We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better after refurbishment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sliema Marina Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Better after refurbishment”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My wife & I stayed here for 10 days from mid-April in a centre sea view room. The hotel has recently changed hands, none of the previous staff have been retained but the new staff are friendly & helpful. The reception & cafe areas have been totally refurbished with much lighter, modern decor. The rooms too have been given a makeover with new vinyl flooring instead of the old tired carpets, new wardrobes, new orthopeadic mattresses & new light fittings. Sadly the en suite shower rooms have not been included in the refurbishments; they are tired but functional, no hand towels are provided, only bath towels. Initially breakfast in the restaurant was very meagre & unimpressive, even running low on supplies occasionally; however, after complaints from guests, another member of staff was drafted in from the Europa hotel & there was great improvement. Evening meals are no longer served in the restaurant. At present the pavement outside the hotel & its neighbours is a building site while "embellishment works" are in progress, so the cafe is closed temporarily but there are several others nearby, we can recommend the Oasis. The hotel location is excellent, shops, buses, ferries & cruises all within 100 yards.

Room Tip: If you want the best views, ask for a room number ending in 6 or 7, ie. 206, 207, 306 &c. These...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    393
    241
    91
    74
See reviews for
129
493
93
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
londonsteve09
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Like most, I only write reviews for hotels I deem particularly bad.. and this was definitely bad. This hotel seems to succeed in misleading customers about their good points, but don't be fooled. This hotel is an embarrassment to Maltese tourism, and quite possibly the one of the worst places I've stayed.

First off, note that the room images on Booking.com and Hotels.com are misleading. If you're booking a standard twin/double, you won't get a room like the one shown. You will however get a broom cupboard with a bricked-off window and zero natural light. This is what I got and was told there were no other rooms available by impolite, unfriendly and unhelpful staff.

The cleanliness of the rooms was a poor considering the hotel had been recently refurbished... you'd think they'd do a better job. And the bathrooms were tiny, dirty and in need of a major overhaul. I didn't want to touch the shower curtain in fear of catching something. Be prepared to feel dirty every night you're here.

Breakfast was a farce. No variety, and no food! A poor couple were made to feel guilty for asking for some bread and coffee as everything had been put away about 45 minutes prior to the scheduled breakfast times. Gross coffee and juice resembling urine.

They only positive is the location; right on Sliema harbour. Perfect locality for the buses, the cruises and a short ferry ride over to Valetta.

If you're looking for a nice clean hotel for a week break, you'll do better than this. Don't book thinking that it looks ok from the images as you'll be in for a disappointment. Malta is a beautiful place, don't let this hotel spoil it for you.

Room Tip: Book another hotel. At the very least book a sea-view room, or you'll be allocated a chambermai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank londonsteve09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Put in a tiny room to start with more like a broom cupboard, plenty of emtpy bigger rooms available and we were moved after complaining. The bathroom was dated and had no hand towels, the shower water took ages to drain away, room heating didnt work, just felt dirty.
Continental breakfast was very limited without even a toaster.
Only the location made is acceptable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daviddewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalarna
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Ok, it's 3 stars but the location is fantastic.. Everything is just within steps! Buses, tourist coaches, shops, banks everything!
Some people have said it was dirty,, not any more.
Breakfast is OK, a toaster, proper tea and maybe a few tomatoes or cucumber wouldn't harm.. but eggs, ham and cheese plus a collection of cereals are good enough for most!
The WIFI works fantastically well - actually the best of all the hotels I have stayed at around Europe.
The TV.. well BBC World, then just Italian or Catalan (?) and one German channel.
Cleaner misses some things,, but clean linen daily and towels too.
There wasn't a safety box in our room,, so we locked everything in a big suitcase,, not easy to take!
We booked a seaview room and I can warmly recommend this! The view is to die for!

Room Tip: Sea view and not too far down,, the traffic can be noisy if you have balcony door open
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marie6323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We are a couple and stayed for 4 nights. The rooms and lobby have recently been reworked, so probably it is the best moment to go before it gets worn down again.
Definitely you have to pay the extra for the sea view, otherwise it is not worth it. Very well located if you want to sleep at Sliema: just in front of the Ferries and buses. Plenty of restaurant choices.

We were at the hotel only for sleeping, no breakfast, no nothing. For that it is ok. It was weird that to enjoy the remote control of the TV, you have to leave a deposit of 10€. Similar for using the hair drier.

In my opinion the worst thing is that the rooms overlooking the bay have a communicating door each pairs of rooms. This communicating door is locked, of course, but it lets all of your neighbours noises come in as if you were in the same room. They do not need to be particularly noisy: normal chat, alarm clock in the morning, a shower... and you will be bothered. As I thought it worked in the other direction too, I had a constant feeling of non-intimacy while at the room. They should wall those doors. I guess they are used when a group or family stay in adjacent rooms.

Do not expect any service or information at reception, just do your check-in and check-out and find info elsewhere.

Room Tip: Sea view. If they exist, ask for a room without internal communication door with the adjacent one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Javier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Small rooms with poor bathrooms, all around dirty, only the location is acceptable

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdrianCanv22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hounslow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Booked this bargain hotel for a week. I paid the extra for a sea view and found out it was a good move we got the sun to wake up to. The decor/ furniture is basic and 70's style but the beds were fine. The air conditioning was not the best, we had a hairdryer in the room but paid more for the use of a safe.
Right infront of the hotel is the main bus terminal handy if you want a day trip to another part of the Island.
We had a great family holiday in Malta and found the hotels location great for us. It is a little old fashioned but is clean and the staff seem to be friendly enough. Breakfast was in the restaurant on the eight floor and was a simple spread, however there is a big choice of bars and cafes in the area if you need it.
Fair price for this holiday.

Room Tip: Lower floors do get more noise from the bus terminal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank amie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,902 reviews
0.3 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sliema Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sliema Marina Hotel

Property: Sliema Marina Hotel
Address: | Tigne Sea Front, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3010, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sliema Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sliema Marina Hotel has just been refurbished into a modern trendy three star hotel set in the heart of Sliema centre with Cafes, shops and restaurants at its doorstep. The hotel is situated on the seafront just across Sliema Bus Terminus, the ferry port to Valletta and Malta Sight Seeing Hop on Hop off spot. Sliema Marina Hotel has outstanding views of the Valletta across the Marina and the Grand Harbour. On the front porch is our very own 'Oggi Cafe and Restaurant' serving delicious pastries and food. All guest rooms have been refitted with a modern fresh design and are luxuriously equipped with air conditioning, free WIFI, LED TV, fine fabric black-out curtains, orthopaedic mattresses, wooden parquet flooring, and quality furnishing and furniture throughout: truly exceptional. The superior rooms are equipped with a sofa divan, coffee table, tea coffee making facilities, fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sliema Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Sliema
Sliema Marina Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing