We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sliema Marina Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Improvements”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Since our last visit in September 2012 some of the Superior rooms (on the front) have had a pull- out bed/settee & a small table added; the fridge is now in a small cupboard with the tea making facilities on top of the cupboard. Now if they could just sort out the floor indicators in the lifts...

Room Tip: Get a Superior room, the higher the better (better view, less noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    389
    233
    89
    73
See reviews for
127
484
90
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

My wife and I only wanted to stay bed and breakfast and this hotel suited our needs perfectly. Situated on the main bus routes and close to the ferry crossing to Valletta it made an ideal base for exploration.
The hotel is very clean, the staff are friendly and helpful: the breakfast room is on the 8th floor and has a magnificent view of the harbor: the buffet breakfast was plentiful to suit all but the fussiest of eaters ranging from cold dishes to cooked food. Cleanliness was paramount.
Our bedroom on the 2nd floor was at the rear of the hotel and comprised of 3 single beds. The room was huge with a large bathroom off to the side: bath and shower with ample hot water at all times. The room was cleaned daily, beds were made and clean towels offered.
On the 9th floor there were sun loungers and a jacuzzi.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJandPJ_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I have read some mixed reviews of this hotel here but decided to check it out anyway. What a nice surprise. The location was perfect for the Valletta-Sliema ferries and the busses. The central location was also very good for cafe's restaurants and shopping. We had a large and very clean room with good views over the marina. The room was well equipped and spacious and included a fridge and large flat-screened tv. There was some noise from the pavement cafe's below but it wasn't obtrusive and was usually quiet before midnight. I do agree with some the reviews below when it comes to the breakfasts. There was no real problem with the continental style breakfasts, all good fayre including cold meats ( Ham and Salame) cheese fruit and yoghurts, fresh breads and cereals. However, as has been stated, the English style breakfast of bacon sausage was of poor quality. The breakfast room can get busy and on occasions there was a problem with seating. They could do with a few more tables (and baby's high chairs would be nice too). All the staff that we had contact with were friendly, especially the cleaning ladies who were ace. I would have no problem recommending this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim_Ince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This hotel seems to mainly cater for those travellers who just want the very basic of hotel for their stay, with none of the more normal complimentary features found in other hotels, B&B's or Motel type establishments.
Breakfast items were of the more continental type, though a type of English Breakfast was partially available if one considered bacon and Hotdog type sausages swimming in a greasy oil as OK, and your egg Hard-boiled and still in its shell. a selection of cold meat and cheese was also on the buffet style layout, though trying to toast bread was almost impossible with there being no traditional toaster but a Panini type of Grill, whose temperature was not high enough to do the job, and with the number of guests wanting to use the two small machines saw many of them give up the idea of making toast due to the amount of time available.
The hotel staff did try to make guests feel welcome, but some of the rooms were found to have little or no view from their windows, with some of the the single rooms having windows that when opened only looked out into a very small central void that contained the vents and toilet and other pipes that led to the other rooms in the hotel, and these rooms were also fairly cramped and badly designed, with little ventilation and fresh air, plus some beds had mattresses that the springs could be felt through their top covers.
Anyone booking for an all inclusive holiday at this hotel would possibly regret having done so if they had any allergy to Garlic, Olive Oil, or certain other types of food, with there not being many items that might suit their palate.
A good feature about the hotel is that the electrical supply uses the familiar UK type of 3-Pin Plug and 240v supply, though if you like to have a cuppa at anytime then do remember to pack a travel kettle. There are several places nearby that serve meals, plus a number of shops where things like coffee and tea, along with other British types of foodstuff can be located, though if buying milk then be warned that there is no way other than putting it in the sink with a damp cloth over it to keep it for more than a day, unless UHT milk is bought that under the same way of keeping cold will possibly stay fresh for a couple of days.
Nice views from the rooms at the front of the hotel, as these overlook Sliema Creek, Manoel island, and part of Valetta, plus Sliema is where nearly all of the numerous cruises that take tourists around the Maltese islands, Grand Harbour Tours and across to Valetta are based.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms have the best views, but also are those that suffer the noise from the pavement caf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

this hotel has recently been refurbished and is great it is very central for the ferry across to valetta and for the local busses also it is also nice to sit and just relax along the tigne seafront and watch the world go by nice bars along from the hotel especially tonys bar with good food and drink prices reasonable

Room Tip: dont get a room at front of hotel as it can be noisy on sundays due to church bells with church next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We recently stayed at the Marina Hotel and I am glad we did. We had read some negative reviews just before our holiday and found them a little worrying, needlessly.
On arrival the staff were helpful and tried their best to accomodate our needs. We had a problem with one of the bedrooms and although the hotel was fully booked on our first night, the room was changed the next day without any problems. Our party had 2 rooms,one on the 5th floor and one on the 1st floor, they were large rooms, bright and airy. Both at the rear of the hotel so no view. There are 2 lifts and they were both working at all times.The chambermaids were friendly and helpful, they even lent us a corkscrew for the duration of our stay :)
Breakfast, served on the 8th floor. The dining room has spectacular views over the bay to Valletta. Self service buffet, good selelction of coffees, teas and juices. Hot dishes of bacon, sausage & Baked Beans. Hard boiled eggs, cold meats and cheese. A selection of rolls, bread and cakes. Fruit and yogurts also available.
The hotel is located on the seafront at Sliema, a few minutes walk to the ferry and bus stops. Lots of shops and pavement cafes in the area.

Room Tip: Some rooms only have a window opening onto the shaft, rooms tend to be smaller and very dark. Avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alimaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed here in March and found it to be adequate for our needs. The rate we paid was very, very reasonable through the hotel's own website. We opted for the superior room with balcony facing the front of the hotel and as other reviewer's have said - the views are amazing over the harbour. With these rooms facing the front though there will be noise during the day as it is on the main promenade road. The room is perhaps basic, but large and clean and the shower is very powerful even though it doesn't look it.

Breakfast was good for a three star hotel and the views from the breakfast room on the 8th floor were of course amazing as well as it looked over the harbour.

There are two lifts and one lift is very small but neither broke down during our stay. Staff very friendly.

As far as 3 star hotels go, this is a good one.

Room Tip: definitely get a room facing the front to get good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiftyfiftyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Sliema Hotel
Sliema Hotel
#7 of 28 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sliema Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sliema Marina Hotel

Property: Sliema Marina Hotel
Address: | Tigne Sea Front, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3010, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sliema Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sliema Marina Hotel has just been refurbished into a modern trendy three star hotel set in the heart of Sliema centre with Cafes, shops and restaurants at its doorstep. The hotel is situated on the seafront just across Sliema Bus Terminus, the ferry port to Valletta and Malta Sight Seeing Hop on Hop off spot. Sliema Marina Hotel has outstanding views of the Valletta across the Marina and the Grand Harbour. On the front porch is our very own 'Oggi Cafe and Restaurant' serving delicious pastries and food. All guest rooms have been refitted with a modern fresh design and are luxuriously equipped with air conditioning, free WIFI, LED TV, fine fabric black-out curtains, orthopaedic mattresses, wooden parquet flooring, and quality furnishing and furniture throughout: truly exceptional. The superior rooms are equipped with a sofa divan, coffee table, tea coffee making facilities, fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sliema Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Sliema
Sliema Marina Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing