We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Friendly Hotel”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Marton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice and Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My wife and I were having a weeks visit for the wedding of friends of ours. We booked this hotel as it was close to the reception hotel in Sliema. Considering that the cost was low for half board, we were pleasantly surprised at how grand it was inside, with a nice room which was kept very clean; towels and bed linen were in good order too. We enjoyed our meals, which was buffet service at breakfast, and served to you from Bain Maries at dinner, with a choice of 3 main meals. The staff were hard working, cheerful and friendly, which helped in the enjoyment of our stay.A nice sun terrace and picturesque garden all add to its appeal. There is an outside swimming pool with adjoining childrens pool. No evening entertainment during our stay.The hotel is situated on a road leading to the main part of Sliema, which can be busy at times but helped by the fact it is a one way road.A nearby watering hole called the Salisbury Arms, serves my favourite brew of JS and is a good place for lunch.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    190
    166
    108
    109
See reviews for
80
297
91
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle under Lyme, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Just about 3 star grand looking sweeping staircase chandeliers
rooms okay tea making facility good shower view over the pool so quite at night
Breakfast is good buffet style
Down side beds made but cleaning of room leaves a lot to be desired
Evening meal terrible meals are cooked then put in tin trays over candles
So stewed to the point of unrecognisable
Early morning glasses and full ashtrays left around from night before until about ten oclock
Reception had no idea about transport and costs said he never used the buses
As it was 1/12 euros for a days travel pay on the bus and travel on any route all day

Room Tip: Very noisy front of the hotel road outside very busy all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

very helpful friendly staff nothing to much trouble for them the reception staff had bus timetables and told us where to go we only had b&b as we like to choose where we eat our evening meal the entrance is very grand I think if they did a nice range at lunch time more people would stay and relax on the sun terrace I also think they need some sort of baron the terrace the rooms are big with clean towels every day and very comfortable wish we could of stayed longer our 8days went way to quick the manager is a really nice person with a lovely smile .

Room Tip: we were on the ground floor next to the store rom so was woken up at 7am every morning but good for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janets1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

For the price we paid we could not fault this hotel. The room was adequate and clean. The breakfast had everything we needed, the staff were attentive most of the time. On our first evening we were all tired so decided to eat in the hotel and unfortunately the food was not good at all. That would be our only criticism of this hotel.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Danon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This one should take you back to a bygone era with its wonderful entrance lobby and double sweeping staircase. My average score was a difficult decision however I recently spent three pleasant nights at this hotel which I would imagine is very much as it was when built, nice flat roof sun terrace, outdoor pool area with a reasonable pool size, a bar with several comfortable seating areas through out the hotel I was particularly taken with the hall at the top of the stairs, very grand feel. I found the premises clean and tidy which due to its grand size must take considerable effort, the staff were attentive and helpful. Located on a hill in the centre of Sliema ten minute walk either way to the Strand, with buses and ferries or Tower Road promenade. The room was of a good size with all that you would expect including tea and coffee tray. The breakfast is buffet style and has a wide choice including hot, a choice of tea, coffee and fruit juice, I only had one dinner at the hotel which was kindly included in my room rate, so with some reluctance I have to say that this hotel would do well to look hard at their catering staff as I did not believe the food was of an acceptable quality it may well make sense to keep to local recipes rather than trying to cook food of the world. If you are looking for new and glitzy this is not for you. I enjoyed my Malta experience you should too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. Some reviews were a bit iffy but thought we would give it a try. Glad we did. This building is steeped in history and really gives you a feeling of grandeur from its colonial past, with its sweeping staircases, high ceilings, large windows and marble interior. O.k. Some parts are looking a bit tired but the owners are busily refurbishing don't forget Rome wasn't built in a day. With its wide corridors leading to the above average size bedrooms you do have a feeling of space. The bedrooms are serviced every day and the hotel is clean and tidy. The breakfast was adequate with a varied choice and staff are very friendly and helpful. The clientele are well mannered and considerate and the hotel enjoys a lot of repeat business.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front whilst there was some traffic noise early morning, who wants to stay in b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sailor89, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Client/s,

Thank you very much for spending your time to share your experience with us at the Imperial Hotel.

My team and I truly appreciate your comments. Maintaining a 152 year old hotel, which actually makes it Malta's longest serving hotel, is difficult but the 'Old Madam' gives us the energy to keep her in the best shape possible.

Once again, thank you for your time and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours truly,

Joe Attard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Friends of ours recommended this hotel and we were not disappointed.
Imperial Hotel is an established (1865) hotel in the heart of Sliema but only a short walk from seafront and is very conveniently situated for local buses (a weekly ticket, purchased from the bus driver, costs less than 7 Euros for unlimited travel, great value!); Valetta very accessible by service 12 or 13 buses on the promenade but there is also a service from a stop very close to the hotel. We found it to be a very attractive, if slightly faded (in a nice way), hotel which was full of character, very efficiently administered by cheerful, friendly staff in all respects. Rooms are well maintained, reception couldn't be more helpful, and it was a pleasure to eat in the hotel's dining room for breakfast and dinner. No entertainment as such in the hotel but lots of post-dinner conversation in the spacious lounge, - which features a big, roaring wood fire and a TV (English-speaking news channels) in one corner. There is also a lovely garden and outdoor swimming pool/sunbathing terrace for warmer months.
We came across many visitors staying for three weeks or a month, - we envied them, - who returned for their 'winter break' year after year. I consider this hotel very good value, - we enjoyed all our meals, plenty of choice, - suitable for all ages but particularly suitable for mature-aged travellers, who should not be put off from staying alone. They would be given a 'separate table' and allowed to get acquainted with fellow visitors quite naturally, but the waiters would be very welcoming to them and immediately put them at their ease.
We intend going again! Recommended, - as is Malta.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room. But they're perhaps all quiet as hotel is not located on a busy road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sailor89, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for spending your time to share your experience with us at the Imperial Hotel.

My team and I truly appreciate your comments. Maintaining a 152 year old hotel, which actually makes it Malta's longest serving hotel, is difficult but the 'Old Madam' gives us the energy to keep her in the best shape possible.

I truly appreciate your comment on our repeat clients. The longest returning client has been here for 52 years and we are looking forward to welcome her in a few weeks’ time for her 53rd year.

Another repeat client will be returning for his 50th year shortly and the list is growing.

Once again, thank you for your time and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours truly,

Joe Attard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.4 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,017 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#12 of 28 in Sliema
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plevna Hotel
Plevna Hotel
#17 of 28 in Sliema
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,964 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#24 of 28 in Sliema
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: Rudolph St, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 06, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Sliema
Imperial Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing