We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We've stayed in many hotels in Malta and this is the best yet.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sliema Marina Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We've stayed in many hotels in Malta and this is the best yet.”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Can't fault the Sliema Marina. Room lovely, balcony gorgeous overlooking Valetta one way and Manoel Island the other. Full sun sets and sun rises. Beds made every day and towels changed. Perfect for the price.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    396
    243
    90
    75
See reviews for
130
497
94
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed here in November 2013. Room cost us £80 roughly for 4 nights so was very cheap. Hotel was a little hard to find as the entrance is between restaurants and cafes under a sheltered sidewalk.

Main reception area nice and welcoming. Girl on desk was pleasant and we were asked to fill out our details and credit card details (I assume incase of damages!)

When booking with Easyjet holidays I asked for a seaview double room as it seems most rooms were single beds put together. We got this in room 108. As the reviews recommended paying for that little bit extra for the seaview rooms we did and the views were lovely. HOWEVER I think because I asked for a room with a double bed we got the worst sea view room. We were on the lowest floor in the bottom right hand corner of the hotel so we did get nice views however it meant we couldn't see the amazing view of the Valletta. So if booking a seaview room request to be put on a high floor! 105 for example would have had the best view on our level.

Biggest plus for me was the FREE wifi. Sometimes it wasn't perfect but 99% of the time it worked grand. It seems that the ground and first floor was the best place to get the strongest signal so if the wifi is a must for you you could ask to be put on the 1st floor.

Rooms were spacious and clean and had hairdryer, TV (channels rubbish!) UK plug sockets, soaps etc There was no kettle for you tea/coffee drinkers. There was a free safe to use situated in the wardrobe which we found really useful and easy to use, Aircon was also in the rooms which was a plus, esp important in the hotter summer months. Cleaners were very friendly and cleaned the room each morning and also gave you fresh towels everyday which was very good it being a budget hotel.

You get one pillow each and I asked for an extra pillow as it is impossible for me to sleep with only one people.They were happy to give me this, only thing I had a problem with was although the pillowcase was clean the pillow itself was not and had stains! Other critic I would give, but not a major problem, is that the bathrooms could do with being updated and modernised. The shower head was in an awkward place so you had to unhook it to shower which was a bit annoying.

i would recommend going to the 9th flooor of the hotel as the views from there are outstanding. We did not have breakfast but there are many cafes/restaurants outside the hotel that do delicious food.

Hotel is right beside the ferries and bus depaturees. I would highly recommend getting the blue 'Point' boat if you are wanting to go to Valletta (bus to Valletta was packed) its the quickest nicest way to get there and is only €2.80 return. If you are wanting to go to other places on the island buy a €2.80 day ticket for the public bus. This will do you all day and for any bus and how many you want. Number 12 and 13 service is to Valletta and 222 bus is up towards St Julians, Bugibba, St Paul's Bay etc.

Overall, If you're wanting somewhere cheap and clean to rest your head with a good location and nice scenery then I would recommend this hotel. Yes it could do with a facelift in places but for the price you can't fault it really especially with the free wifi and rooms service continuously. I would stay again if I was on a tight budget.

Room Tip: Seaview room every time and on a highfloor! Room 108 is the very bottom left room of the hotel and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed for 5 nights at the beginning of November. We chose this hotel because it was cheap and had a good location - we didn't plan on spending much time in the room itself and wanted a good base in which to explore the rest of Malta. In hindsight I should have read more reviews...
The positive aspect of this hotel was its location. It was easy to reach from the airport and a number of buses just across the road ran to pretty much everywhere on the island. The water taxi to Valletta was also just across the road, along with a huge number of tour operators (hop-on-hop off buses, harbor cruises).
As it was the off-season, the hotel was cheap, 20 GBP/night for 2, so can't really complain too much, however if we had paid full price I think we would have asked for our money back. The reception area is modern and tastefully decorated but the theme ends there. We didn't have an ocean-view room, instead had a first floor room which had a view of nothing, in fact it was dark and had no natural light. The room was simple, but tidy, however had 2 single beds not the double we had requested! This is not the place to be if you value holiday sleep-ins. Church bells start at 7, then construction works a couple of seconds after that - not the hotels fault. However we were near the housekeepers room, and found them very noisy from about then onwards. Although WIFI was advertised, we couldn't receive any signal and had to sit in the stairwell to do anything.
Breakfast was extra, and I wouldn't recommend it. For the same price or cheaper there are numerous cafes along the promenade which offer better quality food (especially coffee) at a cheaper rate.
Would I stay here again? For 20 a night, probably, but for any more no way...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kell197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The hotel is trying to be upmarket but let down by amateur staff and lack of equipment. Was given an inner room instead of seaview as booked and had to move again next day. Breakfast ok but repetitive.


Room Tip: Don't have a non-seaview room if you are the slightest bit claustrophobic. I wasn't able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Co-op Travel

Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Great location, It is very easy to get hotel from airport by bus X2. Near hotel there are many tourist attractions, shops, restaurants.
The staff is very very friendly, especially I want to tell about Rita and Pierre. The rooms are very clean.
I choose room 707, it is superior room with wonderful view of sea.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanlegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We were book this hotel over Booking.com which we find very reliable till now and follow story is not their fault.
As we came, there was no room for us in Sliema Marina even how we booked it 8 months before! We were forced to move in St.Julians bay hotel which supose to be the same. It's far from that! Noisy place, awfull small bathroom, far from benefits of location we originally choosed, they have internet which doesn't work at all, they can't get you even small table on balcony, elevators are awfull slow and small, breakfast xxxl low quality, e.t.c... By coincidence we meet guests moved the same way from Carlton hotel (it's also owned by Seafront hotels co.). So I've got impression Seafront hotel owners balance their bad hotels bookings thru their good hotels. This way politics (if it is?) puts in strange position also Booking.com colateral way! This is unaceptable inconvinient for us even the stuff is really nice and we were upgraded for breakfast! Two out of our 7 days vacattion were spoiled! Not to mention disapontment, inconvinient moveing from hotel to hotel and packing our luggage and all other inconvinience goes with. It's not money question. Problem is completly different. We work hard and hardly take time for few weeks vacation yearly. When someon or something spoil this precious days it is priceless for us!
After 2 noisy uncomfort nights in St. Julians bay we finally moved to Sliema Marina which was our choice from the begining. It's quite good hotel on excellent position. All stuff, especially room cleaning, are excellent. For small apologise for all inconviniance they couse to us we were upgraded for breakfast. In St.Julians it was bad, but in Sliema Marina breakfast deserve it's name at least. It's not something special but offers fresh fried eggs, bacon, beans, fresh tomato, couple salamies and cheese, marmelade, butter and instant cold and hot drinks. O.k. We were satisfied in Sliema Marina. It almost complited our expectations. Only small minus was there is no refrigerator in our room which they promised for some of their rooms and we were ask for in our booking aply.

Room Tip: High floors with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MihaelSlovenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sliema hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harrow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had a 5night deal B & B with flights and transfers for £360 for 2 persons at The Marina.
I was very pleasantly surprised with the hotel. We have holidayed several times in Malta and have some knowledge of the area etc.
The hotel was very clean.
The breakfast was good , from fry ups to cereal and fruit etc.
The location is excellent. Restaurants, shops the new Tigne shopping mall all on foot within a 5 minute walk.
Directly opposite the Sliema ferry that is inexpensive and a lovely way to go to Valetta.
The staff are the friendliest I have ever met. The maids and cleaners could not do enough for us when asked.
The room we stayed in was a budget room. No view etc. however, i cannot complain as the deal was so cheap. However, the room although small was fit for purpose. Clean , UK style plugs, shower and hot water plentiful. The room also has new A/C
I did look into a room with a sea view and i thought they looked very good.
I would recommend The Marina Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,938 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sliema Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sliema Marina Hotel

Property: Sliema Marina Hotel
Address: | Tigne Sea Front, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3010, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sliema Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sliema Marina Hotel has just been refurbished into a modern trendy three star hotel set in the heart of Sliema centre with Cafes, shops and restaurants at its doorstep. The hotel is situated on the seafront just across Sliema Bus Terminus, the ferry port to Valletta and Malta Sight Seeing Hop on Hop off spot. Sliema Marina Hotel has outstanding views of the Valletta across the Marina and the Grand Harbour. On the front porch is our very own 'Oggi Cafe and Restaurant' serving delicious pastries and food. All guest rooms have been refitted with a modern fresh design and are luxuriously equipped with air conditioning, free WIFI, LED TV, fine fabric black-out curtains, orthopaedic mattresses, wooden parquet flooring, and quality furnishing and furniture throughout: truly exceptional. The superior rooms are equipped with a sofa divan, coffee table, tea coffee making facilities, fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sliema Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Sliema
Sliema Marina Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing