We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel -shame about food and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I I wanted-a good holiday so paid for an upgraided sea view room,which i got-no complaints about the room.
The complaints start from arrival, after lugging our cases from the front pavement up aflight of stairs as they dont have a porter we were told that we were in the wrong part and needed to take our luggage next door -you guessed it- lug it downstairs cross the road and up another set of stairs, not easy when your disabled
The food was very poor, the breakfast was the same every day, i asked the head waiter if there was any chance of tinned tomatoes or grilled-he laughed and as he walked away he said and maybe mushrooms too eh
The evening meals were dire, by the third week we couldnt face them anymore and started eating out

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEORGE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

We arrived on the 12th November 2013 and were allocated room 528, in the bathroom the shower was hanging off the wall, there was patches of mould on the ceiling and in the shower area. The television wiring was dangling freely and joined together with electrical tape. The bed linen was had dirty marks which we presumed were from the previous occupation. The room bore no resemblence to the pics of the hotel web site. The receptionist informed us that it was our responsibility to tell the hotel of short comings and they would then act, on questioned as to why the room was in use in this condition we were met with a shrug of the shoulders. However we were then moved to room 621 which was bright, airy, well appointed, clean and more in keeping with the pics on the web site. From then on our stay was very enjoyable and the staff in general were helpful and cheery.

Room Tip: Ensure that you are allocated one this hotels good room and not the ones due for refurbishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We were a bit nervous and unsure of what we would find upon arrival after reading some of these reviews, but we were pleasantly surprised. Mind you, we are not all that picky but the basics were all there. Clean towels every day, beds made and nice staff. There was one housekeeper who was especially chipper and whole-heartedly greeted us whenever we saw her. The location was perfect, we could walk to the jetty in no time and a only 10-15 minute walk to the more upscale shops and restaurants. But we found this by accident so I would ask hotel reception how to get there. The bus stop is 2 minutes from the front of the hotel making it very easy to do hop-on hop-off tours and catching the X2 for the airport. So overall, not the classiest but if you plan on doing things rather than staying in a hotel room the whole trip, I would recommend this hotel.

Some tips for the bus: allow yourself plenty of time when taking the X2, like an hour. The bus did not look like the others, more like a tour bus, but a local was nice enough to point it out to us. Like most have said, it doesn't come on time but it's every 15 minutes if I remember correctly, so who really cares. Also, it's free.
Also, not all hop-on hop-off tours are created equal. The first time, we chose Malta sightseeing. Great commentary and went to all the places I wanted to see. The second time we chose City Sightseeing for the South tour. Less commentary, less interesting, and fewer stops. Go with Malta Sightseeing.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Brynjao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

we stayed in the plaza side of the hotel on the 7th floor. on arrival were made very welcome by the night receptionist. who made us feel very at home. we stayed for a week and have booked up to come back again next august. we are bringing our parents with us this time. this will be their first time in malta. we have said how friendly the maltese people are. i cannot wait to come back again this will be our third time in malta and the second time at the plaza. i thoroughly enjoyed all of the meals at the hotel. i would like to express my gratitude to both the head chef and the executive chef who made our time here so pleasant. i look forward to seeing them both again next year 29th august 2014. our original trip to malta was not for holiday but bereavement of sister in law who died in malta. very special place for us to come.

Room Tip: got no tips for travellers we stayed on side of hotel but did not care
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Have stayed here before & was ok, the room we had on 1st stay had a room safe, but on trying to rent it was told the key had been taken by the previous occupant. On our second stay, guess what? yes the same room, we did not realise this until after they had taken our money for the safe rental and yet again the previous occupant had taken the key & they were waiting for the new one to come back! The manager refused to reimburse us, saying that as we kept our passports etc in the hotel reception we had to pay for that!! Argued our point several times with different receptionists (not blaming them at all, was the manager at fault) asking for our money back. We finally got it back on the last day, no thanks to the manager. He should not have told the receptionists to lie to us, completely unprofessional. We will not stay here again because of this.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Save-the-badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Hubby and I stayed at the "Plaza" side of hotel for 7 nights at end of October and had emailed prior to arrival with questions, so we knew what to expect and pretty much what we would be getting. We had booked a cheap and cheerful package, so were not expecting anything grand.

A seaview room would have added about 100 quid to cost of trip, so we decided on a "landview" room as we figured we'd be out all day anyway. "Landview" turned out to be room 214 with a glorious view of the back of another building, but room did get wonderful sunlight as there was two windows between the main room and the bathroom. Room was clean (although bathroom had small shadows of mould in the caulking in the corners of the tub), extra pillows and blankets in wardrobe, towels ok in bathroom. The last two nights we shifted to room 107 with a "seaview" and balcony -- as we were on the first floor, we barely had a seaview at all as we weren't high enough to see past the trees across the road blocking views of the beach and the water. Again, room was basically clean BUT the bathroom needs some lovin' by Maintenance -- grout around tiles was missing, small shadows of mould (just spray it with bleach and water!) in the tub corners, and the rubber gasket at the bottom of the shower screen really needs to be replaced as it was seriously dirty.

Hotel offers no niceties like coffee/tea setup, use of a room safe, refrigerator, iron or WiFi unless you pay extra for it -- so there goes the "budget" aspect if you're trying to control costs. TV is a multi-lingual paradise of about 6 channels offering Italian, German and English (2?3? channels), so we watched BBC and a channel with never-ending fairly-recent non-blockbuster movies. I do regret not knowing German as "Harry Potter" films were being shown and Harry speaking German meant the voiceover and his mouth movements didn't sync up, but I digress.... Breakfast (B+B) had a nice, but not overwhelming, variety of breads, cereals, eggs, sausage/bacon, fruit, cheese, cold ham -- very basic and all quite good. Dinner at was 9 quid a person, and was excellent. Carvery offered roast beef, plus potatoes and a variety of vegetables. Desserts were a diet-busting dream. Good wine list with a variety of wines from Malta, Old World and New World, all in a range of prices. The staff is busy, focused on changing the tables over, and while not overly talkative, they were friendly and pleasant overall. The roof-top pool on the 7th floor had a small rectangular pool (definitely not Olympic sized!), a good number of sun loungers, and a wonderful bar area offering drinks as well as food. Musical entertainment is provided most evenings, and the view from the roof is terrific.

Cara's Cafe, where we ate a number of times, fronts the hotel, and has an outdoor seating area with a smaller in-door cafe. It was a pleasure as it had a good selection of lighter-type hot/cold foods, all wonderfully prepared, and all VERY attractively and reasonably priced. Olga and Rita are two of the waitresses who took very good care of us, and were a delight to talk to. Again, desserts were a treat to enjoy. The hotel is conveniently located across from Peppi's and Frescos, restaurants overlooking the bay/beach, each with really varied food and drinks menus. A pizza/Italian food restaurant is also near the hotel, and a further walk (past the Italian place) brings you to a small shop specialising in donuts, a Chinese restaurant, a British-type pub "the Plough and Stars" which was always busy, and a wonderful gelateria offering about a dozen flavours of ice cream as well as small pastries and coffee which was open till about 11 pm if not later. Hotel is conveniently placed for walking on the promenade toward St. Julians (even more activity, shopping and restaurants) or taking a public bus toward the ferries or Valletta (a one week unlimited use bus pass is just E12 pp). We noticed guests ran the gamut of very young adults to OAPs, with babies and young kids, or just couples of all ages, with a strong showing of Brits, Germans and Italians.

Overall, the hotel served our purposes by being (generally) clean, safe, comfortable and conveniently located. Front desk people were pleasant and helpful if not overly friendly, but then they were constantly busy with guests checking in and out. Hubby and I both agreed we would stay here again, no problem, and would recommend it to friends. Our recommendations to friends would also include (1) don't expect anything fancy or any extra amenities unless you pay for them, and (2) definitely get a sea-view room, on a higher floor, so you get away from the noise of the traffic (easily blocked if you closed the sliding doors) and have a view of the bay. I would rate the hotel as a high 3-star property because it's good, not perfect, and for what it is and what it does, I think this is a fair assessment. We weren't planning on paying for "great" to begin with -- that budget again! -- so you just have to recognize the hotel for what it does offer to the traveller in relation to what you're paying for and what other hotels may be offering in a similar price range.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 214 in the Plaza side of hotel. We took an Asda L5 kettle with sachets of coffee and tea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GailygirlUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

This was the 2nd time I'd stayed here, first time really liked it. This time left feeling a bit cheated and disappointed.

Paid for a superior sea view room - for which you would expect a superior sea view right? Maybe something a bit special? Wrong. Given a room on the first floor so only just above the pavement so noise from pedestrians fairly constant. And the busy road the hotel is on completely wiped away and relaxing one tried to do on the balcony.

And for the sea view...try superior Tree view! The trees between the beach and the hotel completely obscure the view. How the hotel can sell this room as superior is beyond me. Granted the room was big but that was all it had going for it. TV reception was crap and if the balcony door was open the noise of the traffic was constant, if it was shut the noise of the air con drowned out any hope of conversation.

Reception staff were rude and did not make me feel welcome, I went to ask them a few questions a couple of times and I felt like I was a nuisance to them. On one occasion I asked for advice on how to get to the International Airshow which was quite a big event on the island, you'd think staff would be clued up on it. But the receptionist gave us wrong bus directions causing great stress for us as we struggled to understand where we were supposed to be going.

I won't stay here again, was very disappointed with the whole experience. Although it's not the hotels fault the appalling arriva bus service is another reason why I won't be visiting Malta again. But the bus stop is just outside the hotel which is of some convenience.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank splumpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.7 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#7 of 28 in Sliema
1,074 reviews
0 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#14 of 28 in Sliema
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,077 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#6 of 28 in Sliema
2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels

Address: 248 Tower Rd, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1600, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range: £23 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza And Plaza Regency Hotels
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotel Sliema
Regency Hotel Sliema
Regency Hotel Plaza
Plaza Regency Malta
Plaza Hotel Malta
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing