We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real jump in the early 1900”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Milano
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real jump in the early 1900”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

A real jump in the early 1900. Everything is very old and large, with some charm. Do not come here if you are looking for standard hotel facilities (kettle, fridge, wi-fi, soft towels, ...).
You can get wireless connection just in a corner of the hall.
But there are a nice garden with fragrant flowers and trees, a good swimming pool, huge corridors and stairs, very high ceilings, very old-style bathrooms (unbelievable the bathroom doors!).
Excellent position, in the top of the Sliema peninsula and in the centre of the town, you can walk down to the sea in 5 minutes along 5 or 6 different streets.
Poor breakfast, as you can expect.
Very good air conditioning (as you cannot expect).
Interesting and amusing experience, if you stay 2 or 3 days, not more.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ambro49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sailor89, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear sir,

Thank you very much for your time to share your views on Tripadvisor.

In fact, as clearly stated in our hotel description, the hotel is 151 years old as it received its first customers way back in 1865, thus the high ceilings and wide corridors. However, depending on the type of accommodation you booked, our rooms are equipped with Tea/Coffee facilities which are replenished daily. For the sake of clarity to other potential clients our rooms are equipped with an individually controlled air-condition system, safe and rooms are covered by FREE WiFi system. I must admit that lately we experienced some difficulties as the service provider is currently upgrading their infrastructure and did have an impact on the service. We do apologise for the inconvenience you experienced in using our Free WiFi system, although you could have made use of the FREE internet café also.

Towels are changed daily.

You kindly stated that our Breakfast is poor (‘AS EXPECTED’). Allow me to put matters strait for the benefit of other persons that could read this review. The hotel offers an enriched continental breakfast which includes, scrambled eggs, baked beans, boiled eggs, croissants, fruit salad which is different daily, Yogurt, orange wedges, two types of cake, vegetarian corner offering four types of salads, peanuts, raisins, four types of cereals, to types of cheese, two type of cold cut meats, five types of bread including Maltese, fruit, white, brown loaf and rolls, three types of jams, three types of juices, mineral water, six types of coffees including cappuccino, mocaccino, hot chocolate, espresso and tea.

While thanking you once again for your contribution I once again apologise for any inconvenience you experienced with our FREE WiFi and our B’fast.

Sincerely,

Joe Attard
General Manager
info@imperialhotelmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    190
    166
    107
    107
See reviews for
80
296
91
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

After reading some of the reviews of earlier in this summer season I was a little concerned about my stay here. However I was surprised in a nice way about the hotel. Having been involved in a car crash when travelling from the airport to the hotel, the reception staff were thoughful and asked most days how we were. The meals where good- being a veggie their was a good choice of alternatives for me to pick each night.

The rooms were clean and spacious and there was free wifi- with excellent connection. The hotel is a short walk to Scotts supermarket and the seafront- most road seem to lead there so no chance of getting lost. The hotel is also on the savoy bus route- 21 which runs into Valetta- always a seat on these buses unlike the ones caught on the waterfront.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giggles151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaydon on Tyne Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed at Imperial last week in August first week in September 2013. We had a lovely holiday, hotel old but got character. The hotel is an excellent location for seeing Malta very central in Sliema. The rooms are clean and have clean towells and sheets every day. On arrival at 12.00 am our room was ready, and the staff were very welcoming at such a late arrival! All the staff are very courteous and a credit to the hotel. We were on room only basis, but paid for a couple of breakfasts and evening meal, which were excellent. The first few days there were students staying, but they were just students being students and didn't cause too much bother, they were having a good time. On the last day our flight didn't leave until 9.30 p.m. and for a small charge Mr Attard the Manager (who was very helpful) extended our stay in the room until 6.30 p.m. which was our pick up time. So all in all we enjoyed our stay at the Imperial Hotel and would have no hesitation in recomending it to anyone. So if you want to stay in a nice original Maltese Hotel the Imperial would be for you.

Tom and Jan Robertson (Blaydon-on-Tyne) UK

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sailor89, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear esteemed client,

Thank you very much for your valuable time to share your experience at The Imperial Hotel.

It is very interesting to note your comments in regards to younger aged clients especially when one notes different comments by a few clients who opt to expect that the hotel employs discrimination attitudes with other clients who might not be of the same age.

I thank you for your comments on our team, which is truly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Joe Attard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel during the last week in June 2013. On arrival i was told that the room i had booked was not available and i would be transferred to another resort 30 minutes away for 3 nights. I refused and had to sleep on a couch in reception for the first night since the manager was not available. The manager arrived the following morning and after a lot of debate and a further 2 hour wait he found me a room. He refused to refund me for the 1 night that i had paid for but not received accommodation. He is arrogant and rude. The hotel itself is old and tatty. The air did not work properly in my room and even though i reported this on a number of occasions nothing was done to fix it. The hotel was overran by a school party who created a lot of noise from morning to night. Again although people complained nothing was done to resolve the problem. If you check previous posts overbooking seems to be a problem with this hotel. i will never return and would advise anyone against staying here.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chelloman797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

This hotel is in a good location being close to supermarkets, the seafront, restaurants, bus stops and the ferry. It is located up a slope but then Malta is very hilly so you will have to overcome hills regardless of where you stay. The reception area is impressive with marble stairs and upstairs corridor with arches and ionic columns. This is a solid 3 star hotel which may need updating in places but that only adds to the character. The rooms have high ceilings and were equipped with remote controlled air conditioning, small TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Our room was very spacious but the bathroom in comparison was small and basic. Breakfast was buffet style with the same limited choice every day. Dinner was a 3 course meal which was quite nice and reasonably priced so we ate at the hotel restaurant on most evenings. Free WiFi was available only in the reception area but it was not always reliable. This hotel was also the home to EF (Education First) students but they generally behaved themselves and were partially separated from other hotel guests so were not a problem at all. The staff were all polite and helpful and we were pleasantly surprised to receive a birthday card from the staff and management when it was my wife's birthday.
Tip 1 - William's Garage provided an efficient value for money transfer.
Tip 2 - Get a day or 7 day bus ticket which allows bus travel throughout the island.
Tip 3 - Get a Heritage Malta Multisite Pass if you plan to visit many of their sites.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cmt6251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

my wife and i spent 2 weeks at the imperial hotel in august.the first week we did not enjoy at all
as the place was thronged with young students of both sexes on an education first forum or e.f .which was emblazoned on garish pink banners which were all over the place.said students
were noisy rude bad mannered and did not respect the other hotel guests which were in the main
senior citizens as my wife and i were.the thought of spending two weeks in this athmosphere frankly horrified us.but lucky for us the second week was student free.so if you are thinking of booking this hotel make sure its after aug 18 th.the hotel itself has seen better days to be sure but with the students gone it was quiet and tranquil and more like we imagined it to be.the bedrooms could badly do with updating but it was cleaned every day with fresh towels and bedlinen supplied so they cant be faulted on service,the cleaning staff were extremely friendly and helpful but this was a trait we found that seems to be inherent in the maltese people generally.we were disspointed to discover that the main bar in the hotel was not opened at all during the summer months only the poolside bar which closes at 11 pm sharp every night and they serve the drinks in plastic glasses.we were booked in on a bed and breakfast basis and we found the choices were ok.cereals fruit cold meats eggs cheese and a selection of breads
for 3 euros you could avail of a full fry up breakfast.as regards other bars theres really not much going on in the surrounding vicinity but i would recommend the salisbury arms pub which is just 3 mins away where the proprietor george makes a very genial and wellcoming host.all in all we enjoyed our holiday in malta and if the imperial hotel put more effort in looking after the hotel guests and less of the mobs of students i would recommend it no problem.

Room Tip: overlooking the garden if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gerryruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sailor89, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you very much for your time to share your views in regards to your visit a few days ago.

The hotel welcomes any customer without any sign of discrimination of sex, age, colour and religion. Unfortunately, l must admit that lately I did see a number of ‘reviews’ that point fingers to the fact that the hotel hosted a number of younger aged clients.

I cannot understand the comment made by our esteemed client that the hotel hosted ‘students’ (average age was of 22 years) ‘of both sexes’? Is client implying that we should not accept couples also? If that is so, then I would have been put in a position not to accept our esteemed clients also.

I do agree that a few of them behaved in appropriately; however, regrettably I cannot say the other clients were far from the behaviour of some of these younger aged clients. What horrifies me is not the atmosphere they create being that this is a hotel and not a retirement home, but the fact that these younger aged clients are the produce of today’s schools.

Our esteemed client mentioned the fact that the second week was ‘luckily student free’. Client is truly lucky that he is currently not staying with us at the time being because the behaviour of some adult clients is best described as shocking and much worst behaved then what client referred to as shocking students.

That is the life of an hotelier – we see any type of behaviour.

I truly appreciate the comment in regards to the opening of the bars and I must admit that we are currently reviewing this. In fact, we are operating the Pool Bar after conducting a survey amongst our clients, who in the absolute majority preferred the pool bar as it allows them to enjoy the pool deck and garden areas. The fact that drinks are served in the Pool area ‘forces’ us to make use of plastic cups as one has to keep in mind the health & safety measures in the area.

I fully disagree with the closing statement in which client refers to other clients as ‘mobs’. We treat and look after guests without any distinction and if we failed with this particular esteemed client, we apologise.

Joe Attard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

The hotel reception staff have to be commended as they went out of their way to welcome us to the hotel and deal with all our hotel issues. Unfortunately we had too many encounters with the reception staff with regard to problem in our rooms. we had one too many visitors in our room when we arrived in the form of cockroaches, this was hugely alarming as these rodents are know to carry diseases. the following day the room was fumigated, but this only kept them at bay for so long as they returned in larger numbers, I felt this completely unacceptable and I would like to take this opportunity to advise the hotel owner to deal with this issue immediately as many uk and Irish guest are not used to sharing their rooms with such creatures. The only thing worse than the latter were the flies that flew out of our breakfast buffet on the first morning of our trip. needless to say this was our first and only visit to the breakfast room this was such a pity as we had booked in on a b&b basis. We thanked our lucky stars that we had not booked the dinner package aswell. Also the hotel was part of the education first programme which basically means that hundreds of students bulldozed through reception every evening. never so much as bought a drink or any food in the restaurant or pool side due the the amount and variety of unwanted vermin. this would not be allowed in Ireland.

Room Tip: choose another hotel, chances are you will not get worse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.2 mi away
Sliema Hotel
Sliema Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#25 of 29 in Sliema
3.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: Rudolph St, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 06, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Sliema
Imperial Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing