We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional hotel; could be great”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Essex UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Traditional hotel; could be great”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Imperial, our first stay at this hotel although been to Malta several times before. The Imperial is a great building, charming and redolent of a bygone era when things were done properly - that is to say, the lobby, reception, stairs to first floor all remind you of the hotels that you would see in films made at the height of the British Empire - and this is a compliment. Check in was efficient, our room on the first floor overlooked the pool; it was very quiet and on only one occasion did we hear any sound from other rooms. The room was clean, reasonably well appointed (the bathroom appeared to have been recently modernised), and there was more storage space than anyone travelling by air could possibly fill given baggage allowances. As others have said, the tv had limited value but then we don't go on holiday to watch tv so it was of no consequence to us. The hospitality tray was topped up each day, and tea was exactly the same as we would have in the UK - we didn't try coffee - but do agree with other reviews that the creamer left something to be desired. Pool was excellent, being both seculded and quiet, ideal for cooling off on the hot days. Breakfast was fine and the lunchtime sandwiches excellent value. Sadly, dinner let this hotel down, or at least it did on our first five evenings. Starters always good but main course failed to meet an adequate standard until the last two nights when it was very good indeed - maybe the chef was on holiday at the start of our stay. Staff were all courteous and helpful, even the chambermaid volunteered information about things to do. Would we return? Yes we would but probably on bed and breakfast - shame because the restaurant, like the rest of the hotel, had a charm that you would not find in most hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden or pool view although we did not hear anyone say rooms at the front of the hotel we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank essexsaxplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    190
    166
    108
    109
See reviews for
80
296
91
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I agree with other reviewers that the hotel about the hotel's 'faded charm' BUT I enjoyed my stay. The breakfast was fine. We decided to select B&B when booking as we wished to make the most of our stay by eating out locally at night. The buses regularly run just past the front door and only cost a few euro. The pool is fine and the seating area shaded so those not wishing to burn to a crisp can get some shade. The internal rooms facing the pool and gardens are quieter - all with aircon and thick curtains to cut out the heat of the day. We married in Malta and they sent up champagne on the day, and made us both feel special. There were also no screaming kids when we stayed so it was a great adult break. It is a 3-star hotel not a 5-star hotel but provides a nice welcoming break. Drinks and cocktails at 11pm by the pool just can't be beat! Good location for walking to Sliema sea front and St Juliens. You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and get a pool side or garden view. Ask for one of the older rooms. The rooms can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarionmnKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Very old hotel that needs a little TLC to update it, but we had a lovely 2 weeks. The food was good at breakfast(continental or scrambled eggs) and dinner (3 courses including fish as a main). The garden/ pool area is lovely to either sunbathe or relax and have a drink especially as most modern hotels seem to have a tiny pool on the roof or across a busy road. Staff were always cheerful and helpful, bedroom was large, plenty of wardrobe and drawer space and the room was always spotless. The only downside was the TV which only seemed to have 5 channels with only a news channel always in English, reception was poor and the remote had a mindof it's own Good mix of guest ages. Location is excellent, away from the busy areas but a short walk to Sliema ferries, buses or Sliema seafront/St. Julians bay

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Our second visit, Sept 2012. The public rooms, entrance and lounges are well maintained. On our first visit, the lounge ceiling and columns were being repainted. At this visit, there was repainting near the restaurant and the handrail at the entrance steps.
Staff were unfailingly helpful. We booked a garden room prior to arrival, expecting a ground floor room overlooking the garden, as at our first visit. We were offered room 334, on 2nd floor. After explaining our expectation to reception we were given keys to a garden room and also 334, and invited to check them both. We chose 334, as it was better lit.
The restaurant is well patronised at both breakfast and dinner. The breakfast buffet was extensive, and the dinner menu had 3 choices for each course. Veg options available if ordered in advance. The dinner was well priced at 12 euros. All meals are precooked and served quickly. If one is not satisfied, a change is offered. We found the veal and fish to be good, but a braised steak was tough (not cooked long enough to tenderise it).
The quality of the coffee varied, the best being at the pool bar, next at breakfast and worst in the room. Also, the creamer(in packets) in the room was solid, rather than powder.
The pool area was pleasant, and not overcrowded at our visit. The pool bar was good, and served snacks and drinks. A shaded area was provided.
Our room had a 3 door wardrobe, twin beds with bedside units, two armchairs and a coffee table, a dressing table, aircon and a TV. The ensuite was a good size. A hairdryer was available from reception on 10 euros deposit. A fridge could also be hired if required. The bed covers, seat covers and curtains all matched, curtains being made of the reverse pattern.
However the rooms and en-suites are in great need of a refurb. The wardrobe was wobbly so care was needed in shutting the doors. All the furniture was old and needed at least re-varnishing if not replacement. The TV was an old, small CRT type. The shower unit was showing its age, and there were brown stains from the hot water in the bath and wash basin.
The hotel is located in a residential area up a hill from the sea front. There was easy access to both Sliema waterfronts

Room Tip: A hotel that gets return visits despite my criticism above. We met someone who had been going for 18...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

After the initial bedding in period and the shock of the dated feel of the hotel, rooms, bathrooms etc you definetly started to see more of the old world then just the old. The hotel seems somewhat stuck in a timewarp but with fabulous staff and a friendly atmosphere you soon forgot about that, or start to see the quirky side. The outside area is the clincher. The area by the pool is completly relaxing and the small pool bar is adequate.
Breakfast was basic but not untypical of that part of the world. Your basic ham / cheese / cereal and some tinned fruit. As far as it's location it's perfect once you get your bearings. A short walk down to the ferry, where you get the boat trips and in the other direction you are out on the sea front in 5 mins. Silema is one of the quiter towns but it's a stones throw to a bit more life.

Room Tip: There are limited balcony rooms available. Some fellow travellers asked for one but were told they n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aoife a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

excellent old fashioned hotel,excellent staff and very clean and tidy,really enjoyed our stay and will be going back there defenately very soon,right in the heart of sliema,only a few hundred yards walk to sliema harbour or on the other side st julians,lovely for e few drinks and walks at sunset,food and drinks are very reasonable all over

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kevo280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Staff couldn't have been more polite and helpful. The hotel has an old world charm with marvellous double staircase. The breakfast was buffet style with hot and cold food, the dinner was a set menu and was good value for money.There is a bar and pool with a small garden area to sit and have a snack or drink.Air conditioning very welcome as it was about 35 degrees outside.The bedroom was basic but had a tea tray and TV. Our bedroom was overlooking a side street , but was in the shade so we didn't mind.However the beds were not very comfy.The main disadvantage was about 40 teenagers who were on language courses and took over the pool and terrace when they returned from classes, leaving wrappers and bottles behind. They weren't badly behaved but were noisy in the evenings and sometimes in the night. For example,groups of 6 just going from one room to another , talking loudly is enough to be annoying , particularly when their curfew is 11 pm on weekdays and 12 at weekends and then some settling down time until all is quiet.We actually started to plan our time at the pool when we knew they were out and tried to go out in the evenings to avoid the noise.Their rooms are dotted all over the hotel and not in one block.We would go back to the hotel if there was a guarantee that there were no students.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eve108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,943 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,010 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Plevna Hotel
Plevna Hotel
#16 of 28 in Sliema
829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#24 of 28 in Sliema
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Day's Inn Hotel
Day's Inn Hotel
#22 of 28 in Sliema
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: Rudolph St, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 06, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Sliema
Imperial Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing