We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was...OK.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It was...OK.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed in the Plaza Hotel (not the Plaza Regency). The location is good, but the rest was just average. We first got a small, dark (!) room, which stank of old cigarette smoke (room 109). We quickly asked to get another room that didn`t smell plus also had a window. We got the same type of room for one more night and then we could change to a room with a window the next day. Room 109 and 209 looked more like double rooms that you could expect to get if you stay in a one star hotel or in a youth hostel, but the other room was more like an average three star hotel. There were also some rooms with balcony and sea view, but you probably have to pay more to get one of those. The breakfast was ok and so was the service of the staff. The indoor pool seemed to be closed during the summer season and the outdoor pool could only be used by two people at the same time. The sun deck on the 7th floor was good. It is probably not the best three star hotel in Sliema, but it`s OK ( at least if you are lucky to get a nice room).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zablar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    419
    334
    163
    114
See reviews for
174
610
110
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Stayed here for 6 nights which i booked through late rooms for 330 euros.Hotel is about 20 minutes by taxi from the airport and costs 20 euro which tou pay before getting into the taxi after you come out through customs. We arrived 1 hour early for our reservation check in time so we had a bite to eat untill we were ready to check us in. Upon checkin they upgraded us free of charge.The rooms are quite nice with safes, iron ,tv, and kitchenette which are in the upgrades but not in the basic. The balconys are quite small though.On the roof where the outdoor pool and bar/ restaurant are ,theres beautifull views over the whole bay .The hotel has it own restaurant attached where i had deserts, sandwichs a couple of time really cheap aswell. Price of beer generally cheap approx 2-3 euro pint depending on what your having compared to 5 euro if your staying in the 5 star places where are friends where staying plus the accomodation was triple the price.Only drawback i would have is the lifts are a bit tempremental for example if your staying on the 6th floor it might stop on every floor before youy reach reception even though nobody has pressed the buttons.The indoor pool + jacuzzi are quite nice but were not always heated. Either way the hotel is very centrally located approx 5-10 minute walk down into St Julians bay where all the clubs are alternatively a bus from outside the hotel for 50cents will you get to most areas of the island.Overall i would come back to this hotel again because its in my price range, hotel staff are friendy and the hotel rooms are what you would expect for a 3 star hotel

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IRELAND1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhyl
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

We checked into the Plaza Hotel on 24/05/11 -31/05/2011. I was a bit worried having read the reviews, but i thought if they put us in a bad room i will just ask if they have any upgrades. However we were in room 430 on the fourth floor, it was all updated a new bathroom, and shower, we also had a hairdryer in the bathroom. We took a kettle as we booked half board, and was not sure of tea making facilities, but we had a kettle in the room cups,milk, tea & coffee. and a fridge. The rooms were cleaned every day and the towels changed. We had a large plazma tv on the wall. (but we did not use it, but it did work.) Air condition, our room was on the side over Cara`s Cafe, but we could also look at the sea. The Breakfast was good somthing for everyone, the evening meal was a bit bland the Beef was nice and my Daughter enjoyed the Rabbit, my Daughter enjoyed the Gateau`s and the Ice Cream was nice, they always have salad nice choice of Bread and Fruit. Cara`s Cafe is for Chocoholics, the hot Chocolate is just like a melted Chocolate Bar realy thick. The Cafe over road Pepe`s dose a realy good home made Burger we only normaly eat Burgers we make ourselves and not very often, but as we passed we saw people with them and they were good. The young man over the road from the hotel selling Trips for the Hop On Hop Off Bus is called Darryl from Burnley he has been in Malta for 11yrs and is very Helpful, you also get a free Harbour Trip and if you say "Okey Cokey" you will get a bigger Discount. We did the Harbour Trip on our last day and realy enjoyed it. The only down side is ARIVA will be doing the Busses from September so no more Yellow Busses. We would Definitely stay at the Plaza again, as it was so hot we were swimming in the Roof Top Pool at 6pm. it was Great.

Room Tip: Smile be polite say Please & Thank You
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank chrissyrhyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed in Plaza Hotel with the restaurant - the sister hotel the other side didn't seem to have been refurbished yet. Our room was modern, clean and spacious and everything looked brand new. We had plenty of room with 3 single beds but no balcony. Make sure you request a balcony. Lovely sea view but very noisy from the road at night. The doors cut out the noise but room was stuffy with doors shut. Air con worked well but I like fresh air. Not noisy with people coming in late at night but from boy racers revving up and down the road and the sound of bottles being emptied by the hundreds into a skip each night.

Food in hotel was good and plentiful - not chips every night, always a fish and pasta dish along with 3 choices of meat dishes.

Rooftop pool small but adequate and there were always sun loungers available, not crowded when we were there late May.

For the price we paid - an excellent deal.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank indie0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

Malta is always marvellous in the spring, and this hotel added to my pleasure. I had a room on the second floor of the hotel on the right hand side block (from the road) My room was a double, (useful for spreading things out) and looked out over the sea. The buses run regularly from the stop in front of the hotel, and every two numbered bus will take you to the central bus hub at Valletta. My room had an en-suite bath and shower, and it was all cleaned daily. The breakfast was very good, (6th floor across the bridge) and taking a Maltese friend there for an evening meal, she told me that she would put it on her list, and would come again. The rooftop sun terrace has a swimming pool, but this would be open again in the summer. There is a swimming pool in the basement.
The staff were all friendly and helpful without exception.

Room Tip: Book with Cassar and Cooper. Maltese travel agent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobertFordTonbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bathgate scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

Just back from this hotel, had a room overlooking the bay in the Plaza side of hotel and must admit the room was lovely.Very clean and maid service everyday we were there.You get some noise from the road right outside but not enough to cause any problems.Only down side we found was the lack of friendliness from the staff.No smiles or greetings it was as if you were an inconvenience to them especially in the dining hall.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikegscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winsford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

Stayed for a month at this hotel
and realy enjoy ourselves.Our room
was cleans every day by a very nice
girl .Food was Ok could allways find something that we liked staff very helpfull and pleasant.Looking forward to going again next year for
the same weeks.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greybadgerheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.8 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels

Property: The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Address: 248 Tower Rd, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1600, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza And Plaza Regency Hotels
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotel Sliema
Regency Hotel Sliema
Regency Hotel Plaza
Plaza Regency Malta
Plaza Hotel Malta
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing