We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sliema Marina Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Plevna Hotel(Sliema)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sliema Hotel(Sliema)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Roma(Sliema)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
The Palace(Sliema)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,120)
Filter reviews
1,120 results
Traveller rating
231
446
261
101
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
446
261
101
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmcdonalds and burger kingmanager pierrebreakfast roomsuperior room with balconythe bushop on hoptop floorexcellent locationcafes and restaurantssuperior sea viewlarge balconytea making facilitiesbudget hotelfantastic viewscentral locationoverlooking the harbourroad noise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
526 - 531 of 1,120 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We are a couple and stayed for 4 nights. The rooms and lobby have recently been reworked, so probably it is the best moment to go before it gets worn down again.
Definitely you have to pay the extra for the sea view, otherwise it is not worth it. Very well located if you want to sleep at Sliema: just in front of the Ferries and buses. Plenty of restaurant choices.

We were at the hotel only for sleeping, no breakfast, no nothing. For that it is ok. It was weird that to enjoy the remote control of the TV, you have to leave a deposit of 10€. Similar for using the hair drier.

In my opinion the worst thing is that the rooms overlooking the bay have a communicating door each pairs of rooms. This communicating door is locked, of course, but it lets all of your neighbours noises come in as if you were in the same room. They do not need to be particularly noisy: normal chat, alarm clock in the morning, a shower... and you will be bothered. As I thought it worked in the other direction too, I had a constant feeling of non-intimacy while at the room. They should wall those doors. I guess they are used when a group or family stay in adjacent rooms.

Do not expect any service or information at reception, just do your check-in and check-out and find info elsewhere.

Room Tip: Sea view. If they exist, ask for a room without internal communication door with the adjacent one.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Javier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Small rooms with poor bathrooms, all around dirty, only the location is acceptable

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AdrianCanv22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Booked this bargain hotel for a week. I paid the extra for a sea view and found out it was a good move we got the sun to wake up to. The decor/ furniture is basic and 70's style but the beds were fine. The air conditioning was not the best, we had a hairdryer in the room but paid more for the use of a safe.
Right infront of the hotel is the main bus terminal handy if you want a day trip to another part of the Island.
We had a great family holiday in Malta and found the hotels location great for us. It is a little old fashioned but is clean and the staff seem to be friendly enough. Breakfast was in the restaurant on the eight floor and was a simple spread, however there is a big choice of bars and cafes in the area if you need it.
Fair price for this holiday.

Room Tip: Lower floors do get more noise from the bus terminal.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank amie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This is a good option if you're looking for a basic hotel in a handy location. We didn't pay the extra for the sea view but I expect it would be worth it as the area has the nicest views of Valetta. The breakfast was basic cereal, toast, boiled eggs etc but thats more than we would have at home most days. We had no remote control for the (very small) telly so couldn't use it- not that we would bother on holiday. The safe and fridge were extra but again we didn't bother. The upstairs bar was never open and the hot tub on the roof was too yucky to use. The room however was clean and the staff seemed reasonably good.
We didn't eat at the downstairs cafe as there was a good selection of cafes and resturants in the area including the most magnificant Ta Kris which I can't praise enough.

The hotal location was good for us as we like our sightseeing. The hotel is easliy reached from the airport on the X2 bus. ( Bus 2.60 euros per day of 12.00 euros a week - bargain).
After about half an hour the bus starts following the coast, when it goes through a tunnel the next stop is almost opposite the Marina Hotel ( which is next to Burger King - we walked past it twice before we found it). There are plenty of buses to Valetta and also ones that go direct to Mdina. The area is also the pick up point for the habour tours and sightseeing buses. If your interested in sightseeing I would recommend you check out the Malta Pass that covers many of the attractions on Malta. The pass includes one sightseeing bus trip which in turn gives you a free 2 hour habour tour. With a bit a planning we saved over 100.00 Euros for a 40.00 euro three day pass.

The area around the hotel has the main shopping areas of Malta plus a few hotels. There are plenty of places to eat and drink but this isn't the place to go far wild nights out or to entertain children.

In conclusion consider this an economy hotel - cheap but with few frills. If you want somewhere handy just to sleep this is a good option for the round £30 a night we paid.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have better views if paying extra for seaview
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I got a tiny room with a view... in the hole between buildings. No air conditioning, little breakfast options.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dianamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews