but very noisy from the road at night. The doors cut out the noise but room was stuffy with doors shut. Air con worked well but I like fresh air. Not noisy with people coming in late at night but from boy racers revving up and down the road and the sound of bottles being emptied by the hundreds into a skip each night.

Food in hotel was good and plentiful - not chips every night, always a fish and pasta dish along with 3 choices of meat dishes.

Rooftop pool small but adequate and there were always sun loungers available, not crowded when we were there late May.

For the price we paid - an excellent deal.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank indie0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Malta is always marvellous in the spring, and this hotel added to my pleasure. I had a room on the second floor of the hotel on the right hand side block (from the road) My room was a double, (useful for spreading things out) and looked out over the sea. The buses run regularly from the stop in front of the hotel, and every two numbered bus will take you to the central bus hub at Valletta. My room had an en-suite bath and shower, and it was all cleaned daily. The breakfast was very good, (6th floor across the bridge) and taking a Maltese friend there for an evening meal, she told me that she would put it on her list, and would come again. The rooftop sun terrace has a swimming pool, but this would be open again in the summer. There is a swimming pool in the basement.
The staff were all friendly and helpful without exception.

Room Tip: Book with Cassar and Cooper. Maltese travel agent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobertFordTonbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bathgate scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Just back from this hotel, had a room overlooking the bay in the Plaza side of hotel and must admit the room was lovely.Very clean and maid service everyday we were there.You get some noise from the road right outside but not enough to cause any problems.Only down side we found was the lack of friendliness from the staff.No smiles or greetings it was as if you were an inconvenience to them especially in the dining hall.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikegscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winsford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Stayed for a month at this hotel
and realy enjoy ourselves.Our room
was cleans every day by a very nice
girl .Food was Ok could allways find something that we liked staff very helpfull and pleasant.Looking forward to going again next year for
the same weeks.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greybadgerheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Stayed in Plaza Hotel ( left hand one when looking at both hotels from front of buildings....they are joined by a enclosed bridge corridor on 6th floor).
Room was on 2nd floor at rear of building with no balcony and not much of a view. It did get morning sunlight. The room had been modernised recently and I did note other modernisation works were being undertaken on other floors whilst I was there.
Room was comfortable , meals were good but not great, atmosphere in common areas was pleasant, indoor pool is small but very warm and welcoming. Bar area is on small side.
Lots of bars and restaurants locally and bus stop also handy.
Understand that room sizes vary and at least one room ( on each floor??) has no external window, overlooking an internal service well, so be forwarned.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chilled-outTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Having read reviews of this Hotel after booking I was somewhat nervous as to what my friend and I would find. Our rooms 412 and 413 were clean and comfortable. The food was plentiful. We sometimes had dinner as well as breakfast in the hotel and it was cheap, plentiful and perfectly acceptable. All the staff in all areas of the hotel were pleasant, polite and friendly.

The Hotel is ideally situated on the sea road with bus stops to all parts of Malta outside the door. Cafes, bars and restaurants are nearby.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMF62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#15 of 28 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.7 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#7 of 28 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels

Property: The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Address: 248 Tower Rd, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1600, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotel Sliema
The Plaza And Plaza Regency Hotels
Regency Hotel Sliema
Regency Hotel Plaza
Plaza Regency Malta
Plaza Hotel Malta
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing