We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sliema Marina Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Holiday 2013”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I stayed with a friend in Room 1022 for one week from 26th November to 3rd December 2013. I had been invited to a wedding of the son of friends who live in Malta.

I have stayed in this hotel previously with my Mum as I have been to Malta many times. It is of a very high standard and the staff led by Rita (Housekeeper) and her team were extremely helpful and friendly to us.

The hotel is in an excellent location in Sliema for shops, etc.

Room Tip: I have found all the rooms in this hotel very good and lovely and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    389
    233
    89
    73
See reviews for
127
484
90
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palermo, Italy
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We had two rooms, the first night we stayed in a room to the back of the building, with no balcony - it was late when we arrived and we were disappointed. There was a false ceiling and the carpet seemed stained. There was a bad smell from the bathroom. In the morning it looked a little better, but there was still an undeniable smell from the bathroom. However it was a quiet room and the internet worked very well. We decided to upgrade, we moved to a room to the front with a sea view balcony. The view over the harbour was fantastic. The room was bright, airy and tiled and we were delighted to lose the carpet. The room was clean, the bathroom, while old was big with no smell. The linen and beds were clean and comfortable. The internet worked well for the first day but was a little patchy after that. When the poor Wifi was discussed with the desk, they promised it would be fixed, however the wifi did not return to a satisfactory level, it remained patchy and hit and miss. The cleaning staff in the hotel were very good and a great asset, rooms were cleaned to a high standard. We stayed in January and feel we got a good price an good value for our money. If you are afraid of small elevators your in trouble, I walked the stairs- all six flights a couple of time a day ! The hotel is central to all the shops, cafes and restaurants and is an excellent base for seeing Malta. There are a number of nice cafes directly under the hotel and a McDonalds. There is a gym accessible by day pass in the Fortina Hotel a short walk away, which is good relative to hotel gyms, a little old but has all the basic equipment, free weights and machines and the day price is reasonable. The boat to Valletta is in front of the hotel as are numerous bus stops. The promenade is across the road and you can have a lovely long walk in both directions. Would stay here again for the price we had, but would request the sea view.

Room Tip: Sea View is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SabsCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

the hotel is newly renovated and you can tell. the décor is tacky (zebra? really? who green lighted THAT?) but not garish or over done.
The rooms are basic and clean. My room wasn't on the front viewing the bay. It was more like a closet. But you get what you pay for.
the free Wi-Fi is strong and fast. the new AC unit pumped out as much heat as I needed and my room was cleaned daily. I didn't get the breakfast...because with unlimited eating options near by who wants to be tied down?
The hotel lift is small and cozy. The front dsk staff is always friendly. Good hotel. Good price.

Room Tip: pay the extra and get the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TarheelFamily_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Silema Marina Hotel and it is a really nice hotel ,depending what room you are in .When we first arrived we were put in a small ,twin room with one small window which overlooked a building site.It was quite dark and was very noisy the following morning ,with drills and hammers starting at about 8.00am.We had requested a balcony but was told we had only booked an inland room so couldn't have one .The manager did say we could have a balcony within 2 days, at a small extra cost ,which is what we did .What a difference! The room was HUGE with a fridge, tea/coffee making facilities and the most fabulous view across Silema harbour and across to beautiful Valetta.
The manager,Pierre,and his staff are very polite and are keen to make your stay a pleasant one.
Silema is a shoppers paradise with all the high street names available ,which does make it more commercialised than we like ,but we did enjoy getting on the local buses ( 1.50 euro to travel all day!) and visiting all the historical attractions in Malta ,which was brilliant.The War Rooms in Valetta was interesting and the old capital of Medina is a must.
Night life is based round lots of Italian street cafes/bistro's, where pasta and pizza was the main foodstuffs .Some places sold rabbit dishes too. We ate mainly at the Tre Angeli ,which was on the front and had a wider choice on its menu. We enjoyed our stay at the Silema Marina and in Malta but probably wouldn't return as we have seen most of the island and it's sister island of Gozo.

Room Tip: A front room,with a balcony,overlooking Silema is a MUST.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

lovely clean hotel, staff lovely, in a fantastic location, Boat taxi to Valletta just across the road. would stay here again only gave it 4 because the lift broke down and the breakfast room is on the 8th floor and we were on the 3rd.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noad42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This was Third stay at the Sliema Marina Hotel and as always I enjoyed it. The hotel staff is very polite and helpful. The room-cleaners as well as the Manager and the rest of the reception staff. The hotel is situated perfect for shopping, dining and also if yopu want to og sightseing. From the seafront rooms you have a nice view. The room was superior with good beds, and was equipped with fridge, boiler ,safe and TV. To make it short: The Slima Marina Hotel will always be my first choice! Will soon be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3,274 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,465 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here many years ago and decided to return.

Every member of staff works so hard to make you feel very welcome and it works. Great feeling from start to finish.

Rooms are not the most luxurious but they are more than good enough.

Great location.

Lovely views

Will be back soon x

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SarahCorell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Sliema Hotel
Sliema Hotel
#7 of 28 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sliema Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sliema Marina Hotel

Property: Sliema Marina Hotel
Address: | Tigne Sea Front, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3010, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sliema Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sliema Marina Hotel has just been refurbished into a modern trendy three star hotel set in the heart of Sliema centre with Cafes, shops and restaurants at its doorstep. The hotel is situated on the seafront just across Sliema Bus Terminus, the ferry port to Valletta and Malta Sight Seeing Hop on Hop off spot. Sliema Marina Hotel has outstanding views of the Valletta across the Marina and the Grand Harbour. On the front porch is our very own 'Oggi Cafe and Restaurant' serving delicious pastries and food. All guest rooms have been refitted with a modern fresh design and are luxuriously equipped with air conditioning, free WIFI, LED TV, fine fabric black-out curtains, orthopaedic mattresses, wooden parquet flooring, and quality furnishing and furniture throughout: truly exceptional. The superior rooms are equipped with a sofa divan, coffee table, tea coffee making facilities, fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sliema Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Sliema
Sliema Marina Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing