We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plaza Hotel Malta”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Fife
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Plaza Hotel Malta”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just back from two weeks in the Plaza - clean, comfortable, central location, pleasant and helpful staff. Would definitely go back. I have heard some guests complain their rooms weren't the best but we had a lovely room with balcony looking over the sea. Food was abundant - rooms were well serviced - no complaints.

Room Tip: Heard a couple of complaints from single travellers who had been given rooms with no window. Malta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    426
    338
    165
    114
See reviews for
175
621
111
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I would rate this hotel as a 2 1/2 star. Although it has recently been remodelled the room 219 was basic sea view with twin beds, the wardrobe doors were off the tracks which I managed to fix. The bathroom has no shelf space to put toiletries and the shower leaked water onto the floor. Although beds were quite comfortable the noise from traffic was noticable throughout the night.
The buffet dinner and breakfast was basic and could have had more choice of items.
My wife and I stayed threre for one night on a deal. 40.00 euros for room on half board basis.
The drinks in the Terrace bar were very reasonable and not as much as usual hotel prices in the area.
The hotel seems to be popular choice for British tourists.
We found our deal on this website:
http://dealtoday.com.mt/

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crazylimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valetta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I left the Regency Plaza Hotel (right hand side hotel) on Monday last week (10th) very disappointed! There are two sides to this hotel with an adjoining bridge on the 6th floor, we stayed in tiny rooms 122, 123 & 124 and they were awful. The rooms seemed to have been left for 20years, light bulbs not working, toilet rolls not replaced, window latch awkward, one plug in the room, writing rubbed off the bed head switch control, one of which was the power 'on' for the old style full size 14" portable TV. They have the smallest pool I have ever seen, and you have to go through a rabbit warren just to find it in the BASEMENT of the other hotel - remember the bridge is on the 6th floor.
Food was ok although 1/2 board was suppose to give us a drink which we was told no it did not?
Building works are active so to be fair to them they are renovating the whole hotel and many room are complete. We saw a glimpse of these new rooms and they would be what you would expect - The normal.
Constructive recommendations;
It does not cost much to give a better a appearance or welcome upon arrival to your room:
Fix the bulbs, put a pen & writing pad in, put some tourist information in, get some nicer toiletries, put a flower in, put a chocolate on the pillow, put a menu in, fix the window latch, put a hook on the door for your coat.....
I would simply not stay here!
Regards
John

Room Tip: Book the hotel on the left!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John1974London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I have stayed several times in this hotel and each time have stayed in a different standard of room. This time, although I booked a room in the Galaxy side, I was given a self catering room in the Plaza side. This gave me coffee making facilities as well as a patio area, though this would have been more useful in warmer weather! I find it difficult trying to think of any criticism of the hotel as I find it a very good 3 star establishment.
I stayed half board. The breakfast had all the elements one could desire while the buffet dinner was variable in quality though there was always a good selection. The room was serviced every day and kept immaculately clean with the towels changed regularly. I didn't use any of the other facilities so can make no comment except to say that I found Reception helpful and friendly at all times despite some rather rude older people.
With the withdrawal of the bendybuses the 12, 13 and X2 routes are very crowded and it can take some time to get a bus into Valletta. The cafe in Independence Park is now also a restaurant and a very attractive place to chill out.
The Galaxy reception is not open as part of the hotel is being refurbished though some of the rooms appear to be occupied.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kendoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

went with Thomas Cook holidays for a week, room a good size with comfortable beds,but shabby and the bathroom was very tired and grubby,it was a basic room which meant everything was extra,ie; safe,kettle all cost more,we were half board and they wouldn't let you have a glass of tap water with your meal,you had to buy a bottle. the food was plentiful but basic.the worst part was going with Thomas Cook who even had time share sellers at their welcome meeting! pretending to be reps,very bad form I thought.This had the effect of making the start of our break a bad experience and made us wary of all their holiday reps.plus wasting most of our first day going on a so called outing that was really a hard sell time share.so beware.

Room Tip: upgrade,the basic rooms are just that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patricia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brecon, powys
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We`ve just returned after a 3week stay here and would use the hotel again. It doesn`t pretend to be anything other than what it is. The rooms were spacious, housekeeping kept them very clean, fresh towels each day & the beds surprisingly comfy. We had sea view rooms at the front of the hotel, and though on the road , the traffic noise was very minimal & the curtains thick enough to block out the street lights.The only problem encountered was with the keycard entry system to one of our rooms - which endured. We found the food was surprisingly good. We stayed on half board basis and thoroughly enjoyed the selection of dishes & the quality was very good. It would have been nice to have had prunes & grapefruit added to the breakfast selection, but we more than coped without it. The waiting staff are very friendly and smiling. Reception staff are also in the main very helpful and will do all they can to make sure you have a good stay at the hotel and on the islands. We used the indoor pool & Jacuzzi and enjoyed the sun loungers on the roof terrace. We treated ourselves to superior rooms , for which you receive a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities in the room, and for our 3week stay it was worth doing so. We shall return.

Room Tip: 232 if you like a bath, 233 only has a shower. they are both superior seaview rooms with good views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just returned back after staying for the second time at the Plaza. It is a good location, staff very friendly and welcoming. My room was comfortable and always thoroughly cleaned daily. Although I had no sea view as at the back of the hotel, it did mean that it was quiet. The restaurant has beautiful views over the bay and the food plentiful and varied. For a 3 star hotel, it offers excellent value for money. My only criticism is the need to purchase tokens to use the WIFI. I will definitely be returning again next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 605Tricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
3,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#15 of 29 in Sliema
550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.7 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sliema
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels

Property: The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Address: 248 Tower Rd, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1600, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza And Plaza Regency Hotels
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotel Sliema
Regency Hotel Sliema
Regency Hotel Plaza
Plaza Regency Malta
Plaza Hotel Malta
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing