We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sliema Marina Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Plevna Hotel(Sliema)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sliema Hotel(Sliema)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Roma(Sliema)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
The Palace(Sliema)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,120)
Filter reviews
1,120 results
Traveller rating
231
446
261
101
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
446
261
101
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmcdonalds and burger kingmanager pierrebreakfast roomsuperior room with balconythe bushop on hoptop floorexcellent locationcafes and restaurantssuperior sea viewlarge balconytea making facilitiesbudget hotelfantastic viewscentral locationoverlooking the harbourroad noise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
462 - 467 of 1,120 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2013

we had the four bed room which was very average, but the other rooms from what we could see were really nice. breakfast is upstairs with a great view. staff was very nice and helpful. overall not bad value for the money, besides you won't be spending much time in your hotel room so we didn't really need much luxury. all bus stops are near by, location is great, perfect view of valletta.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Stayed at this hotel end of June 2013, mainly based on recent good reviews on TA - not disappointed! The hotel is spotless, Sea View rooms (a must) very nice and air conditioning a God send. Staff very helpful, particularly Pierre at reception - nothing too much trouble.
Breakfasts are good - bacon and sausages for the Brits and Continental for normal people - even after 7 days found something nice each morning. Cleaners kept rooms very clean and replaced towels regularly. Marina area can be a wee bit noisy at weekends, but nothing hotel can do about this. The hotel is in an excellent location to explore Malta, the bus stop accross the road has services to Cirkewwa (bus 222) where you can get the ferry to Gozo, it also stops along the route at the main coastal resorts. A 1 week bus ticket is inexpensive and good value for getting around. Ferry to Valetta is a few Euros too. Sliema has many nice restaurants and St Julians Bay is within walking distance. Many thanks to the hotel staff for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: I would say Front Sea View rooms are a must.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CREOSOT E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The Marina Hotel was perfect for our needs and we had a wonderful week's holiday there. It was spotlessly clean, the bed was comfortable and we had a good sized bathroom with bath and shower. A bonus for me was a good hairdryer too. It was in an ideal location, very close to the ferry to Valletta (it took only 5 minutes to cross) and other boats offering various trips and excursions. Everything you needed was a few steps or short walk away, shops, cafes, pubs with live music etc., and the beautiful church was next door but one. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant. The very best bit though was the wonderful view of Valletta and Floriana from our balcony, absolutely stunning, would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bucketface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The Martina Hotel offers a really good value stay. The location is unbeatable - two steps from Sliema ferries, which you can take to Valletta, Three Cities, and take cruises to Gozo and Comino. There are also a couple of bus stops, with buses going to Valletta, Airport, Mdina, St. Julian's, Mosta, and more. St. Julien's is pretty much a walking distance, The Point shopping mall (dubbed as "the biggest shopping mall in Malta") is very close, so are rocky beaches (a popular spot for evening grill parties among Malta's youth) over-viewing Valletta. The hotel is located literally between Burger King and McDonald's/McCafe for budget eaters, Pizza Hut is also round the corner - but should you want something more sophisticated, you'll find several nice eateries downstairs as well (highly recommended is Cuba Cafe, with delicious coffee and breakfast bagels for 2 euro). There's Marks & Spencer down the street, so is Zara, not to mention a couple of daily needs markets. For those wanting to enjoy some quiet time, San Anna Square is also 2 steps away.

The rooms are maintained daily, so they're always clean and proper, cleaning ladies being always very polite - so is the rest of the staff, including the super nice girls at the reception, always smiling and helpful.

That being said, there were some small bumps on the road; when we arrived, the hotel was "full" so we were given a triple land view room for one night, and then a refund (although only 10 euro). We were given two rooms to choose from, which was a nice touch; the air conditioning didn't work in the new room and failed to work for the next couple of days (a crucial addition in a country as hot as Malta) until it was finally fixed. The jacuzzi on the room was often dirty; apparently, some guests didn't take the "please shower before entering jacuzzi" plead all that seriously. The bathrooms could also use a bit of refurbishing in the near future (one has to admit though, despite lacking the modernity, they were always sparkling clean). All that considering, the staff was nice and apologetic about those faults which, to be frank, didn't manage to spoil our perfect vacation in a country so interesting, so colorful and so utterly beautiful.

Not having visited any other hotels in the country and having no actual comparison, it's hard to say if this one is the best one to choose; I do have to admit the experience was close to impeccable and I'm not sure if when returning to Malta I'd choose a different hotel - I'm not even sure if it's possible for the same price. Having spent a decent amount of research before choosing Marina, I can honestly recommend it - if you're looking for a budget hotel, look no further!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com
2  Thank PiotrKowalski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Excellent location for an extended stay. Central to bus services and great access to a variety of restaurants and shops. Rooms clean and staff particularly hospitable and helpful for a range of problems/issues which befall travelers. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank tomskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews