We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PARTY HOTEL”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Have just returned from a most enjoyable holiday break in Malta. This trip was organised by the Belfast office of 'THE TRAVEL DEPARTMENT', who were very easy to deal with, accepting changes in room bookings before we paid our final instalment with no quibble. I had originally booked as a single traveller but was able to change to share when another traveler dropped out.This saved me the single supplement!!
Flight was from Belfast International Airport with easy jet and only a slight delay in scheduled departure time, which was almost made up by a following wind. Service was excellent on plane though the legroom for a 6ft 4ins overweight gent was less than ideal, and certainly not anywhere near the 34" that would be comfortable for me.
Pick up from hotel and coach transfer was accomplished with minimum of fuss. Hotel was very "old world" with a double sweeping staircase from first floor to hall, which we were told had featured in 007 movie ,"DIAMONDS ARE FOREVER". Room was large with very high ceiling, comfortable beds,adequate storage, and a safe which required rental of lock and key from reception. Tea and coffee facilities in the room, but wifi was an extra. Excellent shower with clean,often new towels, provided daily.
Breakfast was buffet style with three juices, tea coffee or chocolate, hot or cold breakfast as desired. I loved their muesli with heaps of fresh fruit and avoided the sausage bacon and egg etc. The bread was something else, almost sweet brioche style, with an efficient toaster .A good breakfast leaves one well set up for the rest of the day.
Tours were arranged daily, with just two free days for local sightseeing and shopping. We had the most friendly, handsome, knowledgeable guide that one could have hoped for. I learned so much about the strategic position of Malta from pre-biblical, biblical times, the middle ages, the papal inquisitions, Carravagio and his masterpiece,'Beheading of John the Baptist', the only painting that he signes with his own name of "Michaelangelo ............". The stories of his life are legend and the number of times he was rescued by the Archbishop, suggesting he was the `archbishops "special friend", confirming my suspicions that child clerical sexual abuse did not begin in 20th century Ireland. It was like an episode od "Murder,mystery and suspense"
Too many other highlights to describe here.
Hotel had a Malta night and a Bar-B-Q night with freely flowing Marsovin, and other liquors to allow one to forget about November, December and January in freezing Norn Iron.
No rain in Malta since June!
Temperatures of 90 degrees in the shade with balmy nights for walking on the lovely promenades.
I found the food excellent,with good choice from three every night in both starter and main courses.
Good company , many new friends and photographs of a beautiful island steeped in history, and I have not even mentioned the Knights of Malta....but then this is meant to be a short review not a DK guide book.
Would love to go again, would go back to Imperial and hope readers will find this review helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ailbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 655 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

We seem to have been lucky as we missed the aforementioned students and the clientele was a litttle more mature during our stay here. Loved the hotel, the interiors were beautiful, the room was lovely and clean, although my wife did remark that the bathroom needed "updating." The air conditioning was a godsend though!

On the negative side, we were next door to the terrace on the 2nd floor and it seemed no one went out to empty the ashtrays or the bin. which was full to the brim of beer cans. Also, the breakfasts were a little, well, basic - fresh coffee and tea and croissants would have been nice. Also, the young lady behind the pool bar seem to have attended the Basil Fawlty school of customer service, god bless her.

Despite that, it was a lovely tranquil place to stay, very relaxing and made for a wonderful base to explore Sliema and St Julians on foot on an evening. The cats were adorable too.

I would give it 3 and a half points if I could: it was good rather than average, but not quite very good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ChrisNed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Whilst a little too far from the coast (10 mins walk--uphill back!)
A lovely "faded" stately home with some modern add-on at the back.
62 bus stops almost oposite so anywhere really from there.
A room in the original building, but not ground floor is best.
Food and service just as it should be.

Room Tip: See above,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graham031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I have just spent 2 weeks here and really enjoyed it. This is my second time staying here and I was not disappointed. The rooms were lovely and clean and the staff very friendly. The downside is when they have large groups of students, but more than happy with everything else and cannot wait to return to this friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneMarie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We have been to this Hotel three times and have enjoyed staying there except for this time because of the students
They are loud and noisey at 11pm til about 3am nearly every night
They knock on the doors very loud and then slam there doors shut
They have mixed parties in their rooms til late into the night making lots of noise and banging on the walls
The security man was out to them loads of times
The hotel is clean and tidy
Maids very good cleaning the rooms every day
but alas we will not be going back in the summer months bybe November December time for a week.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe.taz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This was our second stay in this hotel ....we were a group of 10 families all with children (ages from 1yr to 7yrs) staying on full board basis for the weekend...Our daughter is lactose/milk-protein intolerant and each stay they catered very well for her dietary needs (even better than some 5 star hotels where we had stayed on B&B basis!)...all of us enjoyed the pool area..staff is very friendly & helpful. Rooms are large and air-conditioned..a fridge is provided in the room at a small extra charge.....Hotel is walking distance from Sliema promenade...Men need long trousers for dinner (evening meal). Looking forward to our next stay there in September 2011.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

really enjoyed our stay here , not right on the sea front but a short walk to either sliema or st julians, the rooms were comfortable with high ceilings and the air con worked fine , the staff were all very nice and helpfull , there was a few students running about but they were no trouble, it was our second trip to malta this year the first was a stay in buggiba but this was far better

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank champboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,552 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,031 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#13 of 28 in Sliema
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#7 of 28 in Sliema
1,049 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 28 in Sliema
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: Rudolph St, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 06, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range: £20 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Sliema
Imperial Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing