We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not for me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed on the plaza regency side if you can go the other side. Our room was overlooked by the regency with a small side window looking out to the sea. The only plus side to that was you could tap into peppis kiosk's free wifi.
Some staff were OK others were quite brash, the housekeeper was very nice tho.
Food was OK breakfast is better than the rest.
Entertainment was poor especially when it was held in the rooftop bar,( very windy ).
Would go back to Malta but not stay here.

Room Tip: Opt for the plaza side not the regency side.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank annandtony_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed first week of October 2012 for one week.Stayed in the Plaza side Rooms were refurbished with laminate flooring.Room was lovely and clean with good furniture and clean bedding and towels.Excellent location just minutes from the sea (three) with bus stops outside to go either way.Small sandy beach outside the hotel ideal for chidren but there is also bathing from the smooth rocks or from the stone pier for teenagers and adults.Food is very good self service and hot.Between the two hotels is a narrow street slightly uphill which leads to the Nappa bar on the corner of the second street on the right popular with locals and tourists has an outside seating area with probably the cheapest prices you will find while on holiday in Malta.The barmans name is Vince tell him Keith sent you.There is another pub,keep on walking up the hill to the third turning on your left,after 100 yards you come to Sneakers pub on your left.Very interesting collection of artifacts on the walls in fact every where.This pub has a pool table and very clean toilets again popular with locals and tourists and same prices as Nappa bar.This bar is closed on Tuesday evening and opens at 8-30pm each evening untill whoever is the last to leave.Barmans name is Peppi ex navy Chief Steward.Tell him Keith sent you.

Room Tip: If you smoke have a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithfromneath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Sunflower8 captures the flavor of this hotel. While I did not expect a fancy hotel, this was a sad place in a great location. Some staff were nice, others not so much. Look around for other hotel options, as there are many in this area....

Room Tip: Avoid Room 427 in the Regency!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cam330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We were with a group at this hotel and were originally in a room at "The Plaza" portion of this complex. It was awful. The facility was awful. Even the ocean view didn't make up for the noise which was horribly intrusive. The room was almost too small for two people, there was one outlet in the entire room, the beds didn't have mattress pads, one bed frame was broken, the hall paint was chipped and worn, the hall ceilings were low, the halls were dark, the room didn't appear to be clean and the floor was very dirty (I wore my shoes the whole time), there was a 2.50 euro charge per day to use the tiny safe in the room, there was no wifi unless you paid a huge fee and although the morning staff and the evening staff was nice and friendly there was one woman on the afternoon shift that was downright rude and scary. Customer service was not in her vocabulary. I asked her a question and because there were other people behind me waiting in line she pointed a finger at me and said "go to your room so I can call" and I felt like as was being sent to my room for punishment.

Thankfully, after 3 nights in the nightmare room we were able to move to the "Regency". We'd tried to do so earlier but they said there were no rooms. It didn't seem too full and we were there before the season so I wonder about that. We did have to pay 5 Euros a day more to get a better room. The updated room was much better by any standard but it still had issues. Taking a shower without flooding the bathroom was impossible. The hangers wouldn't stay in the slots to enable using the hangers to hang up clothes and when I put my slacks in a drawer the bottom of the drawer fell out. We were in a "family apartment" which was one large room that could accommodate 2 roll aways and had a little kitchenette. I noticed that there was a charge if we wanted to use the kitchenette. We did have mattress pads but the towels were old, thin and although they were supposed to be white they were gray with stains on them. (At least I hope it was stains)

Both facilities are served by the same dining area and we had paid for the "privilege" of having breakfast daily. The coffee was dispensed from a machine that put pre-measured instant Nescafe in a cup. It was dreadful. The variety never changed except one day we had canned peach halves instead of incredibly sour oranges. The hard boiled eggs always had black yolks, the juices were in no way real juice and tasted worse than bad powdered drink mix, the fried eggs were usually either too done or too runny, the bacon was NEVER cooked to doneness in any way, shape or form--I could go on and on but I think it's clear it was bad! The bread was good but there didn't appear to be any actual fruit in the jam to put on the toast. The staff in the dining room seemed very nice but they didn't have a lot to work with.

The area around the hotel had many nice restaurants, coffee shops, and bars and was really a good location. It is just unfortunate that this hotel is such a disaster and any one who gave this place a three or four or five star rating has to be making it up!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunflower8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

after reading mixed reviews,our visit to the plaza was with trepidation but,pleasantly surprised on arrival.
we were self catering in the plaza half of hotel,on sixth floor.
room not the biggest but well decorated,well stocked with bedding,crockery,cutlery,soap and shower shampoo.
bathroom a good size,with shower cubicle,hair dryer,shaver point,also in very nice condition.
small balcony overlooking narrow road on side of hotel.
problem with safe in room,that locked and would not open without assistance from safe engineer who tried on four separate occasions to rectify problem,unfortunately not able to fix,but no problem hotel provided me with safety deposit box within the main hotel reception and refunded the total charge for the faulty box,result!

not a large pool or sun terraces(2) on roof but clean and comfortable sun beds.

plenty of refurbishment going on in the hotel including a new lift to the roof terrace from the ground floor.

lifts were generally ok time wise, unless you were caught up with cleaners up and down and using all lifts.

Room Tip: rooms at front overlook the sea,other rooms look out over flats and buildings to rear of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I have just returned home from a 7 day stay at the Plaza & Regency Hotel in Siliema, Malta. Upon our arrival, at 3.30am we were dropped off outside of the hotel and had to struggle up the steps leading up to the hotel with out bags and suitcases. Not at all good for anyone with a disability or the elderly. We had booked a superior, sea view room and to our disappointment, the room was on the first floor with very little sea view due to some very large trees restricting the view. The shower room (no bath) was hardly any bigger than a cupboard and in great need of refurbishment. There was a small double wardrobe and the sliding doors were broken. The next morning we asked to change our room and after having to be persistent with the receptionist, we were finally moved to a much better room on the 2nd floor. Other than this, the breakfast was reasonably good and the dining room was on the 6th floor with fantastic views. In front of the hotel was a lovely café (Cara's) which served a good selection of drinks and snacks - wonderful cakes! Overall it was a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view preferably on one of the higher floors especially as the traffic in f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beverley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

After the fantastiic ad on tv with mouth watering food displayed on tables, we decided to come and spend a weekend break..The room was nice as it was refurbished and a sea view clean room but the food was more than mouth watering!! It was terribe, simple and always the same. Poor food not the food which they make you beleive on tv. Plus a bonus an arrogant foreigner receptionist.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.7 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#7 of 28 in Sliema
1,089 reviews
0 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#11 of 28 in Sliema
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,618 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels

Address: 248 Tower Rd, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1600, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range: £24 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza And Plaza Regency Hotels
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotel Sliema
Regency Hotel Sliema
Regency Hotel Plaza
Plaza Regency Malta
Plaza Hotel Malta
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing