We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast bar burglars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Breakfast bar burglars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

The Plaza Regency , the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean and the towels were changed daily, the breakfast and dinner buffets were varied and with plenty of choice. The sea front location was spot on and best of all was the breakfast entertainment! Well not exactly, but watching the antics at breakfast became one of the high lights of our stay. We have often in the past seen people sneak food out from breakfast and have always felt a bit sorry for them, it can't be much fun being on holiday and unable to afford a bite to eat at lunch time. However, the guests here were something else! Maybe we had stumbled upon a breakfast bar burglars convention! Or some kind of competition? They would come in fully tooled up, those huge bags a dead give away, do they think that no one will notice a bag as big as a potato sack at the breakfast table? The Italian's, ever stylish, have those bottomless designer ones. The German's, they have his and hers bumbag's and the Brits anything from a small rucksack to an M&S bag for life! If there was an award for the most entertaining burglar, it would have been a close thing. We sat open mouthed as one woman having already stashed her lunch, opened her bag just enough to reveal a thermos flask which she proceeded to fill with cups of coffee from the machine! There was also the man with no bag who still managed to stuff several slices of ham and cheese, wrapped in a flimsy napkin, some boiled eggs, fruit, cake, and half a baguette (folded) into his jacket pockets! Brilliant! If the man next to you on the flight home smelt strongly of cheese and egg he could have been the one! Are these people really poor ? Or just tight fisted? I suppose either way we should still feel sorry for them, not to mention the hotel. Next time I might take a hidden camera it would go down a storm on You Tube!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ardrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    426
    340
    165
    114
See reviews for
175
622
112
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

we stayed on second floor on regency side..our room had not been renovated. room was clean and adequate for our stay. sea view from balcony was lovely...if your looking for a quiet modern hotel this is not for you.all in all enjoyed my stay breakfast was good, beds comfy and room clean just what i would expect for the money we paid.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorrainerobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hexham
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Just came back after a weeks stay we were put into a sea view room in the Regency side on floor 3 the room was so bad noise from the pizza restaurant just below the room , the builders were in the hotel from 7 00 am , it was dirty, A very tired old room . We insisted on a change of room ,.We were put on floor 5 in a refurbished room, to be fair it was a lovely To get to the reception there are 2 flights of stairs you have to carry your cases up with no help from hotel The food was poor, very bland and little choice .some of the staff were nice but mostly unhelpful . Would we go to Malta again, Yes ,would we go to Sliema , Yes ,would we stay at the Plaza Regency a very big NO.
If you like noise this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Go to the Plaza Regency side of the hotel in the new rooms floor 5 and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nunwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciudad Quesada, Spain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed for 7 nights in a superior sea view room with balcony. Very recently refurbished room in the plaza regency side of the hotel. Not enough shelves in bathroom for toiletries, but overall a nice room.
We realise that hotels require refurbishment outwith the main tourist season, but for the invalided or partially blind it would have been a possible "death trap" walking across the 6th. floor bridge to the restaurant, certainly some long "cable runs" along the floor.
We were woken at 0650 hrs. one morning with drilling noise, but it did mean we did a fair amount that day, Hi!
Dependent on the time you took breakfast as to what your impressions would be (get in early for a peaceful breakfast). Overall the breakfast supplied by the hotel for price was good.
You always have "room complainers" at a hotel, of these we heard many. We did have a brief look in one of the standard rooms, & it would have been too small for us.
Reception was always very helpful & efficient. When the wardrobe doors came off their tracks the maintenance guys fixed them within thirty minutes. It was as if they had carried out much practice?
For the price I would say the stay was of average value. Would we stay at this particular hotel in Sliema again? It would have to be a really good deal for a superior room.

Room Tip: After hearing all the complaints about rooms, go for a superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philcrieff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Just came back from a 1 week stay in Malta. The hotels location is fantastic. Bus stop outside the hotel. The food is ok. Breakfast is buffet style consisting of cereals, cold meats and cheese, toast, bread and hot bacon eggs, sausages, beans and fried bread. Same everyday. Dinner is varied, meat, fish and pasta. Rooms are ok. It is worth paying a little extra for a balcony as some rooms can be a little gloomy. Staff are helpful. Rooms are cleaned everyday, towels are changed everyday. Excellent hotel will definitely book again for this hotel. Every weekend locals use the hotel so the pools do get a little crowded and so does the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just back from two weeks in the Plaza - clean, comfortable, central location, pleasant and helpful staff. Would definitely go back. I have heard some guests complain their rooms weren't the best but we had a lovely room with balcony looking over the sea. Food was abundant - rooms were well serviced - no complaints.

Room Tip: Heard a couple of complaints from single travellers who had been given rooms with no window. Malta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

I would rate this hotel as a 2 1/2 star. Although it has recently been remodelled the room 219 was basic sea view with twin beds, the wardrobe doors were off the tracks which I managed to fix. The bathroom has no shelf space to put toiletries and the shower leaked water onto the floor. Although beds were quite comfortable the noise from traffic was noticable throughout the night.
The buffet dinner and breakfast was basic and could have had more choice of items.
My wife and I stayed threre for one night on a deal. 40.00 euros for room on half board basis.
The drinks in the Terrace bar were very reasonable and not as much as usual hotel prices in the area.
The hotel seems to be popular choice for British tourists.
We found our deal on this website:
http://dealtoday.com.mt/

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crazylimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.7 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels

Property: The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Address: 248 Tower Rd, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1600, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza And Plaza Regency Hotels
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotel Sliema
Regency Hotel Sliema
Regency Hotel Plaza
Plaza Regency Malta
Plaza Hotel Malta
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing