We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the risk!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not worth the risk!”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

The main problem with this place is that it's two hotels; one with some of the worst rooms I've ever had the misfortune to stay in (Regency), and the other upgraded to a reasonable standard. Considering your paying the same price for both, and don't know which hotel you'll be allocated until you arrive, it really isn't worth the risk!
We were allocated a room in the Regency on arrival that, to be honest, was so poor (filthy, black mold in the shower - unbelievably small bathroom with brown staining all down walls and stinking of damp, horrible dirty,carpets!) we would have gone home or booked in to another hotel rather than suffer for two weeks.
The room we managed to get moved to on day two in the Plaza was to a better standard , but bathroom still too small, and NO windows!
Food was very mediocre, with little choice or variety. Very little choice for vegetarians - you have to pick something at breakfast for dinner from a very limited choice, unless you want to live on omelettes for two weeks!
In summary don't book this hotel unless you want to have the hassle of trying to get moved to a decent room if you are allocated to the lousy rooms in the Regency.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thomastng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    426
    338
    165
    114
See reviews for
175
621
111
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caceres, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Stayed at the Plaza on bed and breakfast basis for 4 days. The hotel is located in a really good place closed to nice restaurants and in front of the bus stop. Our only problem was the room (409). It was really small, dark, smelly and it just got a little window facing to a tinny patio in which you couldn´t even breath. Also the lift wasn´t working most of the time and it was always really busy. Swimming pool area was superb and bar staff really nice and always ready to help.

Room Tip: Don´t stay in 409.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarioAG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed in the Plaza for a couple of days in June whilst on business trip. Buffet style breakfast was excellent with a good selection and good quality. Room was comfortable with nice views across harbour and a rooftop pool and bar, very reasonably priced. Best way to travel round island is on an all day arriva bus for only £2.20, excellent value. Opposite the hotel is a lovely paved prom where you can walk miles without dealing with traffic. As I was checking out late I was transferred to the Plaza Regency next door and this was grim however as was only for 5 hours I could live with it. I also paid 25 euroes for the non-pleasure. Internet costs an absolute fortune and is bought on a voucher system with 1 hr, 2.50eu, 2 hr, 4.50eu up to 10hr at 20eu.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank bewise56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stayed at The Plaza on a self catering basis for a week booked through Thomas Cook.
Hotel is a good location with plenty of places to eat and drink in the immediate vicinity and Sleima and Spinola Bay are both a plesant walk away.
The check in process seemed a little complicated with the reception person taking our details and then asking us to sit down whilst she checked with housekeeping to see the status of our room.
After about 20 minutes she said our room was ready.
Unfortunately it was a ground floor room that had absolutely no view except for those people looking down on us!
We phoned reception and she was nice enough to find us another room but again went back to reception and waited for a further 30 minutes until eventually I reminded her and she phoned housekeeping and confirmed the room was ready.
The room was spacious with all the things you require for self catering, fridge, kettle, toaster, cultery etc.
Had drinks at the roof top bar on several ocassions and the staff were friendly and service quick.
If you are looking for a young crowd probably not the best hotel but still a great base to view all of Malta.
Suggestion: automatic sliding doors at reception

Room Tip: Specifically request sea view rooms otherwise you get ones at the back, which on a positive note are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Just got back from this hotel.It appers a little dated but is clean and friendly.Great base for getting round the island on the buses. Cheap at 12 euros for the week.The staff i found were helpful, we were not given the right room when we arrived but it was rectified the next day so were the problems with the plumbing. Breakfast was ok.There was a good selection ,didnt eat the evening meals so cant comment.It is a place more suited to the more mature person. The entertainment was ok ,only on in bar on roof at night.There is night life round the corner in paceville but if you want want kareoke bars and fish and chips then its not for you First time we have been to Malta in June and found it chilly at night. All in all a nice 3 star hotel

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. some of the rooms dont have any windows.Pay for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This is our second visit the the Plaza/Plaza Regency (2009) and this year.
Over all no comparison because last time we stayed in the Plaza side. This time we were put in the Plaza Regency side What a let down in a small room blue and grey paintwork, depressing had to have the lights on in the daytime to see. Paid £990-00 for this half board for two weeks. Then had to pay 12 euro per night to upgrade as they call it (132 euro from our spending money) to get a better room. It also apears talking to other people we were not the only ones.
I wont be back!!!!!!!
Nothing wrong with Malta i love it

Room Tip: Don't beleave what yo see on the photographs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colwyn Bay
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I Stayed at this hotel Solo in May booked through Cheveron, on arrival was given a small single room which I had booked, however it did not have a fridge which I require for medical reasons for storing medication. Asked reception about a fridge, and for a very modest charge was upgraded to a very spacious room with a very large fridge. Staff at this hotel were very helpful, espically Reception. Chambermaids where good and cheerful. Booked halfboard, there was a good choice of food. This hotel was excellent value for money. A Great location. Would dstay at this hotel again next time in Malta

Room Tip: If travelling around Malta there is now a good bus service run by Arriva Bus. To save money buy a da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fellte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
3,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#15 of 29 in Sliema
550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.7 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sliema
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels

Property: The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Address: 248 Tower Rd, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1600, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza And Plaza Regency Hotels
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotel Sliema
Regency Hotel Sliema
Regency Hotel Plaza
Plaza Regency Malta
Plaza Hotel Malta
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing